We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
101
12
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
101
12
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews underfloor heating heated floors washing machine comfortable villa clothes dried to cook simple meals the bus short walk ski school great place to stay local supermarket sakka lift snow sports closest lift ski gear cooking facilities nearby restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We went on a ski trip and stayed in Gakuto. There were 6 of us in 2 villas. The villas had heated floors, a large lounge, 2 good sized bathrooms and bedrooms. Best of all was that it was new and spotlessly clean. Breakfast menu changed everyday creating a good variety.
The staff were very helpful and always willing to lend a hand.

Nearest ski lift is about 7 minutes walk away but there is a bus stop right outside the villas for other valleys. Extremely satisfying to come back to this warm villa after a long day of skiing/ snowboarding! Would definitely come back!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AYauANg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I went on a ski trip with friends and loved the Villas. They are clean, spacious two bedrooms that can easily sleep 4-6 people. Heated floors made walking about barefoot joyful, and the large shower room extra luxurious. The staff is great. They have a ton of suggestions and information, and are always willing to give you a lift to a ski field or a restaurant. The closest ski field, Happo One's Sakka lift, is about a 8-10 minute walk. The location is also great to restaurants, bars, etc. Breakfast buffet is hearty, with plenty to eat, and good strong french press coffee. The whole place has a peaceful, content, homey feel. Free WiFi too!

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Dear Craig C,

Thank you so much for your feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us!


Warm regards,
Gakuto Villas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent our Christmas holidays in December 2011 in Gakuto villa and I must say - it was one of the best Christmas eve we've had. We rented a villa with six people: two couples and 2 more friends. We all fit in nicely as 2 people could sleep in a livingroom.
Gakuto villa is definitely one of the best skiing-chalet type of house we've been to in Japan. Its very new and very clean but at the same time has a warm and cozy atmosphere - perfect to spend your evenings in a warm villa with your friends after a long day on a mountain.
The rooms are spacious with high ceilings. There are 2 bathrooms on separate floors. They also have heated bamboo floor and so the Villas get very warm. The windows are large and have nice view to snowy Hakuba. The kitchen facilities are little limited if you intend to cook something for dinner ( theres everything except oven) . But its easy to prepare a breakfast in Villa - they do have a stove and some pots and pans to cook eggs for breakfast for an example.
The Villas are about 10 min walk to ski lifts but there's a bus stop right in front if you don't feel like walking. Closeby theres a Mominoki hotel and we went to onsen there as lot of other onsens were a bit far away and we just wanted to hop in hot water fast after skiing. I relly recommend Momoniko Onsen - its very nice!
Anyway - I could just go on and on talking about all the nice things but this review would be too long so I simply have nothing bad to say. Its perfect place to stay in winter with your friends and we will definitely go back next season.
-Oh and for our Christmas eve dinner we could even order 2 turkeys from the hotel kitchen - they're simply very helpful!!!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna-Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2012

Dear Anna-Maria M,

Thank you very much for your feedback of the villas and for sharing the experience of your stay. Our staff at Gakuto Villas are committed to making your stay pleasant and enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you to the villas again next season. Feel free to email us at Gakutovillas@create-living.com at anytime if you have any other questions or comments about how to improve the quality of your stay.

Warm regards,
Gakuto Villas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I highly recommend Gakuto Villas because the staff were super friendly and very helpful. Great location to ski fields, restaurants and grocery stores. Modern, clean and toasty warm when you get in from a day of skiing.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kylie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Kylie W,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Gakuto Villas! We are so happy that you and your family had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon :)

Warm regards,
Gakuto Villas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I went on a snowboarding trip with a group of 6 people. The villa was large enough to accommodate all of us. It was extremely clean, modern, and located in perfect area. It was about 7 min walking distance to Happo One slopes, 2 min from the pub and restaurants. They'll have breakfast ready for you if you tell the front desk. However, since we had a stove, microwave, and fridge we opted to make our meals. When you stay at Gakuto Villas it feels like you're in a secluded cabin resort yet everything is so close and within walking distance. Also, the staff is wonderful! They make you feel like it's your home away from home. Plus, we did a lot of emailing back and forth to book our villa and they were very prompt with replies and extremely accommodating. This is my #1 choice of places to stay in Nagano.

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rhisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Dear Rhisan,

Thank you for staying with us this past December and we are very happy that you had an enjoyable visit to Hakuba! Our staff are fully committed and dedicated to making each guest feel welcome from the moment they initiate inquiry with us to the minute they arrive at our villas to the time of their departure. Thank you for recognizing their efforts!

Warm regards,
Gakuto Villas Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews