We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in summer & winter”
Review of Gakuto Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gakuto Villas
Reviewed 8 January 2013

A great base for exploring the Hakuba region in the green season. Just arrived for a week in the snow - easy access to the runs. Very helpful staff with good advice about enjoying the activities in summer and winter.

There is no swimming pool but there are many onsen (public hot baths) nearby

Room Tip: All villas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I feel very mean not giving a rating of five as the villas are superb, the only way our stay could have been made truly better is if the main bedroom had a larger bed. The bedroom is spacious with a seating area and a romantic fire...but a DOUBLE bed??? Henry and Tory were amazing could not have been more helpful, fun and just downright nice. We hired two villas for ten (five adults and five children) of us and we had a great time. The location was perfect with the option to eat locally or catch the numerous shuttles. The villas were cosy due to the under floor heating. We would be back in a heartbeat but the double bed is a deal breaker with my husband. I left my heart in Hakuba...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, General Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2014

Hi Jenny,

At Gakuto Vilas we take our customer’s feedback very seriously, and are pleased to announce that the beds in the master bedrooms of Gakuto Villas have been upgraded to a luxurious King size (195cm length by 194cm wide)! We hope that you would choose us on your next trip to Hakuba, and come and enjoy the enhancements that we have made!

Warm regards,
The Gakuto Villas Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

We really loved it, great people, really friendly and helpful. Really nice and clean units, warm and confortable, walk to the skiing slops is only 10 minutes. Had a great Christmas in Japan, thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was our first time at the snow in Japan and we really could not have asked for a better experience. We stayed at the villas and it was fantastic, spacious and comfortable. Loved the heated flooring! Being relative beginners on the slopes (and feeling the ache), having our own kitchen area was a blessing in order to have a light meal when we really couldn't be bothered to set out again after a long day of practicing.

The green Sakka runs/ lifts are not too far away, and close enough to be pretty flexible in terms of coming and going back so people can come and go as they please.

Although might I suggest to the staff about some option as to how we could empty our bins more frequently? The rubbish bins were starting to get a bit full towards the end (as we did a bit of cooking) but I imagine next time (oh there will definitely be a next time), with more people it might get a bit messy. (Sorry, forgot to write this on our feedback sheet)

The staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and really made us feel welcome. It was great to have fluent English-speaking staff to point us in the right direction for various facilities. Thanks for an awesome time Henry, Tori and Yokokawa-san :)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We were staying for two nights in the villas. The rooms were very clean and the staffs were very helpful. They had kindly arranged the transportation to supermarket and the ski rental. We plan to make another trip to Hakuba this year and for sure, we will stay in this villa again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micky2309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Positives:

Spacious & good layout.

Big shower in the master bath. We loved the heated bathroom floor.

Good value for families. Our party of 4 adults and 2 young children didn't feel claustrophobic.

Great staff - Tori, Henry & Yukako-san (apologies if I got the name wrong).

Negatives:

Double bed in master bedroom is way too small! Usually beds are small because of space constraint but there was plenty of space and yet the bed was so tiny.

Floor heater in master bedroom too hot, even after adjusting it to the lowest temperature.

No washing machines in villas. There is a laundry room in the lodge which is across the road, but when it is freezing cold and you have to put on your jacket & boots and lug laundry across the road, it can be a huge deterrent. Reason given for not having washing machines in villas - to be environmentally friendly. There is a fine line between being environmentally friendly and providing sufficient services to guests. If being environmentally friendly is a key point, front loaders can be installed and guests charged for using the machines to ensure that a full load is in before it is used. The water points and space for the machine are already there in the villa, just no machine.

No house phone. It was ridiculous to use our overseas mobiles just to call reception to ask a simple question.

The villa was only cleaned every 4 days and dishes were left unwashed in the sink. Perhaps clearing of bins and light dusting on alternate days and thorough cleaning every 4 days will be better. Imagine the stink of baby diapers left in the bin for 4 days.

Both bathrooms in the villa face huge glass panels overlooking the other villa. The glass panels do not have any blinds which is terribly inconvenient moving in and out of the bathrooms.

Breakfast was at the lodge. A breakfast basket placed in the villa would be better in winter. Although it's a short walk, it became such a pain having to pile on the layers for myself and the kids and taking off our boots at the lodge for breakfast and putting them on again after and taking it all off again in the villa.
Oh and the coffee at breakfast was very bad, instant coffee tasted better.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerrylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gakutovillas, Manager at Gakuto Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear gerrylow,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us this season. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay overall although we are very sorry that you were unhappy with aspects of the villas and our service.

In regards to heating, the downstairs bedroom gets warmer than the rooms upstairs as the ceilings are lower. Upon check in we recommend keeping the heating on the lowest setting to insure the villa remains at a consistent temperature whilst you are out but of course, if this is too hot for your liking, then it can simply be turned off. Each room has individual controls which are explained/translated in your guest guide so can be adjusted accordingly.

You will be pleased to hear that we will be installing washing machines in all our villas come late summer '13. We also have phones installed in all our villas. As your stay with us was very early in the season these were still being set up whilst you were here and were not ready for your stay; they allow free calls to reception and between all villas.

Our villas are select service self-catered units and we do not provide a dishwashing service for guests. Housekeeping is provided every 4th day and all sheets, towels, bathroom amenities etc are changed/replenished. If a guest wishes for more frequent housekeeping, that is offered for an additional fee. We do however collect rubbish every morning and, as per your guest guide, we ask only for it to be left out on your front porch where we pick it up so as not to disturb you in your villa.

As we serve a buffet style breakfast it is not practical to serve each villa separately - the easiest way to enjoy breakfast in your villa is to use one of our free evening supermarket shuttles and purchase your own breakfast foods. Many of our guests choose this self-catering option.

We would like to respect Japanese tradition by removing shoes in the entrance of the villas and the lodge in order to keep both in good condition particularly with the snow and conditions outside.

We hope this has addressed some of the issues that you had with our villas but please do accept our apologies again that not everything was to your liking. We aim to provide everyone who stays with us with a memorable holiday experience and the opportunity to enjoy Hakuba as much as we do so we are very sorry we did not meet your expectations in this respect. We hope to welcome you and your family back to Gakuto in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Henry & Tori, the main staff at Gakuto Villas, were amazing - incredibly helpful. The accommodation was great although the location wasn't as good as I expected & the free snow shuttles were confusing & not as frequent as I would have liked.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6Cheeky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#12 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
246 reviews
Koharu Resort Hotel & Suites
#5 of 121 in Hakuba-mura
70 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#3 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#10 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
218 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#4 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
169 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gakuto Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gakuto Villas

Address: 4720-1,4721,4722 Hokujyo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 121 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £232 - £425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gakuto Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Gakuto Villas, nestled in the Hakuba Valley of Nagano, Japan. Only minutes away from world renowned slopes, with 10 ski resorts in the vicinity, we offer affordable boutique accommodations for the conscious traveler. Our twelve chic, two-storey houses were specifically designed to provide a distinctly comfortable and modern level of hospitality to our guests. As your home away from home, we are dedicated to making your stay as rejuvenating as possible! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gakuto Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing