We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff”
Review of Asuka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Asuka
Ranked #12 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This place was great, almost ski in and ski out to Happo One and is well set up as a ski lodge. Good ski and board storage with dedicated boot room, and a really nice common area kitchen/living room to kick back at the end of the day. There are some bus stops only about 10 min walk from the lodge that will take you to a couple of the other resorts in the area, which was pretty convenient. From the lodge you can even walk a number of bars, the information centre and convenience store in around 20 mins.
More than anything though, the staff were unbelievably helpful (often beyond reasonable expectations). Everyday they are willing to give people lifts to an onsen, the atm (at the info centre) or the convenience store in the evening. And often they were even driving many of us down to the info centre early in the morning to get buses out to places like Cortina, as well as pick up and drop off on arrival/departure. Also, the guys and girls there were really helpful and knowledgeable on where to go and what to do, in addition to being fun and friendly and spending much of their casual time with guests.
Hot breakfasts were a great start to the day. All the other guest were nice and friendly too, making for a great atmosphere, much less of a bogan vibe than many other good value lodges in Hakuba/Niseko.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Asuka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Asuka for 2 weeks and loved it! Great rooms and facilities (the heated floor is genius).

Location is ideal, 1 minute walk to the gondola and a heap of great restaurants & shops.

The crew are great, they are very welcoming, friendly and are always keen to help out.

The free hot breakfasts are out of this world!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Alexjackson09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed at Asuka Lodge in January with our two teenaged children. Great location - an easy walk up the road to the beginner slopes and ski school, and then we could ski home to our door! For more experienced skiers Hapo Gondola is just down the road and there is a lift outside across the road. We stayed in a family room which was big and comfortable.
The best thing about Asuka Lodge was the staff, who were so friendly and helpful. Whether it was organising lift tickets at a discount rate, recommending ski hire or lessons, printing off train timetables or driving us to the station when we left, Kim,Tristan and Adam were always happy to do anything to help make our stay enjoyable. Lovely hot breakfast too which was included. There was a big communal dining area where you could cook your own meals, with a t.v, magazines and a guitar. If you wanted to eat out restaurants were nearby. There was also a games room with board games and an x-box - great for the kids if they want to relax after a days skiing!
All this at a very affordable price! Thank you Asuka Lodge - can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennyh158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My girlfriend and I just got back home from our trip to Hakuba and still can't get over how good Asuka was the location (meters from lift), cleanliness and the friendly atmosphere. Great to kick back after the day with a beer and watch people still riding from the common room.
Cheers Jon and Shaz

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I had a great time staying at Asuka Lodge. This was my first time in the snow, and the staff at the lodge (Tristan, Kim, Ya-Chan) made my stay in Hakuba a great one. The lodge is conveniently located close to the slopes, and it was not far to walk anywhere in town.
Kim's breakfasts were always something to look forward to every morning, and Ya-Chan was very good at booking restaurants and giving directions around town. The lodge also conveniently booked discount lift passes every morning/evening.
The common areas had a really good feel about them, as everyone was so friendly!

I will certainly be back in future seasons, thanks for a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms had views
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

My partner and I recently stayed at Asuka lodge with a group of friends for 6 nights and would highly recommend to anyone looking for ski in accommodation that is very clean and comfortable and has a great atmosphere thanks to the friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast every morning was awesome and the staff were always ready to drop us off at any onsen in the evening as well as help with organising dinner bookings, day tours and departure transfers. Easy walk to restaurants and bars. This was a really memorable trip and staying at Asuka lodge certainly played a big part in that!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

If you want to stay somewhere that not only are hospitable, comfortable, clean and friendly look no further. Asuka lodge is the best ever. Kim and Tristan helped us out where to go, what to do and also looked after us. Made me feel like a home away from home. Loved their breakfast in the morning too. Please please stay here

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank JennyLHowarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#4 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
231 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
104 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#32 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
41 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Bonfire
Hotel Bonfire
#14 of 367 in Hakuba-mura
12 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
Hakuba Onsen Ryokan Shiroumaso
#2 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asuka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asuka

Address: 4388-2 Hokujo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 367 B&Bs / Inns in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £99 - £190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Introducing Asuka Lodge! This once exclusive private facility is now open to the public. * First Season Intro Rates!!! Book now to take full advantage of this special offer. Ski in! Only 150 meters to Happo One Adam Gondola and Evergreen Ski School. Featuring 16 rooms with Western comfort and Japanese-style charm. Relax in the spacious on-site mineral bath after a day of ski fun or make new ski friends in our communal modern kitchen and lounge. Our new Lodge carries the same level of excellent service distinguished by Penke Panke and Panketo Lodges alike. Our centrally located Hakuba ski resort is just steps from a host of great bars, shops and restaurants by Hakuba Happoone ski resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Asuka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing