We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, cosy, friendly”
Review of Elk at Hakuba

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elk at Hakuba
Reviewed 5 March 2014

First time to Hakuba. Found a perfect place to investigate the place from. Close to a fair few excellent restaurants and bars, half way between Happo and Hakuba 47, two big resorts. Friendly, helpful staff, good brekkie too. The fireplace was a good place to relax with a glass of wine. We will be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 810JuliaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were some of the first guests at Elk under the new management. The price for the rooms was great!
However there were a few issues which don't appear to have improved over subsequent seasons.
The heating cut out regularly and was not restarted without constant pestering of management. This meant coming home from a day of skiing to cold rooms and waking up freezing some nights. The drying room was hardly warm enough to dry our belongings.
The communal lounge area was dominated by the owner's family and we felt we were intruding when using the area, or felt rude asking to watch something on TV. This meant more time spent together in our tiny room.
The manager was very approachable and helpful, picking us up from the train station & helping to make phone calls, however this did not make up for the other negative experiences.

Room Tip: The room at the end of the corridor appeared to be much larger than the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ModernMinimalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Perfect place to stay if you're after a comfortable, warm, cozy (and fun!) ski lodge after a hard day on the slopes or a night out at any of the great restaurants and pubs that are just a short stroll from the front door. The breakfasts there are great too and will keep even the biggest appetites well satisfied throughout a full day's skiing/snowboarding.
The staff are FANTASTIC! - Just so friendly and extremely helpful. They were more than happy to drive us to/from the train station, ski shops and ski lift areas and to help organize any other day trips & tours that we were interested in. I will definitely stay at Elk next time I'm in Hakuba!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Elk made my holiday to Hakuba. I could see the shuttle stop outside the door and it was only a 5 minute walk to the Happo Bus Stop - I have been to a lot of ski resorts and the walk has been a lot worse. Echoland was also only 5 min away with an array of restaurants and little bars to choose from.

With my limited Japanese I found it difficult to find out information regarding the ski resorts. Luckily Joel and Mike were always helpful with insider tips of where to go, cheap pass coupons and nice enough to drop me off one day when I missed my shuttle.

The room was good value for money with western style beds and own bathroom. This is not the Hilton but a clean own room for a good price.

Good for a group of friends travelling but don't want to share rooms or the chaos of the larger Australian Chalet Accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelWineDine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

All the excellent reviews of the Elk lodge are rather misleading. The website is false advertising. We expected a lodge but walked into a student hostel equivalent.

The room was not clean, under the bed was disgusting. Our towels were not changed once in a weeks stay.

The staff consist of Australian university students who's only concern was going snowboarding. while they were friendly they were unhelpful with Can't do attitude sometimes forgetting we were paying guests.

Daily breakfast was substandard. So called delicious cooked breakfast was one greasy egg, part of a processed sausage and a hashbrown. Makes me feel ill thinking of it.


Lounge common area was mostly used by the owners family, central heating malfunctioning and the staff were not prepared to light the fire stating they needed to save wood.

I would be surprised if this "lodge" stays in business, as the owner lacks the required hospitality skills.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Snowboardjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed for a few nights in the Elk lodge, Lack of local feel as there's no Japanese speaking staff. The shuttle bus stop to the ski area is a distance away from the lodge, you'll have to walk around a 5-10 mins walk and with the ski boots and slippery ground, it can be quite a mission. Nearest convenient stores is around 15 mins away, there's basically nothing much nearby. All restaurants and shops are around 15 mins away.Rooms and toilet are pretty small, ll but I guess it's standard Japanese size. Game room is rather cold, dark and uninviting. I guess if you're a hard core skiier than it's okay to stay here to crash and rest at night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Skattierin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Elk at Hakuba is a fantastic place to stay. Located in the restaurant district of Hakabu, it's an easy walk to any of the great eating spots and a simple bus ride to any of Hakuba's 8 world class ski mountains. The Australian service team are terrific and happy to help in any way they can to get you skiing or boarding in the best conditions each day. With 3 or more families you could essentially have your own private ski chalet with all the benefits of a dedicated support team. Well worth a look.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank HBNthCurlCurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#11 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
241 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
Hakuba Mominoki Hotel
#9 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
212 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
Hotel Sierra resort Hakuba
#1 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#7 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
158 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
Laforet Club Hotel Hakuba Happo
#8 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
66 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#16 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk at Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk at Hakuba

Address: 2443-5 Oaza Hokujyo, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 120 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £137 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elk at Hakuba is a contemporary western lodge in the heart of EcoLand, Hakuba. Inviting, relaxed and centrally located, Elk at Habuka combines modern western furnishings and conveniences with a cultural element. Each twin, double or four share room enjoys private ensuite bathrooms, comfortable beds, heated timber floors, quality linen and toiletries and free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elk at Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing