We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super comfortable, friendly and great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Snowlines Lodge Hakuba
Certificate of Excellence
sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Super comfortable, friendly and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Snowlines in March for spring skiing. Both the lodge and the weather delivered excellent conditions.

Snowlines Lodge is a warm and welcoming lodge conveniently located near the restaurant strip, gym and bus pickup stops.

Steve and Sarasa are fantastic hosts, knowledgeable about the area, always willing to help and make sure your stay is 100%.

The comfortable beds, fluffy duvets, nice hot onsens, and excellent dinners all make for a happier body after a day of skiing/boarding.

We highly recommend Snowlines and look forward to coming back to tackle the powder with more skill next year.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sydney1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
21
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

From the moment you arrive at Snowlines you get the feeling that this will be a special trip. Charm, warmth and elegance just to name a few ooze out the front door. The lodge is just the right size to experience a fantastic holiday in a simply stunning environment. Snowlines is centrally located close to cafes, restaurants and Bars in Echo land and Happo which are only a short walk away.
The rooms and amenities at Snowlines are simply outstanding, clean, fresh and well maintained.
Transportation to the many local ski fields is a breeze, shuttle buses pick up, and drop off locations are either at the front door of the lodge or a short walk away depending on the ski field you wish to visit for the day.
Stephen and Sarasa (lodge owners) need to be congratulated, their professionalisms and courteous manor sets the scene for an enjoyable holiday, but we all know that local knowledge is the key to making an enjoyable holiday into a fantastic holiday, these guys have the local knowledge. So if you looking for that awesome trip, Snowlines is the way to go.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

my review backs up what has been outlined in other reviews. Excellent service with a family feel. All staff make you feel very welcome and nothing is a problem.
Snowlines is well positioned half way between echoland and happo and is a 5 to 10 minute walk to each village.
Steve goes out of his way to make your stay enjoyable (although ellis would have enjoyed his stay even more if bundy rum could be found).
We had 2 large king singles with an ensuite in our room and was great for the amount of time that we spent in the room.
Staying in the lodge was better than a self contained apartment due to the social aspect around the bar and meeting other guests. Steve and rob drove us to different places and even dropped us at the skifields just to make the trip a bit more enjoyable.
There is 7 or 8 ski fields that are no more than 25 minutes away with 2 slopes within walking distance. Snowlines has a bus pickup out the front of the lodge for some of the other fields.
Would strongly recommend staying at snowlines due to location, price and excellent service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our recent stay at Snowlines Lodge. The rooms and beds were comfortable (beautiful view from ours too), onsen was relaxing and the food (and wines) delicious. It is worth eating in at least a couple of times to sample Sarasa's great cooking but there are good places (Zen and Gravity Worx in particular) to eat out at in walking distance too. The bus stop to the slopes was right outside the door so was hassle free. What stood out most to me though was the kindness, interest and hospitality shown to us by Steve and Sarasa. They helped us through numerous recommendations for restaurants, onsens etc and went out of their way for us to help arrange alternate accomodation / plans for us when our planned accomodation for after Hakuba was cancelled unexpectedly due to the snow storms. Nothing was too much trouble for them which we were so thankful for. Oh yes, and for 2 very fussy coffee drinkers, Steve's coffee's are the BEST !

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ingleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stephen and Sarasa (lodge hosts) are the nicest people you'll ever meet. It's a very clean lodge with spacious rooms and there's a great friendly atmosphere at night down at the bar. Snowlines is only a 100 metre walk to the only western burger bar in hakuba....so if your like me and fussy about your food it's not far to go plus snowlines has it's very own dinner menu which was just awesome eating in its self.
Getting around is very easy as the free shuttle bus stops right out their front door and it's a short 15 minute or so walk to happo one. Even thou I went by myself the friendly nature of the lodge and other guests made it seem that I wasn't by myself. Suffice to say I'll be taking a few friends with me next year and staying at Snowlines Lodge Hakuba.
Best place to stay hands down and I can't wait until next year. I'll be rebooking very soon.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_600jet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

What a wonderful place to stay in Hakuba.
Myself and 2 mates spent 1 week at Snowlines Lodge during Jan/Feb of 2014 as part of skiing trip. We didn't have the greatest weather or snow conditions for the duration of our stay but that was no dampener on out time at Snowlines Lodge. The location is perfect for an indipendant traveler. We had a car for getting around which was a great convenience but certainly not a necessity as there is a bus stop right out the front and another just 100m down the road.
Steve and Sarasa were quite exemplary hosts! From the way they presented the lodge to the endless assistance on offer. No request was too much and often we didn't even need to ask! Sarasa's cooking was nothing short of spectacular, much like the scenery that frames the Hakuba valley, and her personal restaurant recommendations were straight from the top draw! Steve was always happy to offer advice on snow related matters including a repair shop for a damaged boot of mine.
All in all our stay was magnificent in spite of the weather and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick_chopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

We have stayed at Snowlines 3 years now & each year it gets better, which is saying something as it was amazing to start with! Sarasa & Steve are wonderful, warm, friendly hosts where nothing is too much trouble. Advice about where to hire skis, best skiing for the day, good restaurants ( food is great at the lodge too if you're too tired to venture out), help with onward trips etc....all just comes naturally to them. Lodge is very comfortable and the onsen such a bonus after a long day on the slopes. Wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else, thanks Steve & Sarasa for making our stay perfect...again!!

Room Tip: Ensuites are great, but not essential.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60Deborah60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
Hakuba Tokyu Hotel
#8 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Phoenix Hotel
Phoenix Hotel
#6 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Highland Hotel
Hakuba Highland Hotel
#9 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#15 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#16 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#31 of 101 in Hakuba-mura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snowlines Lodge Hakuba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snowlines Lodge Hakuba

Property: Snowlines Lodge Hakuba
Address: 3020-1064 Hokujyo, Kitaazumi-gun, Hakuba-mura 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 96 Speciality lodging in Hakuba-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run ski lodge in beautiful Hakuba, Japan. Powder skiing, caring service & great value. Rooms for groups, couples, singles & families. Come visit us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snowlines Lodge Hakuba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing