We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hospitality for your Japan snow experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hakuba Yamano Hotel
Ranked #20 of 125 Hotels / Ryokan in Hakuba-mura
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We are extremely grateful for the hospitality shown by Keita San and Monika San.

The hotel is a perfect location to grab first lifts, which are only about 300m walk.

We got some great recommendations on local restaurants from Keita San, as well as lifts in the hotel minibus to the further afield ones.

The hotel onsen is a great way to finish after a full day at Happo. All in all, a great Japanese experience.

Will be back - next time with the family.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Damon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed 4 nights with our family and i have to say it's a great place. Great service and very helpful staff. Shuttle service, ski pass delivery.

Top management (owners) are very dedicated and we had lot of fun too.

Location is just fantastic, abt 300m from ski departure. You will find pleasure, good food and family care in Yamano hotel. We will come back.

Hotel is recommended.
Vincent

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince2vn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Very convenient purpose built ski accommodation only a short distance from the chairlift in Happo, Hakuba.
The beds are comfortable and breakfast a perfect start to an active day on Hakuba's various ski fields.
The Husband and Wife team were extremely helpful, friendly and very attentive to customer needs especially with travel advice,transportation needs and I was pleased to be able to also rent modern, comfortable and affordable ski equipment from the lodge adding to the convenience.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bearfamily10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

3 nights 24-26 over in Dec 2012

Location:
Good location! Just situated outside the olympic ski jump ramp, the Happo One skier is just a 10-15min walk, approx 300m away from the Nakiyama chair lift. If you intend to venture out to the other ski locations, the shuttle bus stop is just across the road from the hotel entrance.

Accommodation:
Rooms are clean and cosy with all the basic necessities you will need. Toilets are small but include a mini bathtub which can accommodate the average slim sized adult (but why use the bathtub when the hotel provides complimentary onsen for guests), Decent shower head provides good pressure with a hot shower (excellent after a long ski day!). Basic toiletries such as towels, shampoo and soap are provided. Ski locker room available in the basement with direct access to the outside.

Staff/Management/Service:
This is where the hotel truly shines as a favorite, like many great businesses, its the people that make it great. Keita san the hotel manager is one of the most sincere, accommodating, all round all round nice guys! (not to mention he used to ski jump competitively!) He helped us arrange for ski gear rental, ski lift passes, helped us get around Hakuba, help arrange dinner reservations, helped us with our taxi transfers and really went the extra mile to make sure we had a comfortable stay.

Conclusion:
Thumbs up! Great place, great experience! I must say, the selfish side of me didn't want to write this review because I don't want the hotel to be full when I next go back. But I would feel hellofa guilty if I don't. Keita san and Monica san, you are both superstars! Domo arigato gozaimasu! Dewa, mata chikai uchini.

Jonathan Tan (from Singapore)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon_T_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Yamano Hotel for a ski holiday - if you want to ski / snowboard than this is an excellent choice. It has all the right facilities, well managed with friendly staff. I will be back again in a few weeks with my nieces and nephew who are having their first experience of skiing in Japan and I am certain staying here will be a highlight.

Room Tip: You can decide between Western or traditional Japanese - rooms second floor at the front have a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjdwyer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We have known Keita and Monica for about 10 years and are very glad to be part of their "family" in Hakuba. Every year we come back for a week or so of skiing and keeping up with Erika, their lovely daughter. The hot spring water in their bath is a highlight too, as are the meals. Looking forward to coming here in other seasons too. Thank you!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Aroundtheworldser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was our third stay at the Yamano Hotel, and the reason we keep returning is because of the warm friendly service, comfortable rooms, and great food. This is a family run hotel, and Keita and Monica are wonderful at making you feel at home. They really go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay with them. We are always too lazy to walk with all our ski gear to the closest ski lift that is only about a five minute walk from the hotel, and the Yamano Hotel staff is always more than happy to drive us to the lift or to the further gondola. If you need a ride back after a day on the slopes, you can call them and they will pick you up! What great service! If you want to ski at one of the different resorts further away, there is a shuttle bus that picks up and drops off right in front of the hotel. We always eat breakfast and dinner at the hotel, but for the guests that want to dine out or want to go out for drinks, the Yamano Hotel can recommend places and will even drive you there. There is no need to eat out, because the Yamano Hotel has delicious and filling dinners, whether it be the 5-6 course western style dinners, or the Japanese style dinners like all you can eat shabu shabu! Thei all you can eat breakfast buffet is also very good, with both Japanese and western breakfast foods. The only little suggestion I would make to make the breakfast better would be to get another toaster. They only have one very slow toaster, and I had to wait quite a while to make toast, especially if someone is making cheese toast. We always stay in one of the rooms with two beds in the main room and a tatami mat loft with futons and a small kotatsu style table. Very clean and spacious! Sure the bathroom is tiny, but if you want space to bathe, you can go downstairs and use the hotel's big ofuro/bath to soak and relax. My son loves the hotel's free internet. The Yamano Hotel always spoiled us with their great service, so we can't think of staying anywhere else in Hakuba!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AKtreker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hakuba-mura hotels
Shakespeare Hotel
#40 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
87 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Echo Hotel
Hakuba Echo Hotel
#17 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
80 reviews
Hotel Montblanc Hakuba
#5 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hakuba happou Onsen
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
Restaurant & Hotel Traumerei
#19 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
50 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
Hakuba Hotel Ougiya
#28 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
43 reviews
Hakuba happou Onsen
Hakuba Springs Hotel
Hakuba Springs Hotel
#9 of 125 in Hakuba-mura
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hakuba Yamano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuba Yamano Hotel

Address: 3477 Hokujo | In fron of Jump Stadium, Hakuba-mura, Kitaazumi-gun 399-9301, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Kitaazumi-gun > Hakuba-mura > Hakuba happou Onsen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Spa Hotel in Hakuba-mura
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hakuba-mura
Price Range: £98 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hakuba Yamano Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best powder skiing holiday in Hakuba!Hakuba Yamano Hotel offers cozy accommodation, great mountain views, easy access to ski resorts, hot spring & sauna, delicious food and knowledgeable staff. Ranked by Michelin Green Guide Book for 2009 for its superior service, food and rooms.There are 5, 7 Nights and 10 Night Packages including Lift Passes available. Packages can be booked with breakfast and dinner or with breakfast only.A delicious breakfast, a mix of Western and Japanese and transfers in Hakuba when you stay. You can also choose a Japanese style dinner or a 5 course Western dinner included package. Also for early bird bookings we offer 15% off from our rates/person/night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Hakuba Yamano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yamano Hotel Hakuba Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing