We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“9 days in Nozawa”
Review of Schanze Nozawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schanze Nozawa
Halmstad, Sweden
1 review
“9 days in Nozawa”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Perfect location for skiing in the hills. Really hotel and a really good host, Rob.
Thanks for all
Don't miss out on the Snow Monkey tour the hotel provides

Can recommend the Schanze Hotel for everyone.

/ Per
Sweden

Room Tip: Contact Rob in advance and he will fix it for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchanzeNozawa, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Per,

Thank you for staying with Schanze Nozawa. We have really good fun having you with us. We just wished you had stayed longer. The Snow Monkey Park day trip is definitely not to be missed, with the walk through that forest actually twice the fun, and the lunch break at the sushi train bar just about everyone's favourite.

We hope to meet up soon on your next Nozawa ski holiday.

See you,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Hi Guys,

Just a quick one letting you know that Schanze Nozawa is the place to be if you like to be close to the lifts, center of town, good people and great accommodation. Rob and the girls go out of there way to make you feel connected to your temporary home away from home.

Good on you! We'll be back

Room Tip: For adventuress families with kids is one of the loft rooms fantastic. Large families can stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchanzeNozawa, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your nice review. It was a pleasure to meet you, and we know you had a wonderful time here. We have been rather blessed to have really fine guests all season, and happy that our lounge has become a popular place for guests not just to relax and have a glass of wine after a gruelling day, but also to connect and make friends with other guests.

Take care and see you next season.

Kind regards,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

A great villa with Japanese style tatami rooms, 3m from the snow, view of the ski slopes, 150m to the Gondola/chair lifts, great host, and breakfast included (which varies daily)! Close to shops, bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Room in 2nd and third floor is good. We stayed in 201 and 205, both tatami style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sneaky229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchanzeNozawa, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Sneaky229,

Thank you for sharing with us your holiday experience at Schanze Nozawa, and affirming the good location, tasty breakfast, and the awesome view! Quite happy that you called us the little gem in Nozawa. Thanks for the compliments!

See you here again.

Happy Holidays!
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My family stayed at the Schanze for 7 nights in January. The location is very good with only a short walk up to the Nagasaka gondola and a stroll down the hill to the centre of town.

The staff speak perfect English and do a good job at keeping the lodge clean. The breakfast is simple but still very nice. The dining room/lounge has a clean modern feel.

The four of us (2 adults + 2 small children) stayed in a family loft room which is promoted as suitable for 4-6 people. This room is very small even by Japanese standards, to have 6 grown adults in the room you'd be sleeping on top of each other. There is no futon storage in the room, in fact there is no storage at all so everything stays on the floor. I found the futons themselves were smaller than the standard futons we had encountered at other Japanese accommodation. Also after a few days I was wondering what these small pieces were all over our bedding and discovered that the tatami mats were shedding, falling apart. To be fair I did look into the other "standard" rooms that were for 1-3 people, much larger with futon storage - I wish we'd had two of those rooms for the four of us.

There is ONE shower on level two and the rest are located in the basement which has no heating - freezing cold trying to bath two small children is not fun.

The drying room is not adequate for the number of guests, jam packed and smelly. Often the dining room would run out of clean glasses and coffee mugs, luckily they had some wine glasses you could use for a drink of water.

While the lodge has potential some improvements are needed for it to adequately cope with the number of guests.

Room Tip: Go for the standard rooms they're better than the family loft rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Born2ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Born2ski,

Thank for staying at Schanze Nozawa during your recent ski vacation in Nozawa, and for writing this review so that we could improve further.

We are happy that you like the location of the lodge which is within walking distance to the main gondola station, and that you enjoyed the breakfast we have at the lodge.

We are sorry that we may not have been able to meet your expectation and to provide as pleasant a stay as much as we strive to do. We really appreciate all your feedback, and wish to thank you for bringing to our attention these areas that need to be improved. We take all the points you brought up seriously, and will implement the improvement in stages. The first thing we would like to do, following your feedback, is to replace the tatami mats when the season finishes. We would also want to make improvement to the dry room. We have also updated the Family Room description on our website. Your other concerns have also been studied and improvements will be implemented wherever possible.

It has been wonderful to receive your review, as we see it as a crucial tool to help us improve along the way. Thank you, and we hope to see you again when you come by Nozawa next.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

The place is awesome for its location and view to the ski jump from the breakfast eating area. Rob is very friendly and will pick you up from and drop you off to the bus stop if you have caught the train. They are a wealth of knowledge regarding where to eat and bathe etc and they never steered us wrong. Like most places in Nozawa, the rooms arent large but they are certainly big enough for what you need. It is a traditional village after all. The breakfast is fresh and filling and made by great hostesses Kathy and Yee. There English is great too. The main Gondola is only 100m away and you can pretty much ski to the door. There are loads of good restaurants within a 10 minute walk. The closest onsen is only a less than 200 hundred metres away and is pretty hot but so good. There is just enough room in the drying room. Free Wifi throughout. I would reccomend the futons over the mattresses as they are much softer than the western beds which are the hardest beds I have ever slept on. 5 toilets and 4 showers so enough to go around. I would ditch the bookcase and put in another couch to make a better lounge area but thats just being picky. Definitely worth a look at if you want an easy stay in Nozawa and being at the upper end of town is great for the skiing.

Room Tip: Get the futon rooms. Rooms overlooking the main ski field have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malenymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
Dear Mike,

It was nice to meet you during your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review.
Glad that you like Schanze's location and the breakfast we served. We like your recommendation of putting in extra couch where guests can sit down comfortably and enjoy the amazing view of the mountains - definitely worth a consideration. And you would be happy to hear that we are making plans to remove the beds so that the few rooms with beds shall be fitted with futons too. We never take feedback and suggestion from guests lightly. Thanks for the suggestion.

Take care, and see you in Nozawa next season!

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Stayed at Schanze for 5 nights and loved everything about it. The location was awesome as it was a 5 min walk to the main gondola. Breakfast was western styled and was the ideal starter to the day. Rob and his team was always available to offer assistance when required.

On the day we were leaving, our bus transfer was cancelled due to the snow storm, Rob offered his assistance ensuring we knew of our transportation options leaving Nozawa and Nagano and even drove our luggage (4 snowboard bags and 1 suitcase) to the main bus terminal in Nozawa.

I highly recommend Schanze, and look forward to staying there again when i return to Nozawa.

Room Tip: Pick the family room as it has a mini kitchen and sink.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Ultrachoc,

Thank you so much for your compliments on our location, rooms, and service. That week you were in was an absolutely crazy week where guests were either trapped in Nozawa, or unable to get out. We were just happy to help out whichever way we can so that you can focus on that one thing - a great ski holiday. Well, surely you have enough snow during your stay.

When you are back, we will have that room (Family Studio) ready for you. We look forward to seeing you again.

Cheers,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This place is a hostel in a good location next to gondola. Rooms are tiny and cleanliness questionable. You will not get a traditional Japanese experience here as western breakfast and English speaking. I feel there a better more authentic accoms for similar price in the village but may be hard to find online. Once again this is a hostel, not the luxury lodge the websites may indicate.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bowser111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lodge Schanze N, Owner at Schanze Nozawa, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Bowser111,

Many thanks for making time to write this review on Schanze Nozawa following your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to hear you find our location ideal. There are many different types of accommodation available in Nozawa - some will offer a complete Japanese experience, and some that will strive to retain the Japanese feel and style, but at the same time providing that bit of convenience and comfort that the other common languages can be spoken here.

We apologise if there were any moments that you find your stay not as pleasant. We find your feedback important and really hope we could reach you so as to make improvement swiftly.

We are making progressive renovation each year during off season, and this summer will be no different. We wish to welcome you back again, and to provide a better and more pleasant stay if you visit Nozawa again.

Once again, many thanks for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Rob & Team
Schanze Nozawa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nozawaonsen-mura hotels
Nozawa Onsen
Address Nozawa
Address Nozawa
#6 of 46 in Nozawaonsen-mura
60 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
Shikinoyado Shinazawa
#11 of 46 in Nozawaonsen-mura
11 reviews
Nozawa Onsen
Shikinoyado Kawahiro
Shikinoyado Kawahiro
#16 of 46 in Nozawaonsen-mura
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nozawa Onsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
Sumiyosiya Nozawaonsen
#1 of 46 in Nozawaonsen-mura
82 reviews
Lodge Nakajima
#7 of 18 in Nozawaonsen-mura
8 reviews
Alpine Villa Nozawa
#1 of 139 in Nozawaonsen-mura
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schanze Nozawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schanze Nozawa

Property: Schanze Nozawa
Address: 6974 Oaza Toyosato, Shimotakai-gun, Nozawaonsen-mura 389-2502, Nagano Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Nagano Prefecture > Shimotakai-gun > Nozawaonsen-mura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 139 B&Bs / Inns in Nozawaonsen-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nice & comfy ski lodge, Schanze is situated just steps from the main gondola station & ski lifts. Guests get to choose rooms with tatami or western beds. Rooms have awesome view of the mountains or ski runs. Family Rooms are duplex rooms which can accommodate up to 6 guests, and is a great choice for family or big groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Schanze Nozawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schanze Nozawa Japan/Nagano Prefecture - Nozawaonsen-Mura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing