We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highlight of our trip to Okinawa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Akachichi Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akachichi Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Onna-son
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip to Okinawa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hosts Kenny & Komaki made our trip to Okinawa special. With great local knowledge (Kenny authored the guidebook which is part of the small library in your room) and a willingness to share their little corner of the world, both hosts offer a better insight into Okinawa than what you could get staying at a hotel.

A short walk to Cape Maeda. Great for relaxing though for exploring I would recommend a car. Snorkelling off the cape & beachcombing at low tide are fantastic.

The 7am wake-up call (through the community speakers) means you are ready for Komaki's legendary Okinawan-style breakfasts!

Room Tip: Only 2 mirror-image rooms in this guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Nothing to complain,every things are great,even the location near the beach is so calm,me and my friends are enjoy the stay.
The breakfast is very delicious by handmade,i loved here,i will definitely back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen7737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
207 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in Akachichi in Nov 2013. What we enjoyed most is the privacy, hospitality and help from the hosts are there whenever we want it, the place is quiet with tasteful decor. Having the wholesome breakfast at our terrace overlooking the garden was the best time to enjoy the morning and to prepare for the day's trip. The place is just a few minutes from the famous diving site, but also serves well for visiting other must-see sights near the area and the north of Okinawa - e.g. The aquarium, the nice beaches and coatline, Kuri Island, etc. The hosts also speak excellent English. Most enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: there are two rooms there, both are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calvinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a beautiful welcoming guesthouse Akachichi is! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel incredibly comfortable. The rooms are beautifully and thoughtfully designed and having the terrace was a wonderful touch. The breakfasts were delicious and the owners were extremely helpful in answering our questions and offering suggestions about where to go and what to see. I would definitely recommend Akachichi to my friends and family and I hope that one day we can go back and stay in this relaxing guesthouse in stunning Cape Maeda.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soph_robins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

We've stayed at this B&B for three times; every time we visited Okinawa. The room was perfect as other reviewers commented, the breakfast was far and away the best you could expect, the owners and their children were so lovely and helpful - we feel like staying at our best friends'. You can connect to the high-speed (it really is) Internet for free - a LAN cable is equipped in the room and WI-FI is also available. Every time we stay there, their facilities and hospitality got better than before. They have a spacious shower room with a detachable shower head and no bath, so you needn't squeeze in a bath tub to take a shower. Children are welcome as well as families, couples, and solos are. This is the best B&B we've ever stayed at!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamifukute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fukuoka, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Rather than stay in one of the big resort hotels typical of the coast of okinawa, I chose to book this lovely guesthouse after glowing reviews on TripAdvisor. It definitely did not disappoint! What a lovely corner of Onna-son - perfectly located near to Cape Maeda, one of the best beaches on Okinawa main island. The room was perfectly thought out and equipped, with a lovely terrace for breakfast and relaxing. The owners were as lovely and helpful as the past reviews suggest.
I will definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rache1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This small guesthouse was one of my favourite places on our recent trip to Japan.
We only stayed 2 nights but I would of loved to have stayed longer. The room was generous and airy and very well outfitted, with a small terrace in the front garden.The breakfasts were amazing, there was both western and Japanese. It was the kind owners (and their gorgeous children) who made the biggest impression however. Nothing was too much trouble and as our hire car hadn't worked out- (essential out of Naha) Kenny was a god send in helping us get around. The small coves of Cape Maeda were only a few minutes walk past the cane fields and there was diving or snorkling if you wished. The guesthouse is about 5 minutes drive from the Renaissance Resort, but is not well known by taxi drivers. My cousin and I loved Okinawa and when I return it will be to stay at Akachichi. Until then I will make do with the blog :)

Room Tip: there are only two rooms, on a right angle to the owners home
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leah66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
1.1 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Okinawa Onna Beach
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
0.2 mi away
Auberge Bonne Chere Raout
Auberge Bonne Chere Raout
#3 of 37 in Onna-son
5.0 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Monterey Okinawa Spa & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akachichi Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akachichi Guesthouse

Property: Akachichi Guesthouse
Address: 348 Maeda, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0417, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akachichi Guesthouse is located in the coastal village of Maeda in Onna-son. We are surrounded by green sugar cane fields and only a short 5-minute walk away from the beach and also Okinawa's most popular snorkeling and SCUBA diving site, Maeda Misaki. Akachichi is situated within a residential area, so you are sure to feel like a "guest" within the community rather than a tourist in a hotel. We have two small cottages that are next to our home, offering privacy but also convenience for communication with the owners. Come and relax while soaking up the atmosphere of Okinawa! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Rakuten so you can book your Akachichi Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akachichi Guesthouse Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing