We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel, poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Old hotel, poor service”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed at the Sunmarina Hotel as other global hotel chains were fully booked. I thought the hotel staff was less friendly the most hotels and they rarely go out of their way to help. Hotel food is average at best and there isn't much to do around the area aside from one decent Japanese restaurant (Zumeyama). Overall, I thought the hotel was overpriced considering bad food and poor service. I probably won't be going back there any time soon. There are much better hotels in Naha City like Rihga Royal Grand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear John L,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel. We are sorry to learn that your experience with us was not quite what you expected. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience we may have caused. At the same time, we very much appreciate your comments and they will definitely be brought up in all training sessions to help all team members understand the importance of friendliness, professionalism and showing willingness to assist all guests.

We do hope that you will still consider a return trip to our resort, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    282
    67
    22
    10
See reviews for
281
143
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed with Family at the Sun Marina for 5 days at the end of August and early September '13. Fag end of the Obon Holiday season in Japan.
Hotel has a lot of options for both adults and kids - tennis courts, scuba, snorkeling, lots of other marine activities, swimming pool, water play area, indoor Lego Blocks Wall, Craft area, amusement center etc. Activities for the kids came in handy as the weather decided to play spoilsport on a couple of afternoons.
Pros:
- Reasonably Priced
- Reasonably clean, considering it is a seaside property
- Beach (which is more of an artificial beach rather than a natural one) is very safe, clean and picturesque
- Overall Property is quite Picturesque; complete with two small lighthouses. To reach one of them you would need to walk across a small promenade across the sea. Pretty cool...especially around sunset.
- Interesting option whereby you can utilize your Breakfast vouchers for Lunch in case you sleep in.
- Staff was very helpful as you'd expect in Japan. Most are not comfortable with English but that was not an issue as there usually is someone who is.
- The Naha Airport Limousine as well as the Airport Line (Bus) does a door to door for Sun Marina. This is very helpful.
- Each floor has one of the ubiquitous vending machines of Japan. Convenient to pick up Water, colas, coffee or even Beer!
- You get two beach towels per day free of charge.

Cons:
- Location is a little out of the way. Only way to get to other tourist spots (Aquarium etc.) would be to rent a car. There is a local Bus service but that would mean too many waits and scheduling issues.
- Location again. Other resorts in this area - Moon Beach and Manza have local stores, restaurants etc. nearby. Tough on you if you decide to just walk it from the Sun Marina.
- Standard Activities like using the Pool, Water play area for kids are chargeable even for Hotel Guests. Can understand charges for Snorkeling, Surfing etc, but this doesn't make sense.
- Buffet lunch while expansive tends to get a little repetitive over a few days and you need to get in early as the dishes do tend to get over pretty fast.
- Lack of eating options at the Hotel. For lunch there is just one option - the Buffet. Though there are in total three restaurants (1 Japanese) and a coffee area.
- Room Service could do with more choices. The Club Sandwich is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Higher Floors have better views of the Ocean. Also Rooms facing the Swimming Pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNEDU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Dear SNEDU,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday with us, and for the many detailed comments that will surely help other guests when they visit our hotel! We do understand that English especially nowadays is a must in the hospitality industry. We ensure that training is provided all-year-round which all team members are strongly encouraged to attend. We hope we will be able to serve you even better next time.

We would also like to thank you for letting us know of your opinions and concerns with regards to our restaurant. Your valued comments will be forwarded to our Food & Beverage Team to help us improve the menu and operational services. We hope that upon your return stay, you will also consider trying our self-grill style Terrace Barbecue for dinner.

We look forward to seeing you at Sunmarina Hotel again next time.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed here with the family and it was a good place for kids. The Beach is very good and they have kids play areas on the beach. The pool is fine and the slide is fun for the kids.
The Hotel itself is old and needs to be fully refurbished. We could see some mould on the wall near the air-conditioning. Otherwise the room was okay, however really, it needs to be refurbished! The wifi access was so poor in the room I had to go down to sit in the reception to do my work.
Parking is free and the restaurant is OK...
If not for the facilities for kids we would not have stayed here. Overall the experience was good and we will consider coming back here given the facilities for the kids and the location, however I will look around first.
Ohhh across the road is a fantastic Okinawa restaurant... Definitely visit it if you stay here.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yariyamachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear yariyamachi,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your sharing your holiday experience.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused with regards to your room; we would like to inform you that the WiFi system has been upgraded and can now assure stable connectivity from all guestrooms. We will also continue to do our best in maintaining our rooms in the best condition possible, as well as creating a welcoming atmosphere for our guests as we strive to become the most fun and family-friendly resort in Okinawa.

We sincerely look forward to your return stay in the near future.
Thank you and best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at ANA Intercontinental Manza for 3 nights before we moved to Sunmarina. And it was like falling from heaven into hell. We were greeted with an unpleasant odour when the double doors slid open, a decaying rotten smell that can very often be found in old and rundown hotels.

We stayed on the 6th floor. Our room had the same unpleasant smell. In all fairness, the room wasn't small. But the ceiling was unusually low. I am 5 foot 9 and could touch it on tip toes. It was dim obviously because of the low ceiling and the colour of the carpet which was brown. The pillow was miserably small. The towels were rough. The balcony too was very small and could barely house a tiny table and two beach chairs. There was an unsightly huge overt sewage pipe on the right. The tiles and the walls were all very dirty. We looked down onto the balconies below and could see that they all had the same problem. It was depressing to have to stay in a room like this, particularly when you paid over USD350 per night for it. And parking was not free, not even for hotel guests: 500 yen per day. Nor were the beach chairs and the shades on the beach. We didn't even bother to check out the rental. The beach was OK, but not as magnificent as seen in the pics. The water was stagnant and dirty, probably because of the wave breakers there.

The service was poor. We asked the girl who brought our luggage in for an iron and an ironing board, but she left and never returned. But we managed to borrow an adaptor for our iPhones from the check-in counter rather quickly.

The food was so so and they allowed you to have a lunch buffet instead if you missed your breakfast. That perhaps was the only saving grace.

Overall: overpriced and poor quality and service. At that price, there are many better alternatives.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelfDrivePP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Dear SelfDrivePP,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sunmarina Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear of your experience, and saddened to learn that we were not able to meet your expectations with regards to our facilities and services.

We would like to express our appreciation for the time you have taken to bring your concerns to our attention. All departments have been gathered and consulted respectively by the senior management. Although the structure of our building cannot be changed, there are other issues that you mentioned where action can be, and will be, taken right away.

We hope that you will still keep Sunmarina Hotel on your list, and that we will do our best possible to welcome all of our valued guests to a comfortable, resort atmosphere.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
東京都
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I chose to stay at this resort for a personal getaway. Since I don't really care for swimming in the beach, the dead season of winter in Okinawa was perfect. I could get a room for myself with breakfast for 12,000yen, which is a bargain at a hotel of this calibur.

The room was nice and spacious. I got a twin room for myself. The bathroom was so large. Abundance of amenities, wide beds.
And the balcony with a couple of beach chairs and a table was perfect for an aperitif.

The buffet was quick alright. Not too busy since it was a low season.
The atrium in the middle of the first floor has some waterways and nice seatings. A good place to chill out.

I am sure the rates would be a lot dearer in summer. But I would highly recommend this hotel. A nice resort.

I should mentione one problem with the common facility. There is a pocket billards table in the lobby. But there was no chalk. I asked the Front Desk and they said they don't have it.
You cannot play pool without chalk. So, I recommend that the hotel spend a few bucks and keep them available. A guest is often expecting a flawless service at a resort.

Overall, great experience.

Room Tip: Get the Twin. Beds are nice and wide. The room is larger than a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Unambiguity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear Unambiguity,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel. Thank you for your compliments regarding our room and restaurant, and we are happy to know that you were able to fulfill your purpose of a personal getaway. Okinawa has many faces for every season, and can indeed be enjoyed even during the winter when the climate is not so hot. However, we do hope that you will also be back to enjoy the hot summer sun which the island is most well-known for!

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused in the games room. We will do our best in ensuring that all supplies are available at all times and assist in every way to provide a satisfying experience for all of our guests.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.
Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong kong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The mere fact that the beach closes at 6pm and the pool closes at 7pm will be enough for me not to return. How can a "Beach resort" close the beach at all is totally beyond me, but the close the pool not long after as well? No swimming is allowed after these times as there is no life guards on duty. The standard of English is not good either.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George99Hongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear George99Hongkong,

Thank you for staying with us at Sunmarina Hotel. Safety is always our priority concern, and operation hours are set at the beach and pool to ensure that a fun and safe environment is provided for our valued guests and team members. However, we do appreciate your comments; please know that they will be brought to the attention of the management and be taken into consideration for possible enhancements and improvements in future operations.

Thank you for your understanding, and we hope that you will consider a return stay to enjoy our resort and the island again.

Best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
149 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Okinawa feels more like Hawaii. Everyone is wearing those flowery shirts, the airport is full of orchids and you expect Elvis to come & meet you off the plane with a guitar and flowers in his hair.

It’s a sub-tropical paradise, except nobody had told the weather when we were there. Whoever decorated the sky that week had chosen Cannon & Ball’s “Dirty Dishcloth” rather than their “Hula Hula Blue”.

Holed up in a hotel room is OK to a point, although it was spacious with a big bathroom and walk in shower and gorgeous view of the sea. Had there been sun, the sunsets would have been spectacular. There is a good free wifi connection and a large balcony with table & chairs. We had a corner room so it was "duel aspect" as, ironically, they say on "A Place in the Sun". There is table football and table tennis in the games room. But there’s only so much Scrabble you can play, only so many books to read, only so many loops of BBC World News you can tolerate, and we didn't have a car. I would advise not to go in May.

Wait a minute…..it’s stopped raining…..guys are swimming……guys are sailing……..

There was a massive school group staying at the hotel, who all went out on the beach at 6.00am and did PE (chanting loudly in unison at 6.00am!) all wearing identical kit. They are occupied every moment of the day in all weathers without complaint, enthusiastic and even enjoying themselves. No one felt the need to pronounce their individuality by wearing their shorts down round their bottoms, or by pulling their skirts up to their armpits. If it were English teenagers, I can’t imagine them playing bat & ball in a circle, or spending an hour in the cold China Sea in the rain, with enormous smiles on their faces.

We were given vouchers for breakfast or lunch, so we had a lie in and lunch. It was an extensive buffet with freshly made sushi, sashimi, hot dishes like green Thai curry, sweet & sour chicken, noodles, rice, soup, pork stew, salads and fruit. There were also tiny little deserts, tofu and tea, coffee and juices. It was tasty, but tended to be very similar each day, so over a long period could get repetitive. The Japanese breakfast was complemented by eggs and sausages, croissants and pastries.

The public area around the reception desk was airy and impressive, with a central atrium and lots of water with fish in. It was always clean as was the room, with bathrobes, plenty of towels and products. We slept very well.

When the sun did appear, we staked out at the pool which was never full. There were free sun beds and umbrellas, but the ones on the beach were about £20 per day. There was a water slide and a view of the sea, which was also nice to swim in. The beach was kept clean. Around about 5.30, lying by the pool after a lazy day in the sun I had a Pavlovian urge to hear the whizz of a blender, making a Margarita with my name on it. But that wasn't going to happen here. There were no food or drinks on the beach except the hotel ice cream bar, or at the pool (though we took our own aperitif one day), no beach vendors (a good thing) and a very different atmosphere to a beach holiday in Europe or the USA, which was interesting to experience.

There are plenty of good restaurants and bars to walk to in Onna-son. We had a great tepanyaki one night at Jam, a nice pizza (half price on Wednesdays), burgers from a place opposite the hotel and takeaway tacos another night. We also ate at a traditional Japanese restaurant directly over the road, with a lady in a kimono playing music and singing. We got dragged up to do the Japanese version of the Okey Cokey, which seemed to cause much mirth and no one will ever know.

Next door to that place is a tiny bar where he makes a mean martini and plays great music.

The staff at the Sunmarina were very helpful and one gentleman in particular, who may have been the front of house manager, went out of his way to help us when we decided to leave a day early, partly due to the weather, but also because of the distance to the port as we had an early ferry to catch. He arranged for us to transfer to the sister hotel in Naha (not half as nice) for a night, gave us maps and directions and saw us on to the shuttle bus. He was lovely.

Recommended, a fun experience for a week, but check for the rainy season.........

Room Tip: A corner room has great views. I had a snoop around one day and the top floor mezzanine rooms looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murao,Shigeki, 支配人 at Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear mexo,
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Sunmarina Hotel, and for taking the time to share your experience with us in such detail! We are sorry to hear that the weather was not in your favor this time, and can only pray that it did not ruin your entire holiday in Okinawa.
It is very interesting for us as Japanese, to hear about how the foreign travelers see the culture, atmosphere and school groups (!) that are obviously quite different from London or other Western countries. Okinawa is a popular destination for school groups especially for its unique history with its blend of Japanese, Chinese and American cultures, as well as the plentiful nature that makes this place one of a kind. We are relieved to know that you were able to get some time outside to enjoy our beach and pool, as well as other facilities off-property.
Thank you also for your kind compliments regarding our team member. Such recognition really encourages our team to try their best at all times and help make the guests’ stay memorable.
We do hope that you will consider a return stay in the near future to fully enjoy the tropical climate, our great variety of marine sports & activities under the hot summer sun, and going to the many historical, world heritage-registered areas.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the resort!
Thank you again, and best regards,

Shigeki Murao
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
6.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
8.9 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
ANA InterContinental Manza Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Monterey Okinawa Spa & Resort
0.3 mi away
Kafuu Resort Fuchaku Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort

Property: Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
Address: 66-1 Fuchaku, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0494, Okinawa Prefecture (Formerly Sunmarina Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#6 Romantic Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
#10 Family Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 246
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Hotel is a luxury resort located beachfront at Onna-son, approximately an hour's drive from Naha Airport on Route 58. All rooms have a magnificent ocean view, and the hotel provides a choiceful range of marine and beach activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sun Marina
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing