We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing hotel experience after the Marriot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels / Ryokan in Onna-son
Okayama, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing hotel experience after the Marriot”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

I agree with another reviewer. the hotel is impressive on the outside if you like massive white concrete structures but the rooms are tired, need complete renovation and smelled terribly of mold. It was so bad in the first room that we were given that I asked for another and we were moved up to the sixth floor and right at the front of the tower wing with a panoramic view of the ocean. The smell, however, was almost as bad. I blame having carpeting in a tropical climate. The car park at the hotel is huge, yet even so I had to park in the overspill car park 200m down the hill on the first evening after we went out to eat. There is a free shuttle bus but still, it was annoying. A car is almost essential on the island. The swimming pools and the other leisure facilities were fine, my wife and son enjoyed them a lot but charging for the lockers is a bit ridiculous. Queuing for breakfast was another problem, get there early to avoid being queued out the door. Food was generally very good but expensive as usual in Japan. The beach is very small and doesn't allow snorkeling but we took a snorkeling tour which left from the beach and stopped in deep water over a coral mount. That was quite amazingly good.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean have amazing views but the road noise can be intrusive. Especially trucks in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arisuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    448
    169
    39
    26
See reviews for
449
187
28
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Okinawa, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I couldn't ask for a better weather! We had lunch here and the food was good. My husband and I really enjoyed the food and the other selection.

The view is defo breathaking! Water is crystal blue and it's just mesmerizing. Unfortunately when we came there, there was no water in there humongous pool. I believe they were under renovation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
439 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Visiting a beach resort at Christmas offered surprising value for money. The hotel is a bit dated, but makes up for this by good service, renovated rooms and satisfiying japanese bath. The indoor pool was overheated and unfortunately lapping was challenging as a result. Plenty of restaurant options with good and plentyful breakfast. Sharing a room with four adults is possible, as they provide for single beds of good quality. The room is just big enough to do this for a long weekend. Staff were friendly and helpful, overall a very good experience!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor during the cooler season
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I was there for one week and I should say that the rooms are kind of old style but the comfort is really amazing. Reception desk people are extremely nice and helpful that I have never seen. One problem is the wireless internet that you can not get it at home but you can get only in one area. The buffet breakfast is really good with beautiful view.

Room Tip: room with the view outside to the oceans are the best, i guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikelSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Large resort complex with an impressive variety of pools. Bus constantly running up and down to the private beach a few mins away. The beach is disappointing, unnecessarily high charges for loungers and umbrellas (3000 yen a day?) are off-putting - I hate to feel I'm being ripped off. Note to manager, change it to 500 yen and everyone will use them, at 3000 yen no-one does. Play with the economics until you find a sweet spot.
On-site restaurants also overpriced but there are some good local ones, try the surf shack one opposite the entrance to the hotel.
Staff very pleasant and numerous. Great sunset from the rooms or the main restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TokyoNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

It was a bit secluded, which was exactly what we were looking for. The hotel had a total of 3 large pools, one outdoors with a spectacular view of the ocean, the other 2 were indoors and heated, and 2 jacuzzis. There was a very cool Japanese style bath house. My girls loved it! There were several restaurants located in the hotel~Chinese, Okinawan, BBQ, Italian and one other we can't remember. We really enjoyed the breakfast buffet. It was a bit of an older hotel but for the price we didn't mind it. Also, there was a hotel bus that took us down to the small private beach. I don't think the staff spoke much english but it was all part of the adventure for us and they were friendly. There were cute activities for the kids at the shops...painting a little lion dog. Our room was nice, but our friend who stayed on the other side of the hotel (Wing side?) had an older room. There was a cultural show at the hotel, too. We had a great time and a cultural experience!

Room Tip: The Ocean side (far right area of hotel) is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelove7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

It's a big hotel, the "private" beach is little and expensive (you have to pay for everything). Rooms where old, poorly cleaned and without the usual care you find in Japanese hotel. Bathrooms are so small opening the door reduces your space by half. Personnel is kind and available but the lack of english knowledge is quite frustrating. Restaurants are expensive and If you do not want to find yourself stuck there rent a car. It saved our vacation. It's simply overpriced.

  • Liked — The Spa
  • Disliked — Rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank afrikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Onna-son
0.3 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
15.4 mi away
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
8.6 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
8.3 mi away
Rizzan Sea-Park Hotel Tancha-Bay
0.1 mi away
Okinawa Spa Resort EXES
Okinawa Spa Resort EXES
#1 of 23 in Onna-son
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa

Property: Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa
Address: 2591-1 Yashibaru Nakama, Kunigami-gun, Onna-son 904-0401, Okinawa Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Kunigami-gun > Onna-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Onna-son
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Onna-son
#7 Spa Hotel in Onna-son
#8 Luxury Hotel in Onna-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 515
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Rakuten, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Hotel Ocean
Okinawa Kariyushi Beach Resort Ocean Spa Okinawa Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing