We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I went to this hotel in October.the weather is still hot enough for swimming in the sea. This hotelis the best one I have been. The service is very kind and good. Only one thing to pay attention to, yiu have to rent a car if you stay here, because this hotel is far from the city , and the price of dinner in the hotel is high.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puppu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    563
    101
    25
    13
See reviews for
1,143
467
70
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We are two couples and have just visit Alivila 11/1, hotel and the two church near it are so beautiful. We eat dinner in the teppanyaki restaurant Gosamaru inside of Alivila, we are all enjoyed and satisfied with it. Afternoon tea cake also good. Nice food and service.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daniellien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

stayed 2days here~ it has a private beach and water is clean and very accessible~
the hotel is quite big and it seems like it caters to local Japansese customers~
one minor drawback is that you have to wait in line for the breakfast and all~
and being in Japan and all, you have to pay for all the extras~be aware~
Other than that~ very good/excellent hotel~

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponyo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We only spent two days and two nights at Hotel Nikko over Memorial Day weekend, just before the high season hit. We felt that it was very spacious as there were not many customers there. It is a dream of a resort, and though pricey for us, we definitely got what we paid for!

We had a superior twin room that was on the fourth floor of the north wing, with a direct beach view and a breathtaking balcony! The room was more spacious than any other we've had in Japan before, with attractive decor, a spacious bathroom, and lots of sleeping room; up to four or five people could likely stay in one room. The room service and hotel staff were very polite and courteous, responding to our needs promptly even if limited English was spoken. My wife received a relaxing in room massage at a reasonable rate for Japan.

The multitude of restaurants on the resort serve exquisite, tasty food, but expensive. If we spent more time here, we probably would have ventured off the resort with our rental car at times to eat elsewhere. That said, we thoroughly enjoyed the Western breakfast buffet and the Spanish-Japanese dinner buffet at the Hanna Hanna.

The outdoor pool was large and easily accessible, near a handy convenience store (we ran short of diapers for our infant son) on the ground floor, surrounded by magnificent gardens! The baby absolutely loved the wading pool, and he had most of it to himself! It looked like there was a swim up grotto bar in the outdoor pool, but closed for the off season. The indoor pool was nice and relaxing but ultimately not worth the extra money.

Our favorite part of the resort was THE BEACH! The tidal differences are quite stunning, with tons of pools and reefs to explore at high and low tide, teeming with an immense variety of sea life. Be sure to wear water shoes, as there are plenty of sea urchins! We are nature lovers, and just reveled in the fact that we could wade hundreds of yards towards the reefs (with baby in the carrier!) at low tide. We took a one hour snorkeling trip at a point just off the hotel property and enjoyed it thoroughly; the crew even let us switch off holding the baby! There are also plenty of umbrellas and longer chairs for relaxing on the beach, which we did on our last day. The front desk even held our luggage for us once we checked out; we could still use the hotel facilities throughout the day before we flew out, including the beach umbrellas and toys at no charge! Quite frankly, we were having so much fun that afternoon we almost missed our plane!

The hotel is very family friendly and we knew we chose the right place for us as the vast majority of the other customers were Japanese families with young children. This was where the native families hang out, and we picked well! The comfy crib was already waiting for our son when we first arrived, and a maintenance worker even came to our room to lower the mattress for us.

My only suggestion for the hotel would be to consider an airport shuttle, even if a customer fee was associated with it. The resort is situated quite far from the Naha airport, about an hour and a half away, so it may not be a lucrative and worthwhile service for the hotel to offer. However, a shuttle could attract further business from foreign travelers who would prefer not to rent a car, especially for a short holiday weekend.

Overall, this resort brings out the best Okinawa has to offer! If you're willing to spend more money for a truly beautiful and relaxing stay with your family, we highly recommend Hotel Nikko Alivila!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank bklojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My family and I went to Okinawa in November. This hotel was reasonably priced for the season and they were able to accommodate 5 people in a single room with the addition of a crib. The staff spoke English well enough to help us with whatever we needed. The rooms are not huge but sufficient. The balcony provided a nice breeze and a good view. The bathrooms are small everywhere in Japan and this hotel was no different. The restaurants are quite expensive but if you really want to eat at hotel restaurants, then knock yourself out. The surrounding area is spacious and many excellent local restaurants can be found. I suggest trying Okinawan Fried Rice: so good! We had breakfast included in our reservation and the buffet did not disappoint the kids at all. My wife and I really enjoyed the Japanese fare too but the kids are very young and did not appreciate it as much. The hotel sets up hammocks between palm trees to enjoy the breeze. There is mini-golf (small fee), ring tossing, two pools, a waterfall, towel service, arts and crafts (for a fee), ocean tours and paddle boat rental are available. Of course, you can rent snorkeling gear here too. This was a very fun stay!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigGunNate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Let me say this is a beutiful and clean hotel. However, I wanted to come here for a nice, quiet, relaxing weekend. It is anything but quiet. Everyone here has one or more kids under the age of 6. The kids are everywhere and loud. Do not come here if you want quiet or romance. Do come here if you have a kid and want to join in on the noise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelGrl1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

I like Dim sum and since I came here on Okinawa 2011, the first place I wanted to find is where I can eat Dim sum. I love Chinese foods and luckily my local friend told me about this place.

The resort is not fancy looking compared to other resorts but I like the way how it looks. It's rustic, continental/meditteranian touch. My style!

Most Chinese restaurants on the island don't have Dim sum and this one is better by far but not the best. I've been to Hongkong, Macau, Singapore and I know what's the best but Alivila has decent dim sum. yum!
I recommend this dimsum called, XIAO LONG BAO because it takes a while for them to serve. I think that's the best among the other dim sum. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Misty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yomitan-son
15.7 mi away
Okinawa Marriott Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Hilton Okinawa Chatan Resort
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Okinawa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Okinawa
6.7 mi away
Sheraton Okinawa Sunmarina Resort
6.6 mi away
Kafuu Resort Fuchaku Condo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa

Property: Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa
Address: 600 Gima, Nakagami-gun, Yomitan-son 904-0393, Okinawa Prefecture
Phone Number:
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Okinawa Prefecture > Nakagami-gun > Yomitan-son
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels / Ryokan in Yomitan-son
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nikko Alivila / Yomitan Resort Okinawa has a unique Spanish colonial style displayed by its exterior red tiled roof and white walls complimented by the blue ocean of Okinawa. The name "Alivila" is combination of the Spanish words "alivio" (relaxation) and "villa" (country house) that perfectly defines business and leisure traveler's vacation experience here. Each of the 396 bright Caribbean style luxury hotel room accommodations have a dramatic ocean view and the various fine restaurants and bars offer a memorable resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Rakuten, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Nikko Alivila
Nikko Alivila Hotel
Hotel Nikko Alivila Yomitan Resort Okinawa Okinawa Prefecture/Yomitan-Son, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing