We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed in this hotel during our group tour of Hokkaido in October 2013. This is a huge hotel with a big lobby and a few shops. The room was large with separate sitting room and bedroom. The buffet dinner was scrumptious and plentiful. Guests would not miss seeing a stuffed owl (biggest in the world?) which moved at periodic intervals. Nearby was a delightful park where visitors could walk on a very long boardwalk through wild shrubbery and enjoy watching the snow-capped mountains - comparable to the Canadian Rockies albeit on a smaller scale. Make sure you go there before 4pm during autumn as the sun set about this time.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    103
    45
    4
    7
See reviews for
108
61
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
241 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family and I joined a group tour, which had arranged accommodations for the night at this hotel. Check-in was completed before we arrived at the hotel, so we could simply pick up our keys and go up to our rooms upon our arrival. My family was assigned to different rooms; twin sharing had western style rooms while the triple sharing one was assigned a tatami room. For a triple sharing, I wouldn’t really consider my room to be quite spacious; there wasn’t much room to navigate about once all three mattresses were all laid out, so I think a twin sharing would find themselves a lot more comfortable in that room. Space-wise, the toilet isn’t very big either, but definitely a little more spacious compared to the other hotels I’ve been to. Despite the little squeeze, the mattresses were really comfortable and the blankets were so fluffy! It was a very good and comfortable sleep that night! For the convenience of their guests, the hotel also provides these little baskets which you can carry to the onsen to put your stuff in, though it really seems more suitable for the ladies from its design. Even though the hotel is situated on top of a hill, I didn’t get any breath-taking views from my room. I did, however, wake up to find wild deer roaming the hotel grounds! Pretty cool if you ask me!

Another good thing about this hotel was definitely its food! Wow, just look at the spread they offer during breakfast and dinners!!! Apart from the good variety of very delicious food, I really liked at the amount of effort they put into the food as well. You could really tell their dishes were intricately crafted, and a lot of care was taken in preparing the food! Kudos to them really, for making the meals so sumptuous! I really like the interior design of the restaurant; it’s partitioned, so you get that quiet, private dining ambience even though the hotel is in fact crowded with lots of tour groups. And they encourage the tour groups to stagger their breakfast timings too, so you don’t have to queue for a table, nor do you have to jostle with others for food.

Of all the hotels I stayed at in Hokkaido, this hotel was definitely the most memorable because of their good variety of delectable food, and the comfortable tatami mattresses! I strongly recommend anyone who is visiting Shiretoko National Park to come stay at the hotel for at least a night! It may be pricey but definitely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 91MJJC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed for a night in their western bed room. Room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Buffet had a good spread of seafood and meat. We walked to nearby Yuhidai to watch the sunset. It's beside a camping ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jyunqing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Having decided not to drive at night, we stayed at Shiretoko Prince Hotel for our third night in Hokkaido. For 18,000 yen, we had a room with a tatami section in the new south wing, a scrumptious buffet dinner, a buffet breakfast and the use of the onsen. There was already a crowd in the restaurant and we had to wait in line for a table at dinner time. It featured a wide variety of food and I especially enjoyed the grilled beef steak.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Utoro is the town on the edge of the Shiretoko World Heritage Wilderness Area, and is therefore well endowed with a number of hotels that are able to cater for large groups. We stayed at one of these large hotels, the Shiretoko Prince Hotel, in May 2011 as part of our tour of Hokkaido with a group of friends. For various reasons our rooms had been upgraded to the very comfortable and roomy western-style beds with a separate tatami section. All the rooms had wonderful views out over Utoro. We found that even though it was situated on the hill overlooking the town, it was not difficult to walk to and from the convenience stores and the wharf area to the hotel. We took advantage of the coin operated laundry facilities, which was a relief to many of us, as we had accumulated piles of washing over the week before our arrival. The onsen baths were very welcome after a busy day exploring the Shiretoko Peninsula, and it was so liberating to relax in our yukata after the hot soak. Being able to wear these gowns into the dining areas was an added bonus.
The tariff included a buffet breakfast (viking) and a choice of buffet (viking) or set dinner. We stayed here for three nights so had opted for two buffet dinners and one set menu meal. The buffet meals offered a wonderful choice from seafood, various salads and vegetable dishes to succulent portions of beef grilled as you wait. There were a number of different soups to choose from and a very extensive dessert section, including ice-creams. The set menu was served in a different dining room and there were so many dishes placed on the large table for two, it was difficult to work out where to start. As with set menus in other hotels in Hokkaido, almost every dish included some form of seafood. Also, like elsewhere, there was so much food I think that not one of our group managed to eat everything. The staff of the hotel were attentive and courteous and generously gave us bubbly white wine with which we celebrated the birthday of one of the group members. Wherever we went there was a member of staff in attendance to assist us, and when we left, they all lined up at the entrance to bow and wave to our departing vehicle.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

The Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki is your basic onsen resort hotel that can be found all over Hokkaido. The lobby and entrance area have been well maintained, and lack the run-down appearance that afflicts many an onsen hotel in Hokkaido. The rooms, however, definitely show signs of age. They are certainly comfortable and clean, but they are not in the same condition as the rest of the hotel.

The onsen on the first floor is great, but there's nothing particularly special about it. There's no great view, and it's not that different from onsens you could find at significantly cheaper hotels.

The buffet dinner was great! Although many of the side dishes were average, the crab and steak were fantastic. I also found no fault with the service at the hotel - the staff was friendly and very helpful. We appreciated the plate of fresh fruit found in our room fridge each day too!

The major downside to the hotel was its location. It sits on a hill about a twenty-minute walk from the Utoro bus terminal. There are shuttle buses that connect the hotel to the bus terminal, but there was no time schedule clearly posted, especially for foreign guests.

Although I quite enjoyed this hotel, I probably would not stay here again due to the price and the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marimo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2009

This hotel is on a “hotel row” just a few blocks from downtown Utoro. It is only a few kilometres from the entrance to the Unesco-designated Shiretoko National Park and is most easily visited by car. The building is a large resort hotel tower, with adequate parking all around it. An overly-enthusiastic greeter gave me much unneeded assistance in parking the car. There is a bustling, not very comfortable, lobby, with a good store within it.

Apparently there are a variety of room styles. Ours was in the new south wing built in 2000 and was a combination of western and Japanese - a tatami sitting room with a western sleeping area and twin beds, along with a western desk. This was not altogether convenient, as the only place to watch television was from the bed. The layout of the toilet, washroom and bath were Japanese, much more roomy than most, but with very poor lighting for shaving.

Supper, included with the room, was proudly advertised as an “open kitchen,” available only to guests in the new wing. This turned out to be not entirely as we imagined. In our room we were presented with menu choices for some of the main dishes. This was done in a rushed fashion by a rather ungraceful maid. Dinner was in a western dining room. This was only one of several restaurants in the hotel. Others seemed to be for tour groups: there were a number of tours at the hotel. The food choices and quality were quite good.

Breakfast, a Viking (buffet), was in a different restaurant. Again there was a good selection of both western and Japanese dishes. The layout was not very comfortable, with many people jostling in a crowded buffet line at the front of the room, then carrying their trays a long distance looking for a free table.

The Shiretoko Prince was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in Hokkaido. While it is a reasonable choice for a visit to the Shiretoko Park, it wasn’t particularly good value.

  • Liked — Convenience to Shiretoko Park
  • Disliked — Indifferent staff
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rideau-Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shari-cho hotels
Utoro Onsen
Shiretoko Grand Hotel Kitakobushi
Iruka Hotel
#5 of 19 in Shari-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Utoro Onsen
Shiretoko Noble Hotel
Shiretoko Noble Hotel
#12 of 19 in Shari-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Utoro Onsen
Shiretoko Daiichi Hotel
Shiretoko Daiichi Hotel
#2 of 19 in Shari-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Utoro Onsen
Hotel Shiretoko
Hotel Shiretoko
#7 of 19 in Shari-cho
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Utoro Onsen
Shiretoko Village
Shiretoko Village
#6 of 19 in Shari-cho
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki

Property: Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki
Address: 192 Utoro Kagawa, Shari-gun, Shari-cho 099-4351, Hokkaido
Region: Japan > Hokkaido > Shari-gun > Shari-cho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels / Ryokan in Shari-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki 3.5*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Rakuten, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Shari Cho
Shari-Gun Prince Hotel
Shiretoko Prince Hotel Kazanamiki Japan/Hokkaido - Shari-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing