We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
85
212
116
51
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
85
212
116
51
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews view of the lake outdoor onsen buffet style toya lake nice view dining area breakfast and dinner water park hotel lobby free shuttle cigarettes smell during summer japanese room young children female onsen shower gel no doubt
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We have two adults and two kids with age 10 and 7. There are so many activities to do in hotel during summer. The swimming pool is excellent for kids. Kids can play water slides. After having dinner, we can enjoy girl band playing music outside the lobby. After that, you can see firework just outside hotel. And more, you can pay ¥500 for a bingo card. You can tell this hotel try to arrange activities for families. We enjoyed it very much.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank evalP2867MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

Pro: The lobby looks modern and clean, awesome view of the lake, excellent onsen facing the lake. Great buffet dinner and breakfast, we love the dessert.

Con: the room is old and musky, the room smell like very bad. We could not sleep as the aircon is not working, the entire room is so warm and stuffy. The staff offered us fan, but it is still not helping much. Not sure if other rooms have the same issue.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank 583colleenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

When we first walked into the hotel, we were all impressed. Beautiful lobby, view, and huge. Upon checking in, we had some problems with the number of people we booked because the website says 4 people and the hotel staff said they only had 2 people per room booked for us. Long story, short, we paid for the extra people. This whole process took them 1 hr or a little over that. When we complained, the Chinese staff talked to her colleague in Chinese saying she was so confused and we we’re hurrying her. We understand Chinese but did not engage her anymore. We just wanted to get to our rooms. Dinner was from 6-8 only and it was past 7 already.

The rooms were ordinary and old and did not match with the grand lobby. The bathroom had mold like black stains on the grouts and bath tub.

Dinner was like a marketplace. Many choices but more quantity than quality. Breakfast was the same way. Fireworks after dinner was entertaining.

The onsen on the basement level was quite good but crowded. Also had some kids jumping in and out of the water and no one monitoring and keeping things in order. There was a boy child also if about 3-4 even if it was an all women onsen. The men’s onsen was on the other side.

Will definitely choose a different hotel the next time.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 853jeannied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Upon arrival of the hotel entrance, amazed by the door design and upon entry to the lobby, WOW you have a superb view of Lake Toya, the tired body of travelling from Otaru suddenly disappeared. The interior of the lobby was delicately spaced with chairs wide space for walking. The high ceiling, glass panel window enhance the view. But when we reached the rooms, oh my goodness, we were shocked - the room was old, dilapidated, the bathroom was so old fashion and small, the window would not shut properly as we were so worried as we have an active 2 years toddler. Although we requested for non-smoking the rooms are reek of cigarette smell and there was ash tray, so we opened the window when we went out. It was so unbelievable. The dinner which was inclusive was good, wide range of food, the water theme park was fun and the children enjoyed it very much. There is firework - you view it from the garden, the lobby or your room. We chose the garden although it was a bit windy and chill as we cannot bear to be in the room for long. We took a morning walk around the Lake, came across few hotels, boat rental shacks and noted there is another island in the middle of the lake. As it is only a night stay, we have no chance to explore further.
When booking the hotel online, do take note that although we put done 2 adults + 1 toddler and paid as advised online, the hotel wanted to charge us extra for the toddler - no extra bed given - thus need to ensure all details are clear on the booking or RSVP form. We do not know the error comes from the hotel or the booking website.

Room tip: all rooms are facing the Lake, note that their rooms do smell
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

We were apprehensive to stay here because of the mediocre reviews. Went ahead to book because of the waterpark . We took the cheapest 4-pax room for a night, sleeping on tatami mat. Mattress was comfortable but room a bit warm even adjusted to the the lowest possible temperature. Outside, it was below 10°C at night in early summer. Space adequate for two adults and two teenagers. It will be small for four adults.
The public onsen offers good views of lake toya. Very serene and not too crowded as Jun is not their peak season. There is no private onsen here.
The children enjoyed the waterpark specially the wave pool. They also enjoyed playing table tennis at the playroom, not foc though.
Don't view the fireworks in your room if your window is small like ours. You can opt to view from the lobby or go outside of the hotel via escalator to the ground level exit. Don't leave after the first round of fireworks at the far west like we almost did. The boats sailed to the east , and repeated the show right in front of the hotel !
One-day stay here is adequate for what we want to do and we "escaped" the smoky smell in the room/corridor because we spent most of our time elsewhere, at dinning, onsen, lobby, souviner shopping, playroom etc. 4/5 stars for the facilties we enjoyed. 3 stars for food, and room.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank chweeluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews