We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUBARASHII (Wonderful!)”
Review of Mashikokan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mashikokan
Reviewed 28 February 2009

Mashiko is located in Tochigi Prefecture, very close to Nikko (which we did not have a chance to visit this trip). I stayed at the Hotel Sunshine Mashiko in October 2008 with my husband, sister/boyfriend, Mom and her 2 friends, 7 guests total. During our 10 days in Japan, my Mom really wanted to see the town of Mashiko, which is known for their country-style pottery (yakimono), so we went to this little town before spending the last 3 days of our trip in Tokyo. I would make it a point to go back to this area just to stay at this hotel again because it is truly a hidden gem! The level of service was unbeatable, and we were sad to leave the hotel staff even though we stayed only one night because they were so fantastic! I called ahead for reservations for two Japanese-style tatami rooms for our group (they lay out the futons at night). They have a van pick-up/drop-off service that will not only get you to and from the station, but they will also get you to the main street of town where all the pottery is, which is the main attraction for their town. They have a WONDERFUL hot spring (onsen) with 3 baths, including two indoor pools and our favorite, the outdoor one with a view of a beautiful waterfall! Once you enjoy that, they have a spectacular multi-course Japanese meal set up for you for dinner! The service was so personal they had my name written in Japanese calligraphy outside our dining room! It was the same first-class treatment at breakfast, where they had another very exquisite and delicious spread for us! All of this for only about $120 US per person! You should definitely try a Hot Spring or Japanese Inn (Ryokan) when you are in Japan, and this one is a shining example of the heart of the people, the culture, and the yummy food!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 車でしかアクセスできない場所にあります。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kur0kur09696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Masafumi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ken0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank こまてぃ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank 寿代 渡
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koucya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashiko-machi
Utsunomiya Station
Hotel Mystays Utsunomiya
Hotel Mystays Utsunomiya
#7 of 51 in Utsunomiya
84 reviews
Utsunomiya Station
Richmond Hotel Utsunomiya Ekimae
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sealuck Pal Utsunomiya
#5 of 51 in Utsunomiya
76 reviews
Utsunomiya Station
Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya
Chisun Hotel Utsunomiya
#8 of 51 in Utsunomiya
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mashikokan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mashikokan

Address: 243-3 Mashiko, Mashiko-machi, Haga-gun 321-4217, Tochigi Prefecture (Formerly Hotel Sunshine Mashikokan)
Region: Japan > Kanto > Tochigi Prefecture > Haga-gun > Mashiko-machi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels / Ryokan in Mashiko-machi
Price Range: £108 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mashikokan 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, KNT-CT Holdings Co.,Ltd.(YOKOSO Japan), Ctrip TA and Odigeo so you can book your Mashikokan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing