We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great onsen ryokan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hoshi Onsen Chojukan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wow. My wife and I loved the excellent food, beautifulmrooms, rustic hot springs (including an unforgettable one under the stars) allowing for mixed and single-sex bathing, and the wonderfully secluded locale.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laurencefwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

My boyfriend and I visited in early May 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. The journey is quite straightforward from Jomokogen train station, we asked for advice at the tourist office and a very kind man provided us with maps and the bus timetables. We actually got a taxi after the first bus because of a long wait between buses and that cost 3000Yen. As other reviews have said, Chojukan was well worth the journey though. The rooms are very comfortable, the onsen baths very clean and beautiful (especially the one with an outdoor bathing area), and the food was delicious and a real experience. Overall we would definitely recommend a stay here to anyone looking for an authentic Japanese onsen experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We went towards the end of February, though it was cold I would say it was still a nice time to go. Getting to the ryokan/onsen was a little hard but the bus trip was quite pleasant as it goes through rural Japan and we got to see some snow monkeys. The ryokan itself is very old, and mostly made out of a beautiful timber. The onsens were all quite nice as well but I'm not sure whether they were 'truly amazing' as some other reviews might suggest. All the onsens were made of timber, which made them smell/look nice but there were no other real defining features. The women onsen is quite small but it was very nice to have it there when the other onsens were either for mixed or male bathers.

We stayed for one night and I think that was enough. Though the ryokan is quite beautiful, we weren't sure there would be much to do except bathe, and there really wasn't. Our room was very traditional, a little worn in some areas but with an ensuite and balcony, it was quite comfortable.
The dinner was a strange mixture of fantastic and terrible. We took it in our room and the young girl who waited on us was very sweet, even though she spoke little english. Our dinner came in batches, and was very confusing (I am half Japanese and I still struggled). As the food kept coming we realised they were all side dishes and there was no accompanying rice. As she prompted us to eat we did, until when we were nearly done and the rice came out, which I assume was suppose to go with all the dishes as they weren't quite right without it. We tried to eat/taste everything but a lot of it was not quite to our liking, as it was all very very traditional.

My partner and I went into the mixed onsen very late at night/early in the day, there was one other male bather but he left soon after. While it was nice, we both had an underlining disappointment with the place. We had both been to a few onsens before and this place didn't really set itself apart from the others. Personally I found the indoor-outdoor onsen pretty lovely, I went in the morning and had the whole onsen to myself. The temperatures of both onsens were perfect and the wooden taps were wonderful. Though, when my partner went at night, he found the outdoor onsen to be a little suffocating, as the steam had no place to go and just sat in the air.

Overall, I would say if you're reallllyy keen to see the traditional side of Japan this is for you. If not, then I don't think you will appreciate it as much as you could. We found our trip to Houshi onsen nice, but not worth it and quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Esha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We went in late May, and though the trip getting there was a little long, it was well worth it. If you can afford the experience, it's well worth it. The onsen are pristine and picturesque--the outside one especially is everything I'd dreamed of when picturing old Japan. The staff were very friendly and accommodating; our personal maid/waitress didn't speak much English but she was exceptionally charming and sweet. And the kaiseki is so lavish it's almost too much... we had a hard time eating all of our dinner, there was so much food! All of it excellently prepared.

Overall, this place is well worth it if you have a little extra time to take a side-trip outside of Tokyo.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Great onsen and ryokan. The english internet booking site doesn't really work, so we used google translate and picked a plan off the Japanese booking site. You still need to understand Japanese style booking system so it might help to get a friend who knows Japanese to explain or book for you. The onsen is remote and as I read in a forum board somewhere there are only 4 buses a day (AM and PM) to get there, there is no pick up vehicle, but it's pretty easy once you figure it out. We printed off the Japanese page and asked info desk. The best way there is to Jomokogen via Shinkansen. Most people get there at check in and go straight to onsen. It was a great experience, 24-hour onsen. Dinner and breakfast was seasonal ryokan style, with lots of local and seasonal food. The main bathhouse is mixed bathing and they don't use towels to cover up (like they do at Takaragawan onsen), so if you're shy there are women bathing times in the other onsen (with rotemburo) or you can use the lady's only bath. If you onsen very late at night you can get the wonderful bathhouse all to yourself. Staff were super friendly (but didn't know much English - we know a little Japanese so not sure what to expect if you don't know any) . The room we got was facing the river and was very big. We will definitely return. If you time it well enough you can make this to be a day trip from Tokyo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 33-1-3-rpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Although it takes a little effort to get there (two buses from Gomo Kojen shinkansen station, but all part of the experience!) it is well worth it to visit Chojukan. Literally at the end of the road, this remote onsen is very atmospheric - surrounded by dense forest, with snow covered mountains in the distance and astride a beautiful rushing, bubbling river. The buildings are of rustic wood, with the original hotel having been added to in a similar style, and the accommodation is of a very high and comfortable standard, with large tatami rooms and separate sitting areas with comfortable western armchairs. There are toilets but no baths in the rooms but the hotel baths are absolutely wonderful. The old, original bath is mixed and has a feeling of antiquity and peace which makes the experience of soaking there even more pleasant. The other baths are also excellent and the sound of the nearby river rushing past adds atmosphere. The food and service are also of an extremely high standard and a stay at Chojukan is a very memorable and totally authentic Japanese experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sydneysider48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

This place was the highlight of our trip to japan. We stayed in the most expensive room cathegory and the room where large. The old indoor onsen was very nice as well as the new onsen. The location is very secluded. The food was also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minakami-machi hotels
Minakami Onsen
Matsunoi Hotel
Matsunoi Hotel
#18 of 99 in Minakami-machi
216 reviews
Minakami Onsen
Minakami Hotel Juraku
Minakami Hotel Juraku
#9 of 99 in Minakami-machi
108 reviews
Minakami Onsen
Syoubun
Syoubun
#1 of 99 in Minakami-machi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Takaragawa Onsen Osenkaku
#3 of 99 in Minakami-machi
415 reviews
Kamimoku Onsen
Kamimoku Onsen Tatsumikan
Kamimoku Onsen Tatsumikan
#4 of 99 in Minakami-machi
97 reviews
Yunokoya Onsen
Minakami Kogen Hotel 200
Minakami Kogen Hotel 200
#7 of 99 in Minakami-machi
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoshi Onsen Chojukan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoshi Onsen Chojukan

Address: 650 Nagai, Minakami-machi, Tone-gun 379-1401, Gunma Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kanto > Gunma Prefecture > Tone-gun > Minakami-machi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Minakami-machi
Price Range: £170 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoshi Onsen Chojukan 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN, Booking.com and Rakuten so you can book your Hoshi Onsen Chojukan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chojukan Hotel Minakami-Machi
Hoshi Onsen Chojukan Japan/Minakami-Machi, Gunma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing