We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveller rating
53
13
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
13
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern japanese style fish interior history tokyo bath dinner izu onsen
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Gyokuhokan has been renovated to accommodate customers who want cleanliness, modern feeling, yet preserving the history.

My wife and I are hot springs goers, and we are one of the first ones to visit new places. This place is like a hidden gem! Not so well known to foreign tourists, so we only ran into Japanese folks on the day we stayed.

Gyokuhokan is on the side of a small road leading to 135 road that leads to Shimoda if you're heading to the south or Atami if you're heading up north.

Parking is just outside the main entrance, so pick your place and park your car. There will be a person waiting for you at the entrance door. Unfortunately staff was busy attending another group just arrived before us, so we decided to walk in by ourselves, which was not an issue at all.

Once we set our first step at the door, we were nicely greeted and offered a seat in a very comfortable sofa. A moment later, a chilled set of fresh towel, tea and small welcome snack were served. I needed that after 3 hours of long driving from Tokyo.

We stayed in a room with a private bath surrounded by a small garden. A tall fence that blocks us from the large garden gave us a complete privacy.

We have also tried a private bath, which requires a reservation through front desk. Making a reservation was just a phone call away.

Dinner! Absolutely fantastic. Luckily our plan included a free toast drink, so my wife and I started off with a chilling champagne to enjoy the rest of the night. Fresh selection of food from the ocean nearby, mountains and various locations. The ryokan preserves the Japanese authenticity with contemporary tastes.

Gyokuhokan owns its own hot springs and produces large amount of hot springs per day, servicing customers and all the hot spring baths that it owns.

After a full course dinner, we had back to our room and enjoyed the hot springs in the main public bath area. Once we returned, we found a surprise with night snacks (onigiri) and cold water. Nice touch in service!

Breakfast is also good and enough food to keep you full before lunch. Fresh selection of fish, simple yet tasty preserving the ryokan style.

Will definitely visit again once we get a chance, especially during Sakura season.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We had a large Japanese style room with view into the Hotel garden. The room was newly furnished and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were high level Japanese cuisine. There are several public and private baths (available on reservation) with individual character. We didn't walk the neighborhood, but the it is famous for early cherry blossoms (February-March). Recommended!

Room tip: Garden view
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazoetarinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2016

As reflected by the numbers Japanese reviews here you can see that this hotel is yet to be discovered by lesser travelled tourists. It was a truly awesome experience yet I am hesitant to leave reviews since, well, I wish for it to be kept as a sanctuary as it is now, keeping it as an insider secret. But they do deserve to be commemorated.

We travelled from Tokyo, which takes 2 train rides and 3 hours, tickets costs around 6000 yen in total (one way). We've arranged for the hotel to pick us up from Kawazu station, and the hotel is around 5 mins drive away.

We were stunned by the giant tower that draws onsen water from the ground, it was a magnificent view on its own, with the smoke coming from the boiling onsen water, it was like you are stepping into one of the Miyazaki film.

We were greeted by Mr.Chihara, which speak an intermediate level of English. He was very attentive and made sure that we've got all the information we need.

There are 16 rooms in the hotel and the room that we stayed in was the traditional Japanese style room with full tatami flooring, therefore the room is filled with pleasant aroma. Having stayed at the tiny hotels in tokyo for a few days, this room of this style (around 8 tatami?) was such a joy to see. Our room comes with a little balcony that gave us full access to their garden.

Our package comes with an 8 course dinner and breakfast, in modern japanese style. Food tastes as amazing as they look and the waiters are ever so attentive. All the ingrediants are chosen according to the season. I order an aomori apple cider on the side and I swear its the best apple cidre I've had. They really do pay attention into the last single detail.

During my stay I learnt what is meant by Japanese Omotenashi. You're being taken care so well its beyond your own imagination. There are little suprises in every corner (for example the free drinks provided after onsen), oh and the onsen - there are 3 private onsen for rent and 2 large public baths. My skin feels great after soaking in the baths for just a few minutes.

Overall it was a great experience, I would love to go back during the Sakura/ summer season to see how the ryokan perfectly adapt itself with the 4 beautiful seasons in Japan.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hayama_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015 via mobile

I thought 30000yen per person was a bit expensive for us, but after our stay we are satisfied with a high cost performance of this place. Firstly we are surprised at the service of young staffs. The guy introduced a room keep a good distance with us, but cares for everything even for a light meal in the night. We also surprised at serving of food. They keep their eyes on each table and serve food immediately once our dish is empty. Then bring next food quickly with hot. Even in the good restaurant in Tokyo, it's rare to experience such a good food serving.
Food is amazing, fresh Japanese food, but with a contemporary tastes. It must be very expensive if we taste in Tokyo.
Rooms are also incredible. You will surprised that everything belongs you. We booked the smallest room, but with a hot spring outside, so we could just jumped in.
Also you can enjoy beautiful Japanese garden.
I stayed one night with my husband, and concluded it was our best experience ever, include our trips to all over the world.
Next time I want to bring my European friends there. This is exactly what we should proud of Japan.

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank nazumichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews