We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveller rating
53
12
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
12
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews modern japanese style fish interior history tokyo bath dinner izu onsen
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2018

Have stayed there twice at this hotel. Both of the stay were fantastic.

Room: We stayed at a villa-style room. You can enjoy your own small cosmos as this room has a private outdoor onsen bath included. The interior was a modern Japanese style with beds, though the hotel itself has a history of over 100 years.
At the 1st stay, we were raided by an ants march on a heavy rainy day to the bath area - we had a rainy at the 2nd stay but there was no problem this time - the hotel seemed to have realised the issue & placed some pesticides around the facility.

Dining: The stay included breakfast & dinner each day. Fantastic quality of food. The size was very generous (perhaps a little bit too much), so be sure to have small lunch.
One of the reasons we chose to stay at this hotel for the 2nd time is their flexibility to the food served. My wife is a vegetarian (no meat, no fish), whilst it is very hard for the Japanese cusine to avoid the both, the hotel was very kind to make bespoke dishes for her.
My only suggestion is that maybe the hotel could let the guests choose which style of breakfast to choose (i.e. Japanse or Western). As the taste & ingridents were very similar between dinner & breakfast, it turned out to be a bit repetitive after all.

Service: The staff were exceptional - very attentive & efficient, a huge asset for the property.

Others: The hotel is located in a neat small countryside, but this also means there is no much attraction around it. You may need a car to explore around Izu.

Tips: Mini-bar water, green tea & even beers are complimentary, plus the juices near the hotel onsen bath is also free to the guests. Female guests can choose a yukata (Japanese colourful summer dress) of their taste for free.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TBbuddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed in the annexe where each room has a private onsen bath. Room style is modern but with traditional elements making it feel luxurious. Private onsen bath really is amazing but note there is no view.
Food is exceptional. Again traditional kiseiki format but with a modern take on presentation and content. Dinner was superbly delivered by attentive staff.
Breakfast similarly good in a more simple style and menu.
If you want the privacy of your own private room bath, modern style of inn food and accommodation and friendly staff then this is a must stay place if you are in Izu.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Gavin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

Everything was perfect, the room, the food, the drinks, and especially the onsen.
There is the source of the onsen behind the hotel, that gushes hot water into the air, if not covered. They let it go uncovered every hour from 9:30 to 15:30 but not on Tuesdays and Fridays, which is taken up for removing scales from the riser pipe.
We managed to see it gush from the outside private bath and it was a sight to see.
The rooms have been renovated a couple years back and are very comfortable with a mixture of Japanese ryokan and a hotel. We stayed on the second floor overlooking the garden without a private bath, but with 2 luxury twin beds. The food was exquisite, having been served at a counter, with commentary made by the chief chef himself. There is also a good selection of sake and wines.
A really good place to stay, one of the best we've stayed so far. Now planning our next visit.

Room tip: o need to book rooms with their own private outdoor baths. The ones available (reservable) are very good.
Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hayato309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Gyokuhokan has been renovated to accommodate customers who want cleanliness, modern feeling, yet preserving the history.

My wife and I are hot springs goers, and we are one of the first ones to visit new places. This place is like a hidden gem! Not so well known to foreign tourists, so we only ran into Japanese folks on the day we stayed.

Gyokuhokan is on the side of a small road leading to 135 road that leads to Shimoda if you're heading to the south or Atami if you're heading up north.

Parking is just outside the main entrance, so pick your place and park your car. There will be a person waiting for you at the entrance door. Unfortunately staff was busy attending another group just arrived before us, so we decided to walk in by ourselves, which was not an issue at all.

Once we set our first step at the door, we were nicely greeted and offered a seat in a very comfortable sofa. A moment later, a chilled set of fresh towel, tea and small welcome snack were served. I needed that after 3 hours of long driving from Tokyo.

We stayed in a room with a private bath surrounded by a small garden. A tall fence that blocks us from the large garden gave us a complete privacy.

We have also tried a private bath, which requires a reservation through front desk. Making a reservation was just a phone call away.

Dinner! Absolutely fantastic. Luckily our plan included a free toast drink, so my wife and I started off with a chilling champagne to enjoy the rest of the night. Fresh selection of food from the ocean nearby, mountains and various locations. The ryokan preserves the Japanese authenticity with contemporary tastes.

Gyokuhokan owns its own hot springs and produces large amount of hot springs per day, servicing customers and all the hot spring baths that it owns.

After a full course dinner, we had back to our room and enjoyed the hot springs in the main public bath area. Once we returned, we found a surprise with night snacks (onigiri) and cold water. Nice touch in service!

Breakfast is also good and enough food to keep you full before lunch. Fresh selection of fish, simple yet tasty preserving the ryokan style.

Will definitely visit again once we get a chance, especially during Sakura season.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddybear1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

We had a large Japanese style room with view into the Hotel garden. The room was newly furnished and very comfortable. Dinner and breakfast were high level Japanese cuisine. There are several public and private baths (available on reservation) with individual character. We didn't walk the neighborhood, but the it is famous for early cherry blossoms (February-March). Recommended!

Room tip: Garden view
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazoetarinai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews