We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
25
35
11
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
35
11
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river izu peninsula fall caves base plan baths sound onsen nature
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

We visited this onsen as a family of five. First, the staff were exceptional. They gave us a sale price and gave is floaties for our kids. They explained everything for us. Also, the onsen is GORGEOUS!! It's right at the base of the large waterfall. There are many different pools to choose from. It's all absolute lovely and there are cave onsens which are super neat. I highly recommend!!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DCTravelers69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I booked this ryokan based on good reviews but quite disappointed. First, we went to outdoor onsen near the falls but theres so many flying insects (well, it's in the mountain, that's why) and we can't enjoy the place because of that. Somebody even saw a snake.
2nd, the pool is so dirty so nobody is using it. It's summer here in japan so we are looking forward to enjoy the pool near the falls. Maybe the staff should clean it.

The good side is the indoor onsen. Not crowded so i enjoy it. But aside from that, there's nothing good about this place. The food is not also special.

This is the first time i booked for my family and my japanese husband show a disappointing face.

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank dimples1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Amagiso was one of the finest ryokans we have experienced over the score of years we've been traveling to Japan. Hands down. This includes everything from posh city ryokans to village minshuku. The meals were exotic (as expected), but more importantly, the selection of hot soaking pools, including ones at the base of the adjacent waterfall, was unparalleled. If you didn't bring your own swimsuit (yes, the hot pools along the riverside and next to the waterfall require swimsuits, as both women and men use them together and they are not private baths), the ryokan will rent you one. You simply MUST take the 5 min walk to these outer pools and relax in the tranquil scenery!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kotuko33146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

The authenticity of this location is first class! The hot onsens, the oodaru waterfall, the views and the hospitality all make this place magical. The food here is again authentic which is great cause it is all part of the experience... But I would say bring some snacks as I personally feel hungry right now

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sammia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

We spent one night with five friends in this onsen early April. The location is amazing, in the middle of a mountain area, about 20 minutes by shuttle bus from Kawazu on Izu peninsula. The reception was very friendly, the lady could even explain everything in English.
The hotel rooms are a bit outdated, they could get some renovation soon.
The indoor hot bath is a bit small if the hotel is fully booked. Luckily we were the only guests that night and had plenty of space. The equipment in other onsen places is also a bit more modern and often you find more amenities.
The outdoor baths are outstanding. You sit near the waterfall in beautiful nature and you enjoy nice hot but not too hot water. The outdoor pools are 5 to 8 ,minutes away from the main building but easy to access.
The diner was very delicious, a good selection of different Japanese dishes. Draft Asahi beer, good sake and refreshing umeshu completed our night meal. The breakfast was a bit disappointing, no coffee and comparably small.
The hotel bar is closing at 9.00 p.m. which is too early. After 9.00 p.m. you can buy drinks only from the vending machine. I consider this as a bit poor standard.
All in all positive but could be better if the hotel rooms would be renovated and breakfast would offer more choices.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank michael0357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews