We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get here early” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Horyuji Temple

Horyuji Temple
Ranked #1 of 33 things to do in Ikaruga-cho
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
593 reviews
230 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 475 helpful votes
“Get here early”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We visited Horyuji Temple during our 2 night stay in Nara. It is very easy to get to. From JR Nara station take Yamatoji line to Horyuji Station (12 min). From there it is a 20 min walk with marked signs to temple. Also, there is a tourist desk at the JR Nara station where we got an excellent map.

Went first thing in the morning and it was very enjoyable.

Admission is 1000 yen per person for admission to 3 spots. We went during cherry blossom season and I took a few beautiful pictures here without it being crowded.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank PandaHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    128
    31
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Can wood really last that long? We were greeted by a Goodwill Guide as we walked in, and he spent two hours explaining all the points of interest as we wandered around the impressive buildings. The museum was also marvellous. Take a little gift to thank your guide (who is free) - we wish we had!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“a very different temple you will meet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Zen gardens and temples in Kyoto I saw were most converted from a novelty's villas and they were beautiful and cozy. This temple, which I illusioned, walking into the 6th century AD, was GRAND.

The golden building had amazing treasures and wall painting; Thank Japanese government and scholars they decided to keep these treasures where they are and let visitors view instead of within the museum windows. We are lucky that they stand there. I can see why this is a world cultural heritage. I was looking at things that were made so long time ago. It was amazing experience. And you can tell the time from the tower next to it. Thank you for letting me see the oldest thing in the world. That's how I felt.

Of course the separate museum in the second section was just awesome! It is totally worth spending some good time in this museum and the rest of the temple. I think overall, you would want to stay at least 3 hours in the temple. You will still not see all.

There was an old man outside the temple gate who told us that the entire town where the temple is located used to have over 100 temples nearby. So you can imagine a huge complex of Buddhist temples in this area. Also we were told that the temple used to be much larger than it is now. You will see there is a huge ground to cover already in the current format in the temple.

One tip is there is no decent place to eat around here, so, make sure you know where you will eat after visiting the temple.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jk109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Number One Sight in Japan for Art and Architecture”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you enjoy travel that takes you back in time and plops you in the middle of another era, the Horyu-ji is a must-see. This is the oldest major sight in Japan, the place where Japanese art and history began. Among the Horyu-ji’s attractions are the three oldest wood buildings in the world, the oldest oil paintings in the world, and many of the oldest and finest works of Japanese sculpture. And fortunately, the Horyu-ji isn’t just a dry academic exercise; it’s a fascinating place filled with strikingly beautiful art and architecture.

Warning: The Horyu-ji complex is vast, larger than you probably expect. It includes two monasteries, a sizable museum, and a nunnery. We allotted a half day to the Horyu-ji (we scheduled the Horyu-ji in the morning, the Toshodai-ji and Yakushi-ji in the afternoon). A half-day wasn’t enough, at least for us; we felt rushed. We’d like to go back and spend most of a day there.

For our visit to the Horyu-ji we were able to obtain the services of a volunteer guide from the Nara Guide Club (http://web1.kcn.jp/nara-guide-club/). Given how large and dense with meaning the temple complex is, this made a huge difference. Our guide was Seiichi Ozawa. He was excellent, and you might ask for him by name.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank LaBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Must See in Nara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

One of the best historic sites in Japan. The world's oldest existing wooden structure. Their treasures are displayed in a newly constructed gallery. It takes at least 2 hours to see everything. I took a bus from Kintetsu Nara station. Took almost an hour but the bus stops very close to the entry way to the temple. Returning bus service ends early around 4:30. I recommend to go there early enough to catch the last bus.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatambo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Horyuji Temple also viewed

Nara, Nara Prefecture
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 
Ikaruga-cho, Ikoma-gun
Nara, Nara Prefecture
 

Been to Horyuji Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing