We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful modern Ryokan in beautiful setting”
Review of Sakoya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sakoya
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Yoshino is a beautiful part of Japan and if there for sakura season in early April I highly recommend a visit. Sakoya was not a cheap hotel by any means and the most expensive we had for the trip, but it was really nice. The location was good and central although we walked from the top of the cable car with bags up the hill and I wouldn't recommend this for older people.

The staff were friendly and one even spoke excellent English as he had lived in England for a few years. It was quite big and very clean. There were public onsen but we used our own outdoor bath so not sure what they were like, but I imagine very nice. The room was huge and really nice with seat and table by the window and a place to store bags out of the main room. It was 2 storey and the bottom floor was where the bathroom was. It had a western toilet and a Japanese indoor wooden bath and shower and also our own private oudoor hot spring bath which was really nice and a fantastic expereince. It was great to have a relaxing hot bath, hop into the robes and go and have dinner.

The dinner was included and in their main restaurant area (not in-room). It was really nice, but we'd actually had better at other ryokans. The restaurant could of had more atmosphere but I guess this is why its a modern ryokan, not a traditional one. Still, we had a lovely meal that will be long remembered and a great experience.

Conclusion: Great location (Loved Yoshino's nature in Sakura season), nice and clean ryokan, big rooms, amazing outdoor private balcony hot spring, friendly staff. I would highly recommend this ryokan. The only downside would be price. It was a bit expensive, but I guess thats what the prices are during peak season in April.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Sakoya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2010

Couldn't get any accomodation in Nara in Cherry Blossom season so tried "Japanese Guesthouses' who found this Ryokan on Yoshino. The building is very old, beautiful and our room was stunning. Huge beautifully furnished (Japanese style) and with the most stunning views of the cherry blossom and mountains. The food was outstanding - meals all inclusive. Our waitress was delightful; she could not speak English but we managed with sign language and laughter. The service was wonderful. Staff have little english apart from Tsu who was very attentive. Nothing was too much trouble and he organised a very complex set of train tickets for us, even going to the station to purchase then for us.
There is both communal and private (indoor and outdoor) natural hot springs.
The accomodation was expensive as tourism has a short season in this beautiful town - but well worth the splurge. Would love to go back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherAngelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

I wanted to try a ryokan whilst in Japan but was nervous about straying from the comfort of western style hotels where I know how things operate. The trip to Yoshino took us to the very end of the train line deep into the countryside, so we were understandably releived the taxi driver knew the Sakoya (we had printed out the name and address in Japanese) when we arrived as beinng stranded was not part of the plan.
We were immediately struck by the beauty of the area, Yoshino has many world heritage listed sites of historical importance amidst the beautiful mountains. We were told that in April when the cherry blossoms bloom the entire mountain turns pink, the photos looked pretty, if we ever get to return it will be at that time of year. However as it was we had the entire town to ourselves. Walking the thin and winding roads, licking cherry blossum ice cream, looking at local wares and amazed by the temples and shrines we were passing, we were so grateful to be in a quiet shady part of Japan, having just come from Osaka we were pleased to see how different this place was from the city.
The Sakoya Ryokan made us so welcome. We paid what we initially thought was a lot for our stay, now I understand that for what we got the price was in fact very cheap. Our room was a suite, we had a powder room, bathroom, sleeping room and living room. We also had a private baclony overlooking the breathtaking mountains with a Japanese bath on it filled with water pumped from the hot springs.
The price includes breakfast and dinner each day, and this was a major highlight. I chose the western style breafast whilst hubby had the Japanese. We were both very happy and full for the day. The dinner cannot be raved about enough. We had fresh sushi, sushimi, fish from the local river, hotpot, soups, bbq beef, plum wine, sake...you name it, it was there. I don't eat fish myself and even so there was more than enough that I loved, we were never able to finish a meal. It was amazing.
The staff are so very friendly, the area was so extremely beautiful and everything was perfect. HIGHLY HIGHLY recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sannia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank junzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 山々がよく見える、眺めのよいお部屋。
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank terukoroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 眺めが良くて、露天風呂付
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kusu1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank 監督801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yoshino-cho hotels
0.7 mi away
Chikurin-in Gumpoen
Chikurin-in Gumpoen
#5 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
47 reviews
0.4 mi away
Yumoto Hounoya
Yumoto Hounoya
#8 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yukawaya
Yukawaya
#2 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ryokan Kato
Ryokan Kato
#1 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hounkan
Hounkan
#11 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
10 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ebisukan
Ebisukan
#9 of 20 in Yoshino-cho
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sakoya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sakoya

Address: 2620 Yoshinoyama, Yoshino-cho, Yoshino-gun 639-3115, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Yoshino-gun > Yoshino-cho
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels / Ryokan in Yoshino-cho
Price Range: £175 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sakoya 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Rakuten, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sakoya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sakoya Yoshino-Gun, Nara Prefecture, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing