We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Japanese”
Review of Hotel Subaru

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Subaru
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This is a high class and costly spa hotel for Japanese - i.e. not really geared for foreign tourists. But as non-Japanese, we really enjoyed our stay. The outdoor bath was a big feature - sitting in hot bath looking at beautiful mountains is a treat - trying not to think of climbing those mountains the next day! Very comfortable room in which we enjoyed chairs! Wonderful meals that just kept coming. Also we a had a great packed lunch for the next day's walk. There was very little English spoken or written around the hotel, but staff were helpful and friendly and we had no trouble with anything. Overall a good experience and for us, the highlights were spa and food!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tav_mind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Subaru
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2011

With 14 friends, making the Kumano Kodo pilgrimage, we passed an overnight in this fantastic hotel in the middle of nature to rest after a tired walking trip in the mountains around.

All was fantastic: dinner, breakfast, karaoke, rooms, open air onsen and the kind and helpfull atention of the only person english speaking at the hotel, Zia. She even went with us to start our next morning trip.

The rest of the staff were very kind,too, as all japanese people we found on the way.

It couldn't be better, only if we would have Internet conection in the room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VigoAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 小さな子供連れなら、食堂や温泉館に近い部屋を案内してくれるようです。大人の度ならう~ん・・「奥の端っこの部屋」とか要望してみてはどうですか?そこからでももろもろ不便のない距離です。
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank こたろー2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank 智美中2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 美佐 川
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank nekori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chicochin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Totsukawa-mura
Hotel Nosegawa
#1 of 1 in Nosegawa-mura
26 reviews
Ryujin Onsen
Kawayu Midoriya
Kawayu Midoriya
#2 of 47 in Tanabe
84 reviews
Yunomine Onsen
Yunomineso
Yunomineso
#5 of 47 in Tanabe
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Katsura Onsen
Hotel Nakanoshima
Hotel Nakanoshima
#1 of 23 in Nachikatsura-cho
250 reviews
Dorogawa Onsen
Koryokuen Nishisei
Koryokuen Nishisei
#4 of 15 in Tenkawa-mura
12 reviews
Kawayu Onsen
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
Kawayu Onsen Fujiya
#3 of 47 in Tanabe
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Subaru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Subaru

Address: 909-4 Hiratani, Totsukawa-mura, Yoshino-gun 637-1554, Nara Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Nara Prefecture > Yoshino-gun > Totsukawa-mura > Totsukawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels / Ryokan in Totsukawa-mura
Price Range: £120 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JAPANiCAN and Rakuten so you can book your Hotel Subaru reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Subaru Totsukawa-Mura, Japan - Nara Prefecture

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing