We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
US$158
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
51
33
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
33
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple stay your feet morning service bath dinner experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2017

My wife and I spent a night at Saizen-in recently and really enjoyed our experience. However, visitors must be prepared that accommodations at Koyasan emulate the traditional pilgrimage experience and thus things are a bit more spartan. We felt we really got an authentic monastic experience at Saizen-in. We slept on futons in a tatami room, joined morning prayers, and enjoyed vegetarian Shojin Ryori (Japanese Buddhist Cuisine). The hotel is in a great location, right across from Koyasan Danjo Garan. I also recommend signing up for the power stone bead making class with Mr. Tanaka, which is offered on Fridays.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Loved our one night stay at the Saizen-In. The travel/train rides to get here fro Kyoto were well worth it, and part of the experience. The funicular/cable car to Koyasan is memorable and fun.

Saigon-in/Koyasan is a very special place - it is a must in my book, so if you are on the fence about staying in this town just book it and you won't regret it. One night is all you need here, as you can walk through the gorgeous cemetery and see the temples/shrines easily in one day. Right across the street is the Danjo Garan Temple area, huge vermillion/orange temple that is amazing to see. There is a path from here that leads to the main town area (so you don't have to walk on the street).

The morning prayer was a highlight for me, I loved being part of it and sitting back and taking it all in. Hearing the monks chanting was a delight for my ears and brain - an amazing experience that right up there as a highlight in 2 weeks of travels in Japan.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LuccaOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Don't miss out the morning prayer ! even if it is at 6 o'clock it is totally worth it ! You can find instruction on how to properly participate at the religious ceremony in the presentation book of the temple/hotel in your room.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaylisC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 October 2017

A night in Koyasan was the highlight of our two week Japan trip. So if you are considering staying - do it!
The traditional room we stayed in was quite basic with futons on tatami mats and no bathroom facilities but it was quiet, clean and comfortable. The vegetarian evening meal was served in the room and breakfast in a shared dining room. We enjoyed a soak in the Onsen before bed and joined the morning prayer - quite an experience.
The entrance to the temple is opposite Danton Garan and the amazing temple complex. Had a walk up to the Daimon Gate and do not miss the Okunoin cemetery it was the highlight of the highlight!
For a small place everything is on a large scale and very impressive. I wish we'd stayed an extra night!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kcran2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

We had a great experience staying at Saizen-In, particularly the vegetarian dinner served in your room. Public bath was also a new & interesting experience but we timed it well so we were the only ones in there. Little miscommunication where we were asked to put our bags in reception at 8am even though we were returning to check out. Not the cheapest of accommodation but definitely a great experience!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide97369
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews