We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$210
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/10/21
Hotels.com
US$123
View deal
Free cancellation until 27/10/21
eDreamsUS$157
PricelineUS$157
Orbitz.comUS$210
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
51
33
13
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
51
33
13
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews temple stay your feet morning service bath dinner experience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2019

It's just behind the Danjo Garan, so I felt quite blissed to see Kompoh Daitouhe tower from my room. The monk served as butlers and they really took good care, serving tea and bringing the breakfast to the room, minding if the temperature of the air conditioner or not. The room, bathroom, and the bath was extremely clean. I wish they give some short explanation after the morning service but maybe missed it because I was few minutes late.
The only negative thing was the curfew is 9 p.m. so I had to rush a little bit from the bus stop after joining Okunoin Cemetry Night tour.

Room tip: I chose the NishiShoin room. Excellent view of the Danjyo Garan area.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Global715255
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 June 2019

My husband and I loved our stay at this monastery. It was beautiful, peaceful, and had the best vegetarian food we've ever had. Our room was quite large and the location was easy to get to, just behind Danjo Garan. Going to the service in the morning was also lovely. It was a great experience we would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank CoreyHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2019

Not sure what to expect we were pleasantly surprised by our one night stay here. Upstairs room more like a small suite in size with sitting area, dining alcove, large bedroom. Private toilet with hand-basin just outside in hallway.
Dinner served in room at 5.30, luckily we could eat at the dining table rather than from trays on floor. The meal had many beautifully-presented vegetarian dishes, a feast for tofu-fanciers but not so much for others!
Despite a small heater the rooms weren't warm so we retired early to futon beds which were cosy if not quite comfortable for older guests. In the morning we joined the monks for 6.30 prayers - uplifting start to the day - then communal breakfast in dining hall (see above re tofu).
I have no point of comparison for rating this kind of accommodation. Can just say that though Saizen-in was fairly basic, verging on spartan, it was comfortable and hospitable. Location was excellent right opposite the main Danjo Garan temple complex. The price was rather high but worth it for the unique experience. Would recommend, but perhaps not for all older travellers.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2018

The whole building is quite impressive, as you could wander around the corridors and small gardens. The decorations are austere but not lacking ceramics and paintings. Well placed in front of the main temple complex. Supper was an exhibition of all you can do with tofu, without forgetting a delightful presentation. If you do not like tofu, you will end up hungry.The morning devotions were a must, half an hour of two monks chantings. Futons were really spartans, try to use several of them, one upon the other. The onsen for women was clean, as the rest of the monastery/hotel. If you can pay a bit more (it is not cheap) choose the best rooms, you will enjoy works of art in your own room.

Room tip: Some rooms have works of art.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 November 2018

We stayed overnight, our first experience with Japanese futons (frankly, I prefer a raised and more cushioned bed). Our room was on the second floor, overlooking a garden (still beautiful even in November). Toilets and bathing occurs down the hall.

While I enjoyed the ample vegetarian dinner and breakfast (our guide kindly arranged for short dining chairs -- wonderful for those with bad knees), the nicest part of staying here was attending the 6:30 AM morning prayers. Two fully-robed monks chanted a popular sutra in the central, incense filled chapel. At one point, participants were invited to approach and pray. Interestingly, all who did were westerners. This was a great and unique experience.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank mvidro
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews