We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Koyasan Fudoin Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Beautiful, peaceful and a real insight into the lives of monks. Make sure you get up early for the chanting - even though you won't understand it, it is a really special experience. The food is INCREDIBLE! Oh and bring warm clothes as the mountain gets chilly.

Room Tip: Futons are surprisingly comfy! Bring warm pyjamas as you won't want to leave the heater on all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clover5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was by far our most expensive accommodation during our stay in Japan but we felt it was worth the experience. The temple is located by the shops in Koyasan and from there you could easily walk to many of the tourists sites, or get the bus from the bus stop outside the temple. It was shoes off inside the temple and we were immediately provided with slippers. The monk who served us to our room was friendly and told us what time we were to bathe, eat, and do the optional prayer. With afternoon check-in in the hotel and also afternoon bath time, this left us little time for exploring. Mind you, the shops is the village all seem to shut at 5pm anyway, so best allow yourself another day or get there in the morning. Also, the doors to the temple shut at 8:30pm, so you have to be back by then if heading out in the evening. Rooms were huge,beautiful and the facilities modern. It was very cold outside (it had been snowing) and a gas heater was provided and access to the aircon in our room. My first time in a public bath - was surprised at how hot the water was - my skin instantly turned red and was red for a long time and after ten minutes I felt light headed and had to leave. Food was lovely - many vegetarian components served in small portions. Wish we knew what everything was though! Prayer time was at 7am and a new experience for us - there was an option to light candles (with a donation) for ancestors/yourself too. We had no option but to have an early night and slept well on the futons and memory foam pillows.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huge_appetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed for 1 night at this beautiful temple in the Hanare room which was amazing. It was very large and comfortable with excellent heating as it was snowing in January 2014 when we were there which was just lovely. We were met by one of the monks who showed us to the room (and very kindly carried my case) and explained how everything would work and what times he would pick us up for dinner, the Buddhist ceremony the following morning and then for breakfast. We felt very well cared for and had a very relaxing time. As our son is vegetarian this was an especially interesting experience for him. The food was very tasty and provided us with an amazing tasting experience.The service the following morning was very peaceful and reflective. The Head Monk explained about the region and its history. We felt very privileged to be allowed to stay at the Temple. In terms of travelling there it was not difficult at all. We used the World Heritage Pass which made things easy to get around incorporating the train trip, cable car and bus trips up and down the main street of Koyasan. We were very pleased that we went there in winter time as the snow made everything just that bit more beautiful and peaceful. If you get an opportunity to visit Koyasan or the Fudoin Temple it is certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelling_Trios3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We were very much looking forward to the experience but it was very disappointing as it was impersonal and rushed.

On arrival, instead of a welcome we were greeted by "It's reservation only" and were asked for passports in the middle of taking our shoes off. On the up-side, we were let in the room 1h before the official chekc in time. During our whole stay, we were constantly rushed - from reception to room, from room to dinner, from prayer room to breakfast, etc. with no explanations given. Nothing was ever explained about the temple; nor were we ever given an opportunity to ask any questions. Same applied to the dinner: as beautiful and delicious as the dinner was, we were given no explanation about the meal and the foods we were eating.

Morning prayer: guests of the temple are allowed to attend the morning prayer. From our experience, I understand that it was not a real prayer but a prayer staged especially as a demonstration for tourists. It was interesting and we had English translation of prayers on paper but again no explanation was given and there was no opportunity to ask questions. Breakfast was beautiful and delicious but no explanation about the foods we were eating.

Room: we had a traditional room with private toilet and shower but were not able to use the shower as the bathroom temperature was around 0C. (which is a common thing for traditional hotels)

This was the most expensive accommodation during our two weeks in Japan but the experience was disappointing, impersonal and not worth the money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Our one night stay in Fudoin was the highlight of our trip to Japan. It should not be missed to stay in a temple in Koya-San. The Fudoin is really spacious and quiet. The perfect place to unwind from the hectic life and take a hot bath. It is totally worth the steep price (for those on a budget).

The food was really good and plenty. We had about 13 different dishes for dinner. If you wish to, you can order beer or sake with your food for additional cost. Of course there is also a vending machine in the temple halls for drinks. In generally we were surprised to find amenities like TV, Wifi and Aircon in a temple.

The futons were actually surprisingly comfortable.

The ceremony in the morning was really interesting and peaceful. It doesn't start super early (7AM).

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Skyla86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I stayed at Fudoin temple from Nov 2-3, 2013. First, booking a room in this monastery was a breeze as I was able to do it through the website of Kumano travel. I was able to pay in advance and thus, was freed from the stress of wondering if my reservations are confirmed or If I would have enough cash to cover the costs.

The package I got was the Shinkan breakfast and dinner which includes accommodations in a typical Japanese room with an ensuite toilet. As Fudoin is a monastery, I was actually expecting more modest accommodations. I was pleasantly surprised as my room was large, had an aircon/heater, 42 inch LCD TV, a dressing area, a yukata and hoari, and even a hair dryer! The futon was very comfortable and made for a relaxing sleep.

The food was really, really good. I wouldn't even want to qualify that it's strictly vegetarian fare as the food that was served can stand up to its meat counterparts.

Another thing I liked about the monastery is its relative seclusion. It's away from the main street which heightens the peaceful atmosphere. The monastery has little pocket gardens which lends itself to quiet reflection.

To maintain the aura of calm in the monastery, guests are individually fetched from their rooms for meals and other services. Thus, it feels like you have the place all to yourself.

Overall, Fudoin provides great value for the price, and is a gem of a place to just relax and clear your mind.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peewee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a five star ryokan maintained by the monks of the Buddhist Temple. It's new, spotless, with beautiful furnishings. Really luxury like a five star hotel. The food is strictly vegetarian but varied and tasty. The morning prayer is a mystic experience. All Koya-san is not only a very sacred and spiritual but also amazingly lovely place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iordanka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.2 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
505 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fukuchiin
Fukuchiin
#10 of 47 in Koya-cho
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ichijoin
Ichijoin
#5 of 47 in Koya-cho
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jimyoin
Jimyoin
#9 of 47 in Koya-cho
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#11 of 47 in Koya-cho
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyasan Fudoin Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyasan Fudoin Temple

Address: 456 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 47 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: £164 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koyasan Fudoin Temple 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Rakuten, Hotels.com, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Koyasan Fudoin Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing