We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 06:00 - 17:30
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (1,088)
Filter reviews
1,088 results
Traveller rating
861
197
21
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
197
21
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kobo daishi take your time buried here moss covered cedar forest beautiful cemetery old trees magical place night tour early morning take photos beautiful walk audio guide main entrance bus stop japanese history cable car
Filter
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 1,088 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

You might think that gravestones are a little depressing but that's because you have never seen shrines for major Japanese companies, rocket makers (yes, there really is a rocket shrine) and many notable historical Japanese characters.

Date of experience: November 2011
Thank Buckster21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2011

One of the most amazing places we've seen. And we were lucky enough to see the monks and hear them sing as well. Wonderful experience, like our entire stay in Koyasan.

Date of experience: September 2011
Thank Rene3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We went to Koyasan basically because of the Oku-no-in (cemetary). If you like massive green cedar trees, moss, stone statues, peaceful surrounding and cemetaries you'll love it!

We entered from the bridge (Ichi no hashi) and worked our way to the end to see the Hall of lanterns. It was quite beautiful. You could spend hours wandering around the grounds, looking at statues and admiring the beauty of nature. We went late afternoon in Feb, so there was still snow on the ground and the sun was falling and creating a beautiful dappled sunlight effect. It was very peaceful and tranquil. Some of the lanterns on the paths were starting to light up so I assume it would be a very nice place to visit early evening to see it when darker.

Date of experience: February 2011
Thank sadpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2009

The visit to the cemetery was the highlight of our visit to Koyasan. It's great to wander the cemetery, with the massive cedars and ancient,moss-covered monuments, the atmosphere really is amazing.

Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2008

The Okunoin area includes about half a million (Yes, true !)
Buddhist funeral monuments and sculptures set in a mysterious forest and amidst two beautiful temples. Wander all the way to the final temple and experience this magical place. I was
able to find and buy an informative but rare guide in English for
1000 Yen in one of the temple stalls. There are other temples
with gardens and some souvenir shops and cafes in the scattered village itself - it is reached by an impressive cable car line - the Konkubuji probably being the most important.
I think a one-day trip from Kyoto is not enough, and I think
that staying only one night in a temple - like we did - was not really sufficient to get to know this place, which must be
considered one of the most astounding attractions anywhere.
The temples and the village seem to close down from about 6 p.m . The forest had mosquitoes, so prepare for that.

Thank joenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews