We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“well maintained, but overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“well maintained, but overpriced”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We wanted to stay in a buddhist temple in Koyasan and ended up in this temple/ryokan. It was very well maintained and everything was clean and neat, but it did not feel like a temple. There was no evening prayer, and only a small morning service. We took a dinner from this hotel, which was vegetarian. It was delicious, but expensive (cheapest choice 3.100 Yen). Problem is that the hotel closes at 9 pm, so if you want to have dinner elsewhere (which is possible (!) you have to back by this time. We thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    129
    50
    19
    16
See reviews for
64
124
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, Mississippi
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My son who has lived in Japan for 5 years, arranged for my husband & me to spend the night here with him. The room was perfectly beautiful. The garden view was beautiful. We had a private bathroom as requested. The meals were authentic food served in the Temple. The staff was attentive to our every need. It was a very interesting and comfortable introduction to a totally different culture for us. I enjoyed every peaceful minute of it. The onsen was an adjustment for me but a very pleasant adventure!

Room Tip: Americans will probably be more comfortable requesting a private bathroom. The food is authentic te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Btrout51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai , india
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

stayed here for just a night and good we didnt book more than a night ! firstly because if u reach Mt Koya by say noon , you can explore the whole day till about 5pm , head to your room , relax , have dinner ( because outside the ryokan , all places shut by 6pm and just one is open till 9pm but then this sleepy town is all quiet and boring out on the streets , so you rather be inside the temple ).
Next morning post breakfast , since check out is reallllllly early --9am , you are thrown back into the street , so you can explore a bit more and then leave Mt Koya ..
Now for the bit at the temple ... perhaps its because I am from India , that i found nothing alluring about the monks .. its as commercial as the pandits in my country get ... even the chanting/prayers in the morning which many reviews talk about isnt anything fabulous .. its alright if you are headed from America/Europe where you havent experienced Buddhist/Indian chants ... but even then , its something you will love for ten mins and then your head begins to hurt !
Like the reviewer before me correctly states , everything here is "sold" and its a very commercial temple ( if it can be called that ) , its more like a ryokan with a twist ! And i dont mean this about just Fukuchi-in but about this entire Mt Koya -live in temple experience !!
we ordered their dinner ... it was great as an experience but dont count on being full because you might not enjoy the taste of everything so you might leave your dinner as is !! but even then worth ordering it , just for the kicks if it fits your budget ( it is steep ).
the onsen bit was real good ... do give your self time for the hot bath if you stay here !!

Room Tip: rooms are pretty spacious , since it doubles up as a place you sleep and then eat in ! they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Pros: traditional shukubo in Koya-san, easily reachable by bus from Koya-san station, perfect to explore the Koa-san temples. Facilities are great (big room, great onsens). Wi-Fi access is possible in the common spaces. Staff speaks good English and is friendly.

Cons: it's pricey, and although you can clearly see this is a "real" temple with "real" monks, this is still very touristic... You have to pay for everything like seeing the monks do their writing, etc.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Beautiful gardens. Actually my third visit here.Even has a coffee shop/lounge...rooms simple but food delicious. Worth upgrading to top level courses.Service very attentive and lovely outside baths.Good sleep! Foreign guests please use the slippers when walking in public areas your bare feet are impolite. Bare feet in /on tatami mat rooms only!

Room Tip: sometimes caters to large groups so baths can get crowded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roomchecker007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I would reccomend staying at this monastery to anyone visiting Koyasan, the rooms themselves are simple, with traditional matting, paper doors, and decor. My room had a view over the water garden at the back, which was a very peaceful place to sit and look out onto.

The food served at the monestary was simple, vegetarian food, which, to my western pallete was a different experience, but very delicious (particularly the the soups and tempura battered vegetables).

The morning prayers which guests are invited to sit in on are also definitly worth the early morning start.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
When we arrived (before check in, 15.00) we could store our luggage. And we went in town to look around. When we came back to check in, our luggage was already in our room!

Before we saw our room, we got a tour trew the temple by an english guide. You even have wifi! And two onsen, a beautiful garden and a prayingroom.
Our room was basic. A closet (with your own kimono), a heater, table, two pillows to sit on, tv (which we didn't use) and a tatami floor.
The staff will do anything for you of you ask. They put down are beds. A matras, pillow and thick blanket. Really comfy!

We joint a morning pray which starts at 6.00 till 7.00. You can visit it everyday. When you do the staff will enter your room and take your bed away and put your breakfast on plates in your room. You tell the time you want to eat at the staff, so they will warm up The soup and bring fresh tea and rice.
Breakfast is rice with soup, misosoup, and alot of other little dishes. All delicious and without meat, fish, eggs, milkproducts.

We really loved our stay in Koya-San at fukuchi-in. The onsen are really hot and relaxing! The staff is really nice. It's not on The main street, but really close by all the tourist attractions.

But be prepared in may it can be cold! So bring a jacket (Fukuchi-in is cold, because the sliding doors are always open). But in your room you have a heater, that The staff turns on, so it's always The right temperature!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patriesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.6 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 44 in Koya-cho
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#9 of 44 in Koya-cho
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yochiin
Yochiin
#11 of 44 in Koya-cho
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#17 of 44 in Koya-cho
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koyasan Kongo Sammaiin
Koyasan Kongo Sammaiin
#31 of 44 in Koya-cho
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jokiin
Jokiin
#19 of 44 in Koya-cho
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Property: Fukuchiin
Address: 657 Koyasan, Ito-gun, Koya-cho 648-0211 , Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 44 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Rakuten, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, JAPANiCAN, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing