We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic experience for people who search for one”
Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Getting to Koyasan is an experience for itself. After you finish your travel for getting there, u'll have a nice guide that will show you all the places you need to see at the temple. the mattress u'll sleep on is comfortable and the room is very clean.
when u order your room they will ask u if u want dinner (breakfast is already included); if you are ready for something new that u never tasted - go for it. If not- don't do it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oded T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have always wanted to experience a temple stay and this was definitely a very pleasant place to stay for one night. The room was simple and clean, and there was no problem having to share toilets. The onsens are small but nice, especially the outdoor onsen. The gardens are lovely and you definitely feel the peace and beauty of nature.
The only problem is the thin walls, and when you have 2 women in the next room who kept talking loudly non-stop and the rest of the inn is dead quiet. Ear plugs are recommended. The rest of the inn definitely smells old.

The staff are friendly and efficient, everyone spoke English and helpful when you need something. Do lock your door as they tend to walk right in after one knock on the door.

Dinner wasn't as tasty or fresh compared to what I had experienced in other Japanese inns. I chose the 4000 yen set but didn't feel it was worth the price in terms of quality of the food.

I would recommend this anyone who loves an option of a 24hr onsen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staff work area. it's a very quiet place and walls are super thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PanoramaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

While the entire Koya mountain area; respectfully referred to as "Koyasan" is full of many temples and religious sites, I found this temple most comfortable for a westerner. Behind the ancient walls are monks; real not hollywood type; who will go out of their way to assist you in whatever you wish to learn. Attending morning meditation before a marvelous vegetarian (tofu) breakfast, set the tone for each day. The peace I found here exceeded any Websters definition. If you have the opportunity, the time and the desire to learn, do come to this temple.

Room Tip: Be prepared to immerse yourself in Japanese life as it was; while having a few modern things tossed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwaichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Fukuchi-in is a traditional Buddhist temple lodging in sacred Koyasan. It's a large place. Its key feature is that it has one of the only onsen (natural hot spring bath) in town. All temples have ofuro (shared baths) but Fukuchi-in's is a hot spring with both indoor and outdoor (rotemburo) shared baths.

This is traditional temple lodging: tatami mat room with no furniture other than a low table and floor cushions, shared bathrooms, meals served in room. Compared to other places (ie Ichijo-in) in town, rooms are a bit dated and slightly worn. No wifi in rooms, although it is available in the coffee lounge.

Centrally located and easy to find. Accepts credit cards.

Unlike at other temple lodgings, there is little interaction with the monks. All interactions are with efficient but slightly brusque paid lay staff. Fukuchi-in services tour groups. There is a gift shop.

Multi- dish Buddhist meals are served in room. These comprise numerous small, delicate vegan dishes, largely made from seasonal local food. Amazing tastes and textures.

Futons are brought in and rolled out after dinner. I slept well in the quiet room, despite the thin walls.

In the morning you can join the monks for their hour of chanting. It's a great experience to be part of this ancient and living tradition.

It's not the best shukubo in town, but Fukuchi-in is very nice. Lovely rock and gravel gardens.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadboroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We wanted to stay in a buddhist temple in Koyasan and ended up in this temple/ryokan. It was very well maintained and everything was clean and neat, but it did not feel like a temple. There was no evening prayer, and only a small morning service. We took a dinner from this hotel, which was vegetarian. It was delicious, but expensive (cheapest choice 3.100 Yen). Problem is that the hotel closes at 9 pm, so if you want to have dinner elsewhere (which is possible (!) you have to back by this time. We thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My son who has lived in Japan for 5 years, arranged for my husband & me to spend the night here with him. The room was perfectly beautiful. The garden view was beautiful. We had a private bathroom as requested. The meals were authentic food served in the Temple. The staff was attentive to our every need. It was a very interesting and comfortable introduction to a totally different culture for us. I enjoyed every peaceful minute of it. The onsen was an adjustment for me but a very pleasant adventure!

Room Tip: Americans will probably be more comfortable requesting a private bathroom. The food is authentic te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Btrout51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

stayed here for just a night and good we didnt book more than a night ! firstly because if u reach Mt Koya by say noon , you can explore the whole day till about 5pm , head to your room , relax , have dinner ( because outside the ryokan , all places shut by 6pm and just one is open till 9pm but then this sleepy town is all quiet and boring out on the streets , so you rather be inside the temple ).
Next morning post breakfast , since check out is reallllllly early --9am , you are thrown back into the street , so you can explore a bit more and then leave Mt Koya ..
Now for the bit at the temple ... perhaps its because I am from India , that i found nothing alluring about the monks .. its as commercial as the pandits in my country get ... even the chanting/prayers in the morning which many reviews talk about isnt anything fabulous .. its alright if you are headed from America/Europe where you havent experienced Buddhist/Indian chants ... but even then , its something you will love for ten mins and then your head begins to hurt !
Like the reviewer before me correctly states , everything here is "sold" and its a very commercial temple ( if it can be called that ) , its more like a ryokan with a twist ! And i dont mean this about just Fukuchi-in but about this entire Mt Koya -live in temple experience !!
we ordered their dinner ... it was great as an experience but dont count on being full because you might not enjoy the taste of everything so you might leave your dinner as is !! but even then worth ordering it , just for the kicks if it fits your budget ( it is steep ).
the onsen bit was real good ... do give your self time for the hot bath if you stay here !!

Room Tip: rooms are pretty spacious , since it doubles up as a place you sleep and then eat in ! they are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nivs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.5 mi away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#40 of 47 in Koya-cho
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#11 of 47 in Koya-cho
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Henjoko-in
Henjoko-in
#16 of 47 in Koya-cho
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yochiin
Yochiin
#14 of 47 in Koya-cho
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Address: 657 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: £125 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, Rakuten, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing