We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
265 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We really loved Koyasan, such a beautiful place! Staying at the Fukuchi-in was another great experience. You stay in a real monastry! The rooms are very clean with tatami, the futons are thick and comfortable and we really slept well. Great service, they come to make your beds after diner and everything is done at the time you choose. Diner is served in the room, all dishes are vegeterian, and it's amazing how many little dishes you receive and how nice, tasty and beautiful they are. We took a lot of pictures! You can enjoy the lovely onsen, beautifull gardens and the atmosphere of the all place. Wifi is free.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    133
    52
    21
    19
See reviews for
66
132
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My overnight stay experience at Fukuchii-in is immaculate. Considering it's temple, this place is pretty equipped with indoor facilities i.e. free wifi near lounge are overlooking zen garden, shared communal bath with indoor/outdoor onsen. Please bear in mind that you will have to keep quiet when you stay in the temple premise like this one. So it doesn't best suit with big group or those who seek for entertainment activities. As for myself, i feel very relaxed and fulfilled staying in this clean and serene place where I can find spaces to enjoy reading or even watching zen gardens. After soaking yourself in a hot bath for 20 minutes, you can literally feel hungry. Unbelievably,The food here is magnificent especially the full course of veggie menu served at dinner time. You should not miss one seriously. For early birds, please try to attend the morning ritual, the prayer will start around 6 am. You can simply sit in quietly and observe the peace surrounding you. All in all, I am very impressed with this wonderful stay. Though not convenient like city hotels, this ryokan gives you the unique experience you can't find elsewhere. More importantly, don't come here with lots of expectations (people here don't communicate well in English, you may not like sleeping and dining in your own bedroom, at night you can't find anything to do but sleeping etc. etc.). Give yourself a break and you will be surprised how happy you can be doing nothing.

Room Tip: The room overlooking zen garden is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank somchartlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Getting to Koyasan is an experience for itself. After you finish your travel for getting there, u'll have a nice guide that will show you all the places you need to see at the temple. the mattress u'll sleep on is comfortable and the room is very clean.
when u order your room they will ask u if u want dinner (breakfast is already included); if you are ready for something new that u never tasted - go for it. If not- don't do it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oded T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I have always wanted to experience a temple stay and this was definitely a very pleasant place to stay for one night. The room was simple and clean, and there was no problem having to share toilets. The onsens are small but nice, especially the outdoor onsen. The gardens are lovely and you definitely feel the peace and beauty of nature.
The only problem is the thin walls, and when you have 2 women in the next room who kept talking loudly non-stop and the rest of the inn is dead quiet. Ear plugs are recommended. The rest of the inn definitely smells old.

The staff are friendly and efficient, everyone spoke English and helpful when you need something. Do lock your door as they tend to walk right in after one knock on the door.

Dinner wasn't as tasty or fresh compared to what I had experienced in other Japanese inns. I chose the 4000 yen set but didn't feel it was worth the price in terms of quality of the food.

I would recommend this anyone who loves an option of a 24hr onsen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the staff work area. it's a very quiet place and walls are super thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PanoramaHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

While the entire Koya mountain area; respectfully referred to as "Koyasan" is full of many temples and religious sites, I found this temple most comfortable for a westerner. Behind the ancient walls are monks; real not hollywood type; who will go out of their way to assist you in whatever you wish to learn. Attending morning meditation before a marvelous vegetarian (tofu) breakfast, set the tone for each day. The peace I found here exceeded any Websters definition. If you have the opportunity, the time and the desire to learn, do come to this temple.

Room Tip: Be prepared to immerse yourself in Japanese life as it was; while having a few modern things tossed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwaichang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013 via mobile

Fukuchi-in is a traditional Buddhist temple lodging in sacred Koyasan. It's a large place. Its key feature is that it has one of the only onsen (natural hot spring bath) in town. All temples have ofuro (shared baths) but Fukuchi-in's is a hot spring with both indoor and outdoor (rotemburo) shared baths.

This is traditional temple lodging: tatami mat room with no furniture other than a low table and floor cushions, shared bathrooms, meals served in room. Compared to other places (ie Ichijo-in) in town, rooms are a bit dated and slightly worn. No wifi in rooms, although it is available in the coffee lounge.

Centrally located and easy to find. Accepts credit cards.

Unlike at other temple lodgings, there is little interaction with the monks. All interactions are with efficient but slightly brusque paid lay staff. Fukuchi-in services tour groups. There is a gift shop.

Multi- dish Buddhist meals are served in room. These comprise numerous small, delicate vegan dishes, largely made from seasonal local food. Amazing tastes and textures.

Futons are brought in and rolled out after dinner. I slept well in the quiet room, despite the thin walls.

In the morning you can join the monks for their hour of chanting. It's a great experience to be part of this ancient and living tradition.

It's not the best shukubo in town, but Fukuchi-in is very nice. Lovely rock and gravel gardens.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadboroBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We wanted to stay in a buddhist temple in Koyasan and ended up in this temple/ryokan. It was very well maintained and everything was clean and neat, but it did not feel like a temple. There was no evening prayer, and only a small morning service. We took a dinner from this hotel, which was vegetarian. It was delicious, but expensive (cheapest choice 3.100 Yen). Problem is that the hotel closes at 9 pm, so if you want to have dinner elsewhere (which is possible (!) you have to back by this time. We thought it was overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaap60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.6 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 45 in Koya-cho
465 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#8 of 45 in Koya-cho
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fudoin Temple
Fudoin Temple
#3 of 45 in Koya-cho
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yochiin
Yochiin
#11 of 45 in Koya-cho
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#16 of 45 in Koya-cho
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jokiin
Jokiin
#14 of 45 in Koya-cho
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Property: Fukuchiin
Address: 657 Koyasan, Ito-gun, Koya-cho 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, JAPANiCAN, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Rakuten, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing