We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic but approachable.”
Review of Fukuchiin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fukuchiin
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is exactly as a classic Japanese inn is supposed to be. It is also a good value for the price. The bath is nice. The food is prepared well and it may not be what your used to but it's good and healthy. it's true that the hallways are cold but that makes the room all the more cozy and it's the way Japanese buildings are. None of the traditional ryokans are going to heat the inside of the whole building. It's simply not done. That's why they provide house coats. What makes this inn unique is it's approachability. Finding a traditional lodging experience like this with English speaking staff to explain the intricacies of staying at a Ryokan is rare. Go here first. Ask questions about the etiquette and culture of the ryokan stay. Ask about the food too. If you don't speak Japanese, this is a great place. Ask about the many treasures on display in the lobby and garden areas. Also attend the morning meditation. Don't forget that this is a temple. It's meant to be a simple, quality lodging house for pilgrims and spiritual travelers.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank caverbrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 127 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

The vegan meal prepared by the monks was absolutely exquisite. The grounds and the temple were gorgeous!! I attended the prayer session in the morning - I wish I understood some Japanese as I was curious what the prayers were about.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

We stayed at this onsen hotel this summer and had a great time. This place is a working monastery, where you can spend the night, eat dinner and breakfast, and take hot baths. If you want dinner, you have to reserve in advance. All the food is vegan. We opted to go out to dinner. But, be forewarned, by about 7:30, almost all the restaurants were closed. We were lucky to find a small place that was open. The Fukuchi-in does not serve any alcohol but will allow you to bring your own. There were four adults in our group. After check-in, we had tea and snacks in our room, then a bath. We then went out exploring the town and had dinner. At our return, our futons were set out in typical Japanese style. We went to the baths, then met by their beautiful, peaceful rock garden for a glass of wine and quiet conversation. After a very comfortable sleep, another bath, then the breakfast that is included. It was a delicious vegan meal with several courses. Koyasan was beautiful, spiritual, mystical. The trip into Koya was in and of itself very special. This was a true Japanese experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

It was an absolute adventure getting to this place with two small kids and it took over 7 hours for us from Tokyo involving about ten changes in transport. We arrived at this temple after 7pm pretty pooped and were actually looking forward to a beer (no vending) although we had to sit through a lengthy chat from one of the staff members which was tortuous because we were so tired. I probably wouldn't stay here again but I would definitely head to the area as it was beautiful, steeped in history and the Cemetery was amazing. Bears were apparently about so after check in we raced into town on foot to get dinner and a drink and were back well before 9pm curfew.
Highly recommend the 6am meditation in the morning and having a spa. I'm not keen on sharing toilets but if you're up for this then you'll like it. I also didn't enjoy the vegetarian breakfast and was pretty hungry by the time we checked out (which is early at 9am). You only need one night for the experience and I think they are doing their best to make sure you have a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindilu13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We really loved Koyasan, such a beautiful place! Staying at the Fukuchi-in was another great experience. You stay in a real monastry! The rooms are very clean with tatami, the futons are thick and comfortable and we really slept well. Great service, they come to make your beds after diner and everything is done at the time you choose. Diner is served in the room, all dishes are vegeterian, and it's amazing how many little dishes you receive and how nice, tasty and beautiful they are. We took a lot of pictures! You can enjoy the lovely onsen, beautifull gardens and the atmosphere of the all place. Wifi is free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pitchounette20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My overnight stay experience at Fukuchii-in is immaculate. Considering it's temple, this place is pretty equipped with indoor facilities i.e. free wifi near lounge are overlooking zen garden, shared communal bath with indoor/outdoor onsen. Please bear in mind that you will have to keep quiet when you stay in the temple premise like this one. So it doesn't best suit with big group or those who seek for entertainment activities. As for myself, i feel very relaxed and fulfilled staying in this clean and serene place where I can find spaces to enjoy reading or even watching zen gardens. After soaking yourself in a hot bath for 20 minutes, you can literally feel hungry. Unbelievably,The food here is magnificent especially the full course of veggie menu served at dinner time. You should not miss one seriously. For early birds, please try to attend the morning ritual, the prayer will start around 6 am. You can simply sit in quietly and observe the peace surrounding you. All in all, I am very impressed with this wonderful stay. Though not convenient like city hotels, this ryokan gives you the unique experience you can't find elsewhere. More importantly, don't come here with lots of expectations (people here don't communicate well in English, you may not like sleeping and dining in your own bedroom, at night you can't find anything to do but sleeping etc. etc.). Give yourself a break and you will be surprised how happy you can be doing nothing.

Room Tip: The room overlooking zen garden is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank somchartlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Getting to Koyasan is an experience for itself. After you finish your travel for getting there, u'll have a nice guide that will show you all the places you need to see at the temple. the mattress u'll sleep on is comfortable and the room is very clean.
when u order your room they will ask u if u want dinner (breakfast is already included); if you are ready for something new that u never tasted - go for it. If not- don't do it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oded T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koya-cho hotels
0.6 mi away
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
Ekoin Temple, Koyasan
#1 of 47 in Koya-cho
505 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saizen-in
Saizen-in
#6 of 47 in Koya-cho
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sekishoin
Sekishoin
#42 of 47 in Koya-cho
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sojiin
Sojiin
#11 of 47 in Koya-cho
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jimyoin
Jimyoin
#10 of 47 in Koya-cho
108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koyasan Fudoin Temple
Koyasan Fudoin Temple
#3 of 47 in Koya-cho
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fukuchiin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fukuchiin

Address: 657 Koyasan, Koya-cho, Ito-gun 648-0211, Wakayama Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Wakayama Prefecture > Ito-gun > Koya-cho
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 Speciality lodging in Koya-cho
Price Range: £122 - £279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fukuchiin 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Fukuchiin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyasan Onsen Fukuchi-In Hotel Koya-Cho

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing