We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A joyful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Takefue

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minamioguni-machi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Takefue
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A joyful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

A modern but yet traditional 'Onsen' villa. A 3-Michelin star equivalent in the natural hot spring resort industry. Enjoy the tranquillity of the area, the Japanese' hospitality and their attention to detail of everything. But be minded there's no chunky burger and chips, only traditional Japanese breakfast and Kaiseki dinner is served in the resort. Even if you're not too fancy with raw seafood, you'll definitely appreciate the food presentation-it's just an art for your eye to see.

Takefue has just set the bar to a completely different level.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    26
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
92
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This place is stunningly beautiful! It was better than I expected. A traditional ryokan, it is the total experience. Forget about all the 5 star international chains. From the time you enter this gorgeous Japanese ryokan, you are met with over whelming hospitality. This property has 11 villas and 7 of them have their own indoor and outdoor hotsprings. After checking in at the reception, we were invited to choose a yakuta to wear during our stay. We had a choice of two different snack boxes when checking in. One was high calorie and one was low. I picked the one with low calorie. We even brought the empty snack box back home. Suzuki was our room attendant. She was superp. She escorted us to our villa, Bijo-an. It had two private onsen baths, one indoor and one outdoor. The outdoor hot spring bath was a beautiful rock pool with beautiful view over the surrounding bamboo forest. It was unbelievable. Our meals were brought to our room, beautifully presented in a large irori (traditional sunken hearth). They began the kaiseki dinner (many small courses) by heating up the irori in the middle of our private living room. The food was delicious.

Takefue’s certainly provided us with a memorable experience of a lifetime. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pandy2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

Takefue onsen ryokan is truly a magical place. It's a natural hot springs resort in the middle of a bambo grove. Far from everything and very peaceful. If you do find the strength to venture outside the property, there are some beautiful country walks to take.

We were a group of 4 people and shared a villa together -- the only way for us to afford the luxury of the resort (it is rather expensive, but worth every yen). First we stayed in the Shien-an villa for one night -- highlights: both the outdoor and indoor baths are fantastic. Then we moved to the Sayo villa for two nights. The Sayo villa is Takefue's top villa, and for good reasons: it is absolutely stunning (its most striking feature being its outdoor bath&terrace right by the bambo forest).

Our package included breakfast and dinner (served in the villa), which is something i strongly recommend for the meals in Takefue are an experience not be missed.

I'd also recommend trying some of the public baths. You can book any bath for 45 mins. We tried a different one each night, picking the last slot of the evening. There are quite a few so If you only have time for one, go for the Chikurin No Yu open-air bath.

Sidenote: we stayed in Takefue end of Oct when the foliage changes colour: the days were sunny and warm, the evenings/nights were cool (the perfect time for a hot bath in the open air).

(very) Hot springs + bamboo grove + food porn + Suzuki, our wonderful room attendant + tranquility + Japanese countryside

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sami_aknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

I had best in the best vacation at Takefue...again. I travel around the world but this place is my favorite place in the whole world!! Room, bath, food and spa... And gorgeous colored leaves cannot explain by words. I stayed two night at Sayo and I really had great time. Hotel staff cannot speak fluent English but they communicate with dictionary and body language. I didn't have any communication problem during stay. Their hospitality is better than four star hotel! In the future, I want to come back here to experience the beauty of each season. I can imagine how beautiful to see the snow fall down from open air bath... Simply the best. I will work hard to come back here with my family again. I miss Takefue already.

Room Tip: They have only 11 room. Im sure its depend how you feel but I liked Sayo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

Takefue is simply amazing and breathtaking. A cozy place with bamboo surrounding the ryokan. Probably the best stay ever. If budget is not an issue and you visit Kurokawan Onsen, this is a top choice. We stayed 2 nights: one in the Sayo suite and the other Takekiri suite. Sayo suite is simply astonishing, with an indoor and an outdoor onsen looking out to the bamboo trees. Food is very good as well, we had kaiseki the first night and nabe the second dinner, both are excellent. And not to forget the service: while English is hardly spoken there, Kuni-san, who spoke English, was assigned to take care of us. And he is the most friendly and helpful person, and take good care of all our needs. We would love to return to this place again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank OneCentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

My experience at Takefue was outstanding. We stayed three night there and that was heavenly comfortable. Located just pass the Shirakawa Onsen town but once we step in the property, we were surrounded by bamboo. In keeping with Japanese tradition of gracious hospitality and timeless elegance plus substantial guest amenities. We chose traditional Japanese Tatami style bed type but western style toilet(we cannot use Japanese style toilet...). Food was so amazing we had all three meal there on our second day. I loved Shiatsu & facial massage too. We feel peaceful and relaxable, just stay in the room or walk around the property. My husband and I visited Japan several times but this resort lodge style hotel was nothing to compare. My teenager daughter enjoyed private hot spring day and night. We loved everything about Takefue! We will definitely go back there again!!

Room Tip: You can choose western style bedding type or Japanese tatami style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank michelle p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here for 2 night, experiencing 2 of their room.
We arrived when it was raining, and the hotel had a taxi wait for us in the station.
The bamboo grove in the rain is amazing. Generally everything in this place is amazing...
seriously attentive to the small details, exceptional service, great food (they accommodate vegetarians).
and their Rotemburos are unbelievable. ask for the waterbed when booking the large one :)

Room Tip: I would change a room each night, as they are very different from each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MeniH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minamioguni-machi hotels
Kurokawa Onsen
Ryokan Sanga
Ryokan Sanga
#2 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamamizuki
Yamamizuki
#4 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Yamashinobu
Yamashinobu
#3 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kurokawa Onsen
Oyado Noshiyu
Oyado Noshiyu
#5 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Kurokawa Onsen
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
Kurokawa Onsen Okunoyu
#12 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Ryokan Wakaba
#7 of 51 in Minamioguni-machi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takefue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takefue

Property: Takefue
Address: 5725-1 Manganji, Aso-gun, Minamioguni-machi 869-2402, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamioguni-machi > Kurokawa Onsen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels / Ryokan in Minamioguni-machi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Takefue Japan/Kumamoto Prefecture - Aso-Gun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing