We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cute domes!”
Review of Aso Farm Land

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aso Farm Land
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really cute domes!”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I love how the rooms come in the form of domes - really really cute! An interesting experience to stay in one and having to mind your head as you walk towards the walls. Although the room is pretty small esp the toilet, it has all the basic facilities. There is also a huge playground, which kids are bound to love. Not to mention the numerous types of health spas. The only downside is the sucky food. there is an international buffet, which serves the same food at all meals. quality of food is poor, even for the Japanese food.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Holidaylove1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    102
    70
    21
    17
See reviews for
140
44
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We all love Aso Farm Village (resort)!
First we were attracted by the dome-shape rooms. They are so cute and lovely!
The room is ok. We would prefer to have 2 twins bed but they require us to have 1 more bed for our daughter. So the room looks a bit smaller. (the room size would be the same no matter how many bed there are!). A pity that the window on the roof was not clean for our room. We can't really see anything from there at night. The design and deco inside the room is pretty too. The bed is comfortable.
Thanks god that our room is very closed to the main area. we needn't take the shuttle to go back to our room. We can foresee it might be hard to pull the suitcase on the rocky road.

Our package included free hot spring. My husband loves it very much. he said his skin problem was solved after using the hot spring. My daughter and I also tried it on the women area.
But they can't offer us more dry towels. My husband said there are not enough staffs to run such a big resort.

The location is not as hard as imagined. We drove to the parking area of the hotel users. Then we need to take lift, cross 2 tunnels to arrive the lobby. Easy to find the way even it might take some time to reach.

the playground area is perfect for my daughter. We have discount while we stayed in the hotel. indeed I guess children can play there for a whole day! For adults, it might be quite tired. hehe. My husband and daughter also tried the sliding by paying 300 yen. They think it worth! There were no other people so the coach taught them in full patience. We can see there are still new construction for the big playground. It must be even more fun later!

The food is not as bad as the comment before. well, my husband guess the buffet dinner might not be very special so we chose the BBQ one. It was very fine and in a big portion. We were all full after the dinner (free!) The breakfast is ok even I will not say it is very delicious.

We wish the shops and activities won't close at 5pm. It is too early! The check-in time is 4pm and it means you can't do much on the arrival day.

The fresh fruits in the shops are great. We tried tomatoes, orange and yuzu. yummy!

The weather was perfect and we could see many stars outside.

With such price including breakfast, dinner, hot spring in a great environment, we are very pleased and satisfied! My daughter looks forward to stay there again already.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed here because our children wanted to sleep in an igloo. The village is attached to a large farm shop which sells lots of local produce. There is also a wide range of activities for children including a huge adventure playground which was incredible fun. There is also a huge onsen spa with at least 20 different pools and rooms to enjoy.

There are choices for evening dining in the village which vary in quality. Breakfast is served buffet style and is terrible.

The summit of the Aso volcano is just a 15 minute drive away.

We noticed other hotels nearby, so check your options before booking to stay here. It is, however, worth a visit for the day if you have children.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lvetravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2013

I spend Chinese New Year with my family in the beautiful island of Kyushu in Japan. One entire day we stay at Aso Farm Village. It is great for kids and the visit to Mount Aso volcano a must. But be aware that in the resort itself, rooms are very basic and food and beverage are horrible. My worst experience ever in Japan. They also have several spas but all of them crowded, so a bath experience there is not a pleasure at all

Room Tip: No need to pay for the more expensive rooms. All of them are very basic and poorly furnished and equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Manuel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Minamiaso-mura hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Guri, South Korea
Level 6 Contributor
1,743 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 377 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

CYC(2007)+G
We have stay at a hotel with same style, but there is different. There is more like a alien planet at night time. Dome-shaped bungalow looks like Teletubbies house. we have satisfied with different feeling, good onsen and funny view. There is more good for children, I think.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HanJuyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Best feature of this resort at the foot of Mt Aso is the onsen. I think they boast more than 16 baths and quite a number are rotemburo. They even have a wine bath and a tea bath! You could spend hours hopping from bath to bath. They even have a frigidarium! However, the onsen is quite crowded so don't expect a zen experience. Aso Farm Village seemed to be largely patronised by large tour groups of Korean visitors so you can expect the baths to be raucous and noisy, quite different from a typical ryokan onsen experience.

The 'rooms' are actually tiny cute individual houses shaped like mushroom domes. Interior decor is dated but the rooms are unique and clean and they provide a comfortable night's stay. Only drawback is that the resort is so big and hilly, it is quite a walk from your little room to anywhere else in the complex. You also had to walk quite a distance from the carpark to the reception.

The whole place is big and seemed rather higgledy-piggledy put together with grocery stores, organic food marts, spas, play areas, education zones etc all put together in one large sprawling place. In terms of external space planning and architecture, there isn't really any sense of elegance or style - its all large and functional. Seems like you need more than a day to really use all the facilities there. Families would like this, especially the play area but note that separate entry charges apply and you would need a bit of Japanese to understand how to use it. Overall, the resort seemed more like a comfortable well-used family camp than a posh spa. There are nice touches though - at night, the resort's main walkways are prettily lit with thousands of fairy lights which always draws sighs of wonder from children and couples alike.

From the resort, its an easy drive up to Mt Aso's caldera. This makes it convenient to use a base for exploring the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The dome-shaped Aso Farm Village resort was fun! Very interesting. Paid about $230 for three of us which included entrance to the main onsen area, sauna, dinner, and breakfast. It's located near Mt. Aso (active volcano). We arrived at the parking area and were so confused. We couldn't find the Front Desk to check in. We asked the security/gate guard and told us that we had to go through a tunnel to get to the other side of the street which is the main resort area. It was about 0.5 miles of walking til we got to the Front Desk. Easy to roll the luggage so no complaints. We checked in and got our room key (old-style lock key) along with coupons for the onsen and the meals, and a map of the resort. The distance from the room and the onsen & restaurants were a bit far, especially b/c it was cold. The resort has shuttle service (show your key to the driver) but still have to wait outside, so we decided to walk. The resort area is so cute!!!! It's like being on a Smurf town =) As for dinner, there were 3 different types available that night: Around-the-world buffet (international food), traditional Japanese, and a barbeque. We chose Around-the-world buffet. There were lots of selection but average quality, complimentary drinks but pay for alcohol and mix drinks. We didn't take advantage of onsen that night as we were full, and was close to closing time. But shower in the room feels like showering with onsen water. We went to the onsen the next morning around 6:30AM. There were a lot of people. The onsen had pretty much everything from lockers, hygiene items, towels, hair dryer...etc. It has inside bathhouse and outside onsen with variety of types to include wine onsen and peppermint onsen. Inside of bathhouse, there are 3 wooden individual tubs - be careful, it's deeper than you think. Was there for an hour, and got ready and headed for breakfast. The breakfast was just ok. Something to fill the tummy. The check-out time is 10AM which felt rushed to get out. It supposed to be relaxing =( But overall experience was good and fun!

Room Tip: Try to get closer to the Registration area which is near everything else, especially in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chungola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minamiaso-mura
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Plaza Hotel
Aso Plaza Hotel
#3 of 29 in Aso
77 reviews
Hotel Greenpia Minami Aso
#3 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Asouchinomaki Onsen
Aso Villa Park Hotel & Spa Resort
Arden Hotel Aso
#5 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
78 reviews
Shikino Mori
#9 of 18 in Minamiaso-mura
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aso Farm Land? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aso Farm Land

Property: Aso Farm Land
Address: 5579-3 Kawayo, Aso-gun, Minamiaso-mura 869-1404, Kumamoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kyushu-Okinawa > Kumamoto Prefecture > Aso-gun > Minamiaso-mura > Tochinoki Onsen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Minamiaso-mura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Aso Farm Land 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Rakuten, JAPANiCAN, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aso Farm Land reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aso Farm Village Hotel Minamiaso-Mura
Aso Farm Land Kumamoto Prefecture/Aso-Gun, Japan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing