We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hana Ryokan Iwatoya
Nearby Hotels
Solest Takachiho Hotel(Takachiho-cho)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ryokan 
Shinsen(Takachiho-cho)
US$721
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Ryokan 
Hijiri Saketen(Takachiho-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ryokan 
Kamigakure(Takachiho-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Shikimi(Takachiho-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Imakuni Ryokan(Takachiho-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Ryokan 
Yamazato(Takachiho-cho)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Business Hotel Kanaya(Takachiho-cho)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Ryokan 
Ryokan Yamatoya(Takachiho-cho)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
11
16
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
16
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishnigiritakachiho shrinethe buscontextvegetableswifiladytoiletfloordancepickmealsgorge
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2012

It would be unfair to compare this ryokan to its counterparts in big cities (yufuin/kurokawa) so in that context this is a good ryokan in small town Takachiho. We booked via japanican (prepaid). Location is some six miles from the city, the inside building is clean and it has ofuro (communal bath for women and men each). Food is home made and good, probably ten courses. Small bus was provided to bring us to watch kagura dance and back to ryokan. The only 'complain', breakfast choices are too early, either 7 or 7.30 and dinner are either 6 or 6.30, which is too early too for us. The lady in the house send us away with onigiri, very thoughtful. Looking back, I probably prefer to stay closer to town, but the ryokan itself is a special little gem in remote Takachiho.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank simpangratis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

The Hana Ryokan Iwatoya (booked through Japanican website) is a lovely Japanese inn. By outward appearance it is very modest - and easy to miss. But inside it is very tastefully and beautifully furnished. The food was excellent - a true feast featuring beef dishes in addition to the traditional fish/seafood. It features private in room baths, but we ended up enjoying the "public" bath which is bigger and very charming and were too "hot-tubbed out" to use the private bath. One note, in the ryokans you sleep on the floor and the traditional Japanese pillow was a sack of "seeds". So, be sure to ask for a western pillow - although the best that you might get is a pillow which has regular pillow stuffing on one side and seeds on the other side.
Getting to Takachiho by public transit might be very difficult since you need to get there by a very winding and narrow road. We rented a car, so GPS is critical. (Have the rental car company show you how to program in the destination)
At Takachiho, we rowed boated the "gorge" - its small and only takes 30 minutes, but is beautiful. We drove around Takachiho and visited the small shrines, too.

Room Tip: See review for details.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

My family of 3 stayed here for one night in Sep 2011. Our primary reason to visit Takachiho was to see the gorge and the Yokagura dance. After splurging for a ryokan at Kurokawa onsen for two nights, we were looking for a more affordable accommodation at Takachiho.

This ryokan is located about 8 kms or 4.5 miles from Takachiho town center. Having pre-programmed the ryokan in our rental car's GPS, it was not a problem finding the ryokan.

Property is located close to one of the main attractions in Takachiho, the Amano-Iwato Jinja (shrine) is only minutes away by foot or car. At night, it offers a free shuttle service for guests to see the Yokagura dance at Takachiho Shrine.

Breakfast and dinner at the property were both good, with local and regional vegetables, trouts, and meats.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelbug96825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2008

This ryokan surprises you from the moment you enter the door as the outside looks pretty dreary. The receptionist carried our bags upstairs to a well laid out tatami-mat bedroom with adjoining bathroom; the bath had been filled with hot water from the local springs in case we wanted a quick dip on arrival.

Evening meal was served in our room, with a succession of appetizing local dishes accompanied by descriptions (in Japanese) of every item, provided by the waitress. After the meal we went to a local Kagura performance, followed by a dip in a public onsen, before returning to the ryokan where hot drinks awaited us. The ryokan had provided a bus to take all the guests wanting to go to the performance and onsen.

When we got up to our rooms the futons had been laid out for us, and the room had been tidied up after our gastronomic meal.

We had a good breakfast in a communal dining room with the other guests, and were well looked after by the large number of friendly staff. Then, to prepare us for a day's sightseeing, we were presented with freshly prepared rice cakes wrapped in bamboo leaves.

The area around Takachiho-cho is well worth visiting as is this small relatively unspoilt small town. However, as this is rural Japan, you need to have at least a rudimentary knowledge of Japanese to really benefit.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheDovecot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue sur la montagne
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews