We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
new plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed in Unit 11 up on the hill for $130 a night..was wonderful had great views of the beach. Main bedroom has a double bed and second bedroom had 2 bunks. Bathroom and kitchen had large fridge with frezzer about it. Microwave, cutlery etc and two burner hob. Dining table and couch to view TV. Everything you needed and outside on the balcony a two person hardwood love seat ! Priceless.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesignerLas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Went 4 new years camping trip with friends, however there was a severe weather warning 4 the time we were due to stay. They were so accommodating. We had booked for 4 nights, but due to the weather we were unsure if we would stay 4 the whole time.
They allowed us 2 just take it day by day and in the end we did stay all 4 nights.
Tent sites were a good size and the facilities were clean, decent showers!
I wouldnt hesitate to return.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letty001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2011

The staff were very understanding, friendly and helpful during our stay there.
We would love to visit again next year with more people as we had a great time!
The facilities were clean and closeby to our unit and a kitchen filled with all the essentials, and we almost didn't need our blankets as the weather was perfect~
We didn't experience any problems that couldn't be fixed. It was definitely a worthwhile visit for sightseeing around the Taranaki region.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We camped here for one night. It's set on Oakura Beachfront and gives you amazing views of the Tasman including the Sugar Loaf Islands. There was ample spaces when we stayed and got our choice spot; non-powered beachfront site, giving us unspoiled views. The staff, who stay across the road we're very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunately I can't be as positive about the facilitates; the toilets were disgusting, complete with a mound of dead flys which you don't even get at a DOC campsite. The state of the toilets of course got worse and were not cleaned in the morning. We decided not to risk the showers, based on the state of the toilets! The kitchen was fine, quite basic but everything you needed and had a nice BBQ area outside.
For the price we expected better facilitates like we've gotten at other sites, however it seems that you are just paying for the location. Cannot offer any advice on cabins.
It's not that we wouldn't recommended it; just know what you are paying for....the views and location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibnamee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBHP, Owner at Oakura Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Most of our feedback is positive especially with regard to the cleanliness so I find it hard to believe that you found our facilities disgusting. Is it possible that you only used the public toilets which are also on camp and not our main facilities which are a completely separate building? The public toilets are completely open with lights on all night which obviously attracts a lot of insects overnight and especially at that time of year. From our records we can see that you checked in on the 19th November at 6.25pm and checked out at 11am the following day. Our regular cleaner was definitely in on the 20th at 10am so there is no reason why you should not have seen her although the public toilets would have been her last port of call. We would really appreciate another visit from you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 May 2011

I was recommended Oakura beach holiday park from friends and also the organisers of a local Kayak Fishing comp .

The Staff are very friendly and helpful and i was impressed with the facilities. I stayed in a tent for the weekend and found the camp to be very pleasant , clean and peaceful.
next time i will bring the family with me .

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wellytubbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2011

The ensuite unit No. 12 was very clean and well-equipped. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. The park grounds and emenities are immaculate. Location right on the beach with fabulous view of ocean.
Lovely attention to decor thoughout unit.

Only problem:
Our frying pan handle came apart.

Suggestion:
More kitchen utensils needed, such as:
Measuring cups/spoons
Mixing bowls
Storage containers
Small frying pan
Steak/utility knives
Mixing spoon/serving pcs

Room Tip: Ask for self-contained ensuite unit high sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfmassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2010

Stayed here for almost a month in 2002 and when we returned eight years later I was extremely pleasantly surprised. Location, views and surroundings where still as spectacular as I remembered but the campsite had made a huge improvement. The whole site had been renovated and the staff where all very friendly and helpful. The cabin we rented was right on the beach and felt really fresh and clean.

Oakura is a charming village close to several great surf spots up & down the coast and you can get decent surf right outside your cabin. Oakura beach is a perfect place for recreation and family fun, a few nights here brings peace in your mind!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Taranaki Region
9.2 mi away
One Burgess Hill
One Burgess Hill
#5 of 30 in New Plymouth
283 reviews
8.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
304 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
#4 of 16 in New Plymouth
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
#1 of 16 in New Plymouth
158 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakura Beach Motel
Oakura Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Oakura
24 reviews
284.8 mi away
Crab Cove
Crab Cove
#523 of 1,292 in North Island
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakura Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakura Beach Holiday Park

Property: Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Address: 2 Jans Terrace | Oakura, 4314, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Taranaki Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakura Beach Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15kms west of New Plymouth. Our park is right on Oakura Beach with all of our Units and most of our sites having sea views. Oakura Beach is popular for swimming, surfing and windsurfing. The village has several excellent art and craft boutiques, cafe's, restaurants and a bar.Pets are welcome from February through until November - Some of our Units are Pet friendly as well.We have an small activity each day for the children at the park through the month of January.A shuttle bus runs from Oakura to the New Plymouth town Monday - Friday and Airport Transport can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Oakura Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakura Beach Holiday Park New Zealand/Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing