We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We have just completed our second stay at Oakura Beach Holiday Park, and it again was an awesome place to stay. This time we were in a self-contained cabin and it was really well set up, with microwave/convection oven, toaster, gas hob, and all the cutlery, crockery and utensils you would normally need. The holiday park has it all - fantastic location, great facilities and friendly service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    15
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
31
45
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a great weekend at this park. Stayed in a self contained unit. Had totally all the luxuries there that one have at home. Our unit was the only one not totally on the beach but access to the beach was easy with a lovely walkway. The place was very clean. Would recommend it to everybody.

Room Tip: Book early if you want a seaside apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123456travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saarbrucken, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stayed for a few days here and i love it. Im travelling around and this is the most beautiful Holiday Park ive seen yet. Perfect view on the beach and sea and everyday a awesome sunset.

The staff is very kind and showers and toilets are in a very good condition and really clean!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dashetti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

By far the most beautiful location for a holiday park in NZ. Right on the beach set up for colorful sunsets and peaceful sunrises. The woman in reception is very kind and was easy to book with. The kitchen was clean, the bathrooms were alright. Overall a great place to pitch a tent!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Heatherhousekn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Getting to New Plymouth late, we were expecting a hard time trying to find a campground but when Jan answered the phone, her friendly 'nothing too much trouble' attitude assured us. On arrival Alan confirmed the helpful friendly attitude, giving us a quieter, sheltered spot & advice on local interests. Their staff were the same - excellent! We stayed an extra night camping and would have stayed longer but we wanted to avoid wet weather as we were tenting it.
Being fastidious when it comes to clean amenities, Mel has nothing but praise for the efforts of the staff, and ranks it as the best found in our North Island travels.
Highly recommend eating on the lawn outside the holiday park when Holy Guacamole turn up. After coffee? The local '4Square' supermarket has surprisingly good coffee that even the locals recommend!
Thanks Jan, Al & staff - we look forward to returning (and making it to the top of Taranaki next time)!

Room Tip: Camping back from the beach is more protected in westerlies and quieter with less traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-Sitreps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Clean and tidy and right on a lovely beach. We stayed 4 nights (had not stayed before) as we were attending a wedding nearby. We also had friends staying here. They were also pleased with the accommodation. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Coast
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was a perfect place for our quick, last minute visit to Taranaki. It was everything it claimed to be- clean, handy, friendly, right on the beach. Lots of happy campers, lots of cheerful bike riding kids. We were amazed at how it went from being quite buzzy and sociable at 10:00pm to absolutely silent at 10:30! We stayed in a cabin which was very small and basic, but immaculate. The camp sites were very small and it was a real "cheek to jowl" set up, but no one seemed to mind. If this is the sort of "camping" experience your family is after - right on beach, clean and convenient facilities, well run - then you will be very happy.

Room Tip: Some of the cabins have great views and are a bit more private than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tematabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Taranaki Region hotels
8.1 mi away
King and Queen Hotel Suites
King and Queen Hotel Suites
#1 of 30 in New Plymouth
308 reviews
6.4 mi away
Stony River Hotel
Stony River Hotel
#1 of 1 in Okato
135 reviews
9.8 mi away
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
Fitzroy Beach Holiday Park
#4 of 16 in New Plymouth
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
Ahu Ahu Beach Villas
#1 of 16 in New Plymouth
160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oakura Beach Motel
Oakura Beach Motel
#1 of 1 in Oakura
24 reviews
7.4 mi away
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
Belt Road Seaside Holiday Park
#3 of 16 in New Plymouth
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oakura Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakura Beach Holiday Park

Property: Oakura Beach Holiday Park
Address: 2 Jans Terrace | Oakura, 4314, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Taranaki Region
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Speciality Lodging in Taranaki Region
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oakura Beach Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 15kms west of New Plymouth. Our park is right on Oakura Beach with all of our Units and most of our sites having sea views. Oakura Beach is popular for swimming, surfing and windsurfing. The village has several excellent art and craft boutiques, cafe's, restaurants and a bar.Pets are welcome from February through until November - Some of our Units are Pet friendly as well.We have an small activity each day for the children at the park through the month of January.A shuttle bus runs from Oakura to the New Plymouth town Monday - Friday and Airport Transport can be arranged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakura Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakura Beach Holiday Park New Zealand/Taranaki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing