We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Older property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Yatsugatake Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Hokuto
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Older property”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Spent one night here, kaiseki dinner nothing very special, hotel older, needs some up-dating, especially the Bell Staff's uniforms which are very shabby-looking. First onsen experience, enjoyed this as onsen empty late in the evening and early in the morning. Requested non-smoking room but got smoking room. 2 other options we were shown weren't workable but we aired out the room quite well opening all the windows. Room was certainly cold after that!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amigadelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    107
    44
    11
    6
See reviews for
139
36
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Stayed one night here. This hotel was really busy during the time we checked in, I suppose it was peak period in spring. They catered to alot of tour groups from Indonesia, Taiwan etc. We had kaiseki dinner in the hall, food was alright though abit bland. Breakfast was really very crowded so service was abit slow. They had a wide spread of food selection from Japanese to western. It was good we really enjoyed it.

We loved the Japanese style room we stayed in. It was huge. It has a genkan with wooden floors where you can remove your shoes, it's also more than spacious enough for your big luggages. Do avoid dragging your luggages (especially those with wheels) onto the tatami to prevent from scratching it. The bathroom was a typical unit bath though, it doesn't matter as the onsen was the main point we came here. The futons were extremely comfortable.

Would be great to avoid peak period. The lifts and breakfast area can get pretty congested when there are many big groups.

Room Tip: Get the Japanese style rooms for the ryokan experience and better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pipiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel is comfortable. There isn't a wow factor about the hotel and the bathroom is the "unit bath" as what Japanese call it. There was a picture of the bathroom posted. But I would recommend you using the indoor "public" bath and they have the onsen outdoors. Felt great to soak in there for a bit after a long day of sightseeing. The room is a little bigger than average Japanese hotels. Very, very reasonable price including breakfast buffet. The kids were free except we had to pay half price for their breakfast. My childrens' ages are 6 and 3. On the roof, there is a small dome. During the day, if it isn't hazy, you'll have a beautiful view of the mountains and Mt. Fuji. You'll have great view of the stars and could look into the telescope if the weather permits. When we went, it rained at night so weren't able to enjoy that. So, I got to relax in the onsen longer instead. The sightseeing spots are pretty much within the vicinity. We could have stayed in another hotel right in the middle of everything, but couldn't beat this hotel's price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank commanderwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Nothing to rate highly. They need to change the name and drop the royal. Just a motel. Beds are a little more than a foot off the floor and back breaking. Bathroom is extremely small. You will need to back in to use. Fixtures are three different colors. Definitely pass this one by.

Room Tip: Just a motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbunti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2010

This hotel offers a simple, a bit of frills and a very comfortable stay. The onsen (温泉) aka hot spring there was available both in door & outdoor. It was a delightful break in for the hotel guests after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hokuto
3.5 mi away
Kiyosato Kogen Hotel
Kiyosato Kogen Hotel
#3 of 28 in Hokuto
88 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hoshino Resorts RISONARE Yatsugatake
2.5 mi away
Old Age
Old Age
#18 of 28 in Hokuto
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Yatsugatake Grace Hotel
Yatsugatake Grace Hotel
#1 of 4 in Minamimaki-mura
39 reviews
5.3 mi away
Yatsugatake Hotel Fuka
Yatsugatake Hotel Fuka
#4 of 28 in Hokuto
73 reviews
2.6 mi away
Neo Oriental Resort Yatsugatake Kogen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yatsugatake Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yatsugatake Royal Hotel

Property: Yatsugatake Royal Hotel
Address: 8240-1039 Oizumicho Nishiide, Hokuto 409-1501 , Yamanashi Prefecture
Region: Japan > Chubu > Yamanashi Prefecture > Hokuto
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 Hotels / Ryokan in Hokuto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Yatsugatake Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, JAPANiCAN, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Rakuten, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yatsugatake Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yatsugatake Royal Hotel Japan/Hokuto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing