We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, caring and personable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, caring and personable.”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Small and comfortable with amenities. Javier and Rebecca were super friendly and helpful. The personalized touch letter, in the room by the owner was very welcoming...have to say that is very classy! And most importantly, that salmon! OMG best I've ever had!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R6C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    486
    308
    86
    24
    44
See reviews for
204
365
106
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
213 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We've stayed only one night in this hotel, as we arrived in Costa Rica at 7.30 pm. It is located in a quiet neighbourhood, not much to do around, but not far away from the airport and for about $20 they provide transportation to there.
Front desk staff is very attentive and the gentleman there gave us all the information we asked for and even some advice about travelling in Costa Rica. The hotel is new, very clean with a nice decoration.
Our room had enough space, a smart-tv, good wi-fi network and a good bathroom. They give attention to the details, as you can see in their amenities and all the decoration.
Breakfast is good and well-balanced, they provide a menu and then you can choose from the options.
We didn't use the pool, but it looked nice.
I was sorry we could not stay more days in this hotel, but we had to depart early the next morning, but we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ana_teresa_simoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We went to Costa Rica for the first time and were kinda cautious as this was an international travel. We decided to take a night halt in San Jose and then proceed to our next hop the next day. The hotel is very well kept. Its clean with all the required amenities, AC, safe, iron, mini refrigerator. The staff here is very helpful and polite. The breakfast was very good. The location of the hotel is also very good. There is a 24 hr gas station at the next block. The Lindora area where all the good restaurants are located is about a 10 min drive from the hotel. The hotel charges you a $100 deposit at the time of check-in. We paid it in cash and got it back at the time our check-out. Its easier that way. All in all, its a very good place to stay after you arrive in San Jose.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0b3Tr3kk3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our last hotel on a week long, three hotel stay in Costa Rica and it was wonderful. After Jaco beach and Arenal, this boutique sweet spot, with its plush beds and renovated amenities was more than welcome. Not to mention the price, at $35/night was outstanding.

We are not the type of vacationers that book a hotel to spend time in the room, but again, after a week hiking, horseback riding, beach and hot springs going, this was a welcome retreat to enjoy a beautiful view with a glass of wine, on our porch (room 27) in the evening with nothing in mind but Pura Vida.

Yes, they are under construction. According to their front desk staff, the third level expansion is set to be done in a month, with an additional wing coming some time next year. But in the mean time, the construction ends early (5pm, and you should be out exploring anyway!), it is close to SO many restaurants, and the pool is great.

BIG plus- we woke up early while we were there and there was not coffee yet. We asked if they would mind brewing for us, and they gave us our own machine for the room. I'm sure that is not standard practice, but the accommodation was very nice. AND they were available for room service on additional bottles of wine WELL in to the night.
Other plus- Free wifi, smart TV's (including Netflix), free int'l calling, iron and safe.

Only down side (beside construction, for the time being)- The guy with the pony tail (didn't catch a name) at the front desk, could not seem to be bothered. While waiting for the gate to open every time, we had to detour around to the front door, in the car, to get his attention. Even after buzzing!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Room 27, top floor on the end, was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I stayed at Hotel Luisiana for a short over-night stay and found the hotel to
provide all services I needed. The room was well equipped with AC.safe, iron
and board, good bed and a huge bathroom. The only criticism is that the
entrance and lobby could use a spruce up...especially notable is the lack
of a garden around the pool area...a few trees could certainly enhance the
appearance. But all in all, the price is excellent for the product.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Judi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederikshavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Slept there for one night. It was a nice room with big tv/computer screen. Every thing was fine except that it smelled very bad in the room. Be aware of the price for water - it's very expensive, so remember to buy some before check in.
The staff were very friendly and helpsome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This place was great! Had smart tv's, wifi, free international calling! the beds were clean and same were the washrooms. It is out of San Jose though, so there might have been extra costs to get there.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ackasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
522 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#28 of 85 in San Jose
279 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
542 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#7 of 85 in San Jose
920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing