We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Off the Beaten Path”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Value Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent five nights at the Hotel Luisiana in December, 2013 and was very happy with my stay. The hotel is situated in a residential area with the nearest restaurant and bar about 500 metres away (El Rancho de Laly, which I have reviewed in TripAdvisor also). There is a small dining area in the hotel that seats 24 guests. The menu is mostly Italian with a couple of faux Japanese dishes thrown in for variety. It's open for breakfast and dinner. Between those times, you can order something from the front desk if you don't feel like walking to the eateries outside the hotel. Let's face it, you're not going to stay at this hotel because of the food.

A little further walking distance (close to a kilometre), you'll find a strip mall with two restaurants that have been rated well in TripAdvisor, Lo Spago and Bufalo. I didn't have a chance to try them because my hotel booking included dinner each evening.

My room was quite spacious with a king size bed and large bathroom that included a full shower and separate tiled tub plus his and hers sinks. Flat panel TV with mostly Spanish language stations coupled with free local and international calls round out the value proposition.

The lobby is what you'd expect in a North American motel. Nothing fancy but functional. There is a large outdoor swimming pool but I didn't bother to try it. It's not heated and the weather was mostly on the cool side during my stay in San Jose.

One improvement would be to post signs on the balconies asking guests to be quiet after 9 p.m. Some guests thought it was okay to party on the balconies until quite late.

For a stay of more than two days, I would definitely stay here again. Shorter than that, I would stay at a hotel that's a bit closer to the action or the airport.

Room Tip: Book ahead to get early bird discounts. I booked months in advance through Expedia.ca and got a terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scubadoo_YYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    309
    88
    25
    45
See reviews for
206
368
107
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guanacste
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Easy access from the highway and access to the malls, shopping and doctors without having to go into San Jose proper. Very nice staff and spacious rooms. Would like coffee pots in the rooms, but available in the reception area. Choose other than Standard rooms.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank CRCowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
dear customer
thanks for your feed back
we are glad you like hotel luisiana
you are right , standard rooms is better for only one night
for stay more night is better kitchen suite ( only 10$ more) or deluxe 2 queen ( only 5$ more )
than a regular standard room
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We had a nice stay at Luisiana. Very noisy at night with loud music and in the morning with construction. The place was clean modern and beautiful. The water in the shower could be warmer. Also, there is no real cream for the coffee, Non-dairy creamer is rat poison.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siutico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
dear customer
was the neighbour construccion , but now is finish!
so sorry for that
coffe cream are in the lobby , are free same as coffe ............
feel free to take your coffe every time you want 24 h
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have stayed here three or four times. We make it our beginning and ending point for our Cost Rican trips the last two years. Great location as Sant Ana hs many fine restaurants and about 25 minutes from the airport. Hotel is clean well maintained and has AC and a pool.

Room Tip: The lower level rooms 1 thru 4 are little noisy due to passing foot traffic. But not horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank donbuc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 25 December 2013
thank you for you feed back
we are glad to host you every time you came back to santa ana - san jose !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuevo Arenal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My third time staying there and my husband's first. He was very happy and will be a repeat customer. His only complaint was the "security deposit"- we think they need to take a swipe of a credit card and hold it until the room is inspected- not run it through and/or use cash. That seems to be standard in the industry and no hold ups at check out or penalty for using a CC. Also the breakfast is over priced.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank ChispitaNuevoArenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
hi chispita
sorry for your bad sensation about the 100$ deposit , but is possible make the deposit in credit or debit card or simple in CASH and when you check out , you have immediately your 100$
so sorry for that , but hotel Luisiana is a small boutique hotel with goggle tv , expensive control , expensive amenities and lines , and the 99% of the customer are perfect customer ................the other 1% is not so perfect .............we need to protect the business for stay with this expensive amenities at our low cost ..........under 60$ for a day a room , 2 people , free parking , free internet , free international call , free coffe 24H ....and more and more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2013

My husband and I live 4 hours outside of San Jose ans stay hotel Lousiana each time we visit the city and have always been very pleased with our stay, however this time was different. There was massive construction going on to the building so trucks blocked security gates, there was never coffee in the morning and the front staff desk was less than friendly. The price has almost doubled and is certainly not worth it, we will not be staying here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KelseyLovesTheOcean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
dear kelsey , so sorry for your sensation of hotel luisiana , i never see your feedback in the past when you stay well....
so sorry for the truck , was the neighbor construction , and now is finish .
coffee is fresh and free 24 h , is rare that you don't found , probably was because we make fresh every hour .........price are little be more expensive because we are in hight season , but not passing 60$ ....i think is a good deal for a hotel with 4 stars , free coffe , free wi-fi , free international call , big stone pool.
hope you came back to hotel luisiana in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We've been staying at Hotel Luisiana for about three years. It always is our first choice when we need a place to stay in the San Jose area -- we've been there twice since November 1 and I've just made another reservation for this weekend. It's always clean, it's always comfortable and it's generally very quiet and pleasant. Our experience of the free coffee in the lobby is that it is always fresh and tasty. We've eaten breakfast and dinner there and found them both satisfactory and appropriately priced. Sure, we'd like bigger, better and more towels, but for the price, jeez, who can reasonably complain that one doesn't get luxurious towels? I'm always amazed by the occasional complaints I read about this hotel in the reviews here -- they don't comport with our experience at all. It's true that sometimes the front desk staff is too busy to give us immediate attention, but over time we've learned that if one smiles and has a little bit of patience, they return kindness with kindness. We've paid more than twice this price for lower quality hotels in the US. It's not the Hilton, it's not a W; but we sleep as soundly and are treated as nicely as we've ever been at either of those brand name luxury hotels for which we might pay four times the price.

Room Tip: In November we stayed in a "kitchen suite" that is in an older part of the hotel. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
thank you so much
a lot of work , a lot of year , but hotel luisiana still the best bargains hotel en san jose area
we fight for stay down with the price , with so so much confort and plus !
free international call , free wi fi , free secure parking inside , stone pool , free coffe 24H , 320 lines bed , kitchen suite , simmons mattress , ......and more and more ......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing