We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with great price”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with great price”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Beautiful clean hotel with a gorgeous pool ( although water was a little too cold). The only draw back was the construction that is on going and the location is a bit seperated. The staff is very pleasant and helpful and rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ckelly0401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    309
    88
    25
    45
See reviews for
206
368
107
100
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

Nice room. The front desk staff were friendly and accommodating . We had to leave early for the airport so didn't have time for breakfast. The pool was right outside our door. A sign at the corneryou turn left would have been
helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Had a great first day stay in Costa Rica at the Hotel Luisiana. It is where we will be spending our last night's stay there as well. The room is modern and well furnished and immaculately clean. The free calls to the US are a definite bonus!!! Now having other good times in Costa Rica!!!
A. John Titus

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ajeeb T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
thanks john
your feedback are very important for us
we try to make our best for all the client !
your words are very welcome !
hotel luisiana with full speed wifi free connection and free international call is the perfect place where relaxing near san jose but in a huge and quite place !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadow Vista, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This was our 1st hotel to stay in after flying into Costa Rica. We felt interrogated upon arrival at the hotel. We had previously had a reservation for 10 nites and then changed to 2 nights. Fortunetely we printed our cancellation confirmation because if we hadn't had that with us the guys at the front desk were insistent we didn't cancel "in time". We definetely had. I asked 3 different staff members what the cancellation policy was and got 3 different answers. Also got 3 different stories about the $100 mandatory deposit. Didn't feel good about our check in and that stuck with us. On a positive note, the beds and bedding were OUTSTANDING. Really comfortable and staff member Randall was above and beyond FANTASTICO, Can't say enough about this man, he booked several tours for us and friends and they were all PERFECT. He was personal, helpful and extremely knowledable out Costa Rica. He is a GEM!! Having Coffee in the lobby anytime was a nice thing and it was pretty good too!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
dear gina
i'm so sorry what happens with your reservation ,was a expedia system error
and we take the error from our side , so sorry anothe time
the important is that we fix the reservation and we fix your vacation
this is the most important thing
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tamarindo
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Luisiana many times over the years and we like it. The new pool is great. Netflix in the room. Good prices. Free coffee all day long. Breakfast is very decent. Great value for your money. We like the location, easy to access off highway 27 from the pacific beaches. Good restaurants in the area. Rancho de Laly for beer and bocas. Taco Bar for breakfast. Andiamo La is a great restaurant for a splurge as is Doris Metropolitan.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smartcasual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
thanks for your reply dear customer
hotel luisiana is situated near 27 highway , the perfect position for go anywhere in costa rica
full free speed internet wifi and free international call is the perfect way for stay in toch with your family when your are in vacation !
free coffe 24 h is for your relax in our pool !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I booked my father and brother at this hotel for one night, so they could meet me the next day down in Santa Teresa. When my brother had a problem with his passport (mutilated!) in the middle of the night and my 70 year old father (who speaks NO Spanish & can hardly hear me speaking English) was suddenly alone in a foreign country (I was five hours away in Brasilito, impossible without a car to get there at that time & a private taxi would have cost more than the ticket) the staff at this hotel was more helpful than the US State Department. They waited late at the airport while my brother was dealing with immigration, escorted my father the next day to the airport (and before then helped make sure he had all of his things from his room) and circled for an hour looking for me outside (while I waited an hour inside...until I finally found a spot where my Skype calls could connect). They made sure he had breakfast and showed him to the pool (but he never went in...what's that saying about the horse and the water?)and they made a terrifying experience much easier on everyone involved.

Room Tip: Hard to pick. My advice? Come back and try a few different rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Got in late to San Jose, so we wanted a place close to the airport that didn't' cost a fortune. Hotel Luisiana was recommended by the rental agent and it was an excellent recommendation. I wouldn't have a clue how to find this place if it weren't in my GPS, but with the Nav Sat (www.navsat.com) Garmin loaded it was a piece of cake.

Hotel is very secure with large clean rooms. Front desk help was very attentive and helpful getting us to our rooms and briefing us on everything we would need to know. Pool on property, but since it's in the mountains and cold at night, my kids didn't even give it a try. It looked very nice and clean.

Would have been a 5 Star review except for the breakfast. Three small orders of bacon, three scrambled eggs, two bowls of fruit, two cappuccinos, three small cereal boxes and a coffee was $60! So a light breakfast for three people was $20/person. I've paid this for a buffet at a 5 Star resort in Bahrain, but that was an all you could eat buffet where they made crepes and omlettes to order and, well, it was a 5 Star resort with unbelievably excellent food.

In summary, for the price (about $50/room), you won't find a better place in all San Jose close to the airport. I would stay here again in a heartbeat and would recommend the Hotel Luisiana to anyone. Just wouldn't recommend eating breakfast here...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 75guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
dear 75 guy
first of all thanks for your feedback
hotel luisiana is the perfect place where relaxing at only 50$
breakfast cost 10$ a person if you buy in the morning and 10$ for 2 people if you buy before
i think was a mistake for the price of breakfast
please fell free to came back and we adjust the bill
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hostel Casa Colon
Hostel Casa Colon
#26 of 84 in San Jose
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#8 of 84 in San Jose
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing