We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To and From the Airport”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Selected as we were meeting up in Costa Rica over 2 different days. Wanted to spend it close to the airport so our travel day was less and on our return flight due to early flights. We needed a hotel that would accommodate 3 ladies comfortably and was affordable. It was very close to the airport (about 30 min.) but in rush hour it is much longer. It was a very spacious well equipped modern room that was clean and had everything you could need. The pool was a bit cool but at least there was one to allow you to refresh yourself while sunning. The staff was very efficient, friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay better. The last night we stayed there we were picked up by their wonderful taxi driver Yuri in our resort in Hermosa as we arranged when he dropped us off previously. What a great asset to our stay. Transportation was arranged for all our travels and then to the airport. We arrived and our room was not ready for an hour so we were invited to take it into their dining room and eat at a table on their dishes, they cut up our bread and offered a cutting board and knife for our cheese as well. This is exceptional service. I wish I could remember all the staff that were so helpful but one I do remember was Alex who went that extra mile.

Room Tip: The ones on the upper floor have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,008)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by the owner of Taco Bar. At $43 on the internet, it was an excellent deal! The room was very, very spacious. The shower was filled with hot water, which is not a given in Costa Rica. And the parking is very secure. A great neighborhood and a very beautiful courtyard and pool (which was too cold to swim in) and we'd say it was one of the best buys in our Costa Rican experience.

Room Tip: Do they have a spa and a fitness center? We didn't see it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank garyschoenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

It's a great place to stay. Nice room, great bed, great price. It does have some minor issues, like customer service from staff is not ideal, and the kitchen staff wasn't very helpful (or pleasant for that matter at 6:30am).
But it was a good stay in general.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank wsfm77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Small cozy hotel 20-30min from San Jose downtown. Simple, not luxury but very clean. Nice place to set base to travel around. Not much things close by, need taxi or bus to move around. A staff member named Ronald provides excellent customer service.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruno H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our room and the reception area were quite nice and the pool looked inviting. The restaurant needs attention. Although the reheated pasta tasted fine, it could have had less time in the microwave. The service at breakfast was slow, slow, slow - for a airport and business hotel needs to do better. The bread at dinner and breakfast suitable for feeding bird!

Room Tip: Eat before you get to hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cara k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Truly enjoyed my five night stay. Yuri was right there to pick me up at the airport and we shared good conversation on both shuttle trips, to and from. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. I was glad to have an efficiency where I could prepare a few meals as well. It is a very close walk to shops and restaurants, as well as to public transportation. They arranged a fun day tour to Isla Tortuga for me as well. Dinner and breakfasts were delicious and well presented. I loved having the seating on the large veranda, out of the sun and in the breeze. It was the perfect spot to visit with my friends who live locally.

Room Tip: The second floor on the end, room 5, was large and comfortable with a great view and nice outdoor se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Located outside the busy streets of San Jose, a short cab drive from the airport $25, is Hotel Luisiana. Quaint, well landscaped, with views of the hillside and excellent service.

If you are fortunate to be on the upper floors however, BEWARE, mid landing step is deceiving and dangerous in the evening. I fell once, then saw another guest trip and almost fall as well.

Otherwise staff friendly, helpful, and courteous.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GeorgeIH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
599 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
5.2 mi away
Hotel Brillasol Airport
Hotel Brillasol Airport
#10 of 27 in Alajuela
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: £31 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing