We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel !”
Review of Hotel Luisiana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Luisiana
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Malpais
1 review
“My favorite hotel !”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My fourth time staying here. I love it. The pool, the rooms ,the price ,and the people all add up to a great stay at a great price !! I also love the food in the restaurant or in the room.The first place I will try to reserve every trip to San Jose !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chaspla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    506
    317
    91
    26
    51
See reviews for
217
379
111
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family and I were recently at Luisiana Hotel for our second time. We had been a couple weeks ago and decided to come back 'cause it's has nice andwell accomodated rooms.
We live far away from Santa Ana and like to spend some time in a nice, quiet, easy to go neighbor when we go to San Jose. And thats what we have found when we go there. People from the reception, kitchen and every one around made a nice staying.
We certanly will come back and recommend you to visit this place.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel Luisiana, in Santa Ana, Costa Rica, is located just outside of the noisy capital city. It is a relaxing spot. Their rooms are well equipped. There is some noise from the upper floors, so it would be best to choose a room upstairs. Also, there is a $100 deposit that has to be made at the time of your check-in. They will give those back after the stay, that is, of course, if you don't break anything. There is a TV set with Internet access and you can also ask for the Wi-Fi password. In general, it was a great place with a low price. Good combination.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are less noisy. At the bottom you hear footsteps all night long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
thank you so much for your feedback
we appreciate so much
40 inch internet flat lcd tv brand sony is for your fun !
home you came back in the future
100$ deposit is back when you checked out immediatly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Honestly it felt like a top rate European hotel in the middle of San Jose. I arranged to be picked up at the airport and our driver was there with a comfortable car to deliver us to our well - appointed and super stylish room. They assisted us with our luggage and being that we missed dinner hours, recommended a fantastic local cafe down the street. I liked that there was a tasty and affordable bottle of wine with glasses and a wine key in the room. Everything was clean and impressive and I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clavillazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ivansala, Owner at Hotel Luisiana, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
thank you so much for your feedback
our receptionist work for your wishes!
hope you came back and enjoy more hotel luisiana with his huge and particularly style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Passaic, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Overall, our stay at Luisiana was pleasant. The rooms are clean, the beds extremely comfortable, our shower was huge, the hotel is adorable and the room was easy to get to. Please keep that in mind when reading the following.

However, no prices were listed for the minibar/fridge items, we were charged at the end-and only then did we know how much we spent. Only the prices for the wine/corkscrew were given.
Also, our air conditioner freaked out several times during our stay. It worked, true, but it would sometimes start screeching and crackling very loudly. Some of the hotel staff came to "fix" it, but did not help. Very, very noisy. And there was construction going on while we were there as well.

That's it for the negatives.

Hotel Luisiana isn't really in the center of everything-mostly because CR is structured very different than America/etc. It takes a long time to get anywhere, and most places are rural-ish and small. Fortunately, there's a bus stop around the corner from the hotel which will take you to the Multiplaza (read: big fancy mall, air conditioning) for 500 colones per person. It's really convenient, and the bus also stops at the WalMart in Escazu if you're interested. There's a couple small stores walking distance from the hotel if you really don't want to go anywhere or just need basic items. Most tour companies will pick you up from the hotel.

So, location is pretty convenient. And beautiful. Hello, beautiful. You're on a mountain in a tropical paradise. So yeah, it's pretty.

The pool is good and hardly ever has people in it, so it makes for an enjoyable morning swim.

Also, the staff at Luisiana are kind, polite, and friendly. They recognize you, they joke with you, they go out of their way for you. Lovely, lovely staff. I can't stress that enough. Customer service can really make a difference at a hotel, and Luisiana has it down.


Overall our stay was calm, comfortable, and relaxing. Once the construction is over, it'll be even better. Despite some small issues, the great rooms and wonderful staff made our experience memorable. I might even come back. Who knows.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliza R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ojochal, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We have stayed at Hotel Louisiana on several occasions. It is fairly close to the airport and downtown San Jose which makes it convenient for us as we have a home on the South Pacific Coast and travel back to the states several times a year. The rooms are large, beds are comfy and have flat screen tvs, internet and mini fridge. Many ammenities you won't find for the price. There is a restaurant on site which serves breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is good but dinner was just "okay" and a bit pricey. Unless you have a car there are not many options for dining close by. There has been construction noise the last 2 times we were there....but it was over by late afternoon, so not a problem for us. Staff is pleasant and helpful. We will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The cheapest rooms are on the third floor....no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Susanne295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

The first time we are in Costa Rica, so we was kinda nervous but the staffs here are very nice and friendly. They all willing to answer any your questions and help you for anything that they can to please you during the time to stay here.

If We would come back here next time, we would love to stay here for sure. Nice and clean and the price is very great, even too much better then another hotel we stayed in Manuel Antonio

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.4 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
567 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
334 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
4.0 mi away
Adventure Inn
Adventure Inn
#2 of 78 in San Jose
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Luisiana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luisiana

Property: Hotel Luisiana
Address: Santa Ana 2090, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Luisiana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly Hotel in Santa Ana (San Jose) with a Italian restaurant Airport nearby. Close to the airport (5 miles), this Hotel is also near Multiplaza megaMall. 2 km from business district area (forum) and 1 km from the new highway S. Jose-Jaco beach, 6 miles from San Jose. Hotel Luisiana provides a Italian and Japanese restaurant, complimentary wireless Internet access 10 mega, Free international and national call, free parking and 24-hour room service, 24H Free coffee and Thea. Guestrooms open to balconies with city, mountain or courtyard views and feature beds with pillowtop mattresses and led televisions with premium cable channels (100 channel). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Luisiana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luisiana Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Luisiana Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing