We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tasty Italian food”
Review of Lo Spago

Lo Spago
Ranked #15 of 107 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good tasty Italian food”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 via mobile

Staying nearby as part of a tour and a large group of us (16) decided to go out for a meal together. Our first choice restaurant couldn't accommodate us (we hadn't booked in advance) as they were fully booked but Lo Spago made us very welcome. Service was friendly, the food was excellent and very good value.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank penguinbairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    12
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
“Not Clean”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

There was a hair in my plate of pasta and my husband killed a cockroach ON THE TABLE with his water glass!!! Then they proceeded to charge us for the plate of pasta that they replaced because of the hair. It was disgusting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maripili A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Italian where least expected”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

For our last night in Costa Rica, we wanted something tasty and filling that would not break the bank (what little bank was left after seven days). We passed on Andiamo'La and decided on this little gem.

Sure there was a little hesitation after finding them located in a strip, but that all disappeared after looking over the menu and not being able to decide on a dish because it all sounded delicious.

We started with a 1/2 liter of their house red along with the Proscuitto w/Parmesan, Caprese Salad and greens salad with cucumber. They were all delicious, and presented in a traditional way. What really stood out, as an avid 'Caprese' enthusiast, was the fact that it came with an entire ball of Buffalo Mozzerella. The Prosciutto was also generously portioned.

After our decadent first course, we ordered another 1/2 liter and the 'Ferrari' personal pizza. We may have gone too far with the prosciutto and Parmesan in this dinner, but it was all so yummy, filling yet very light. We could taste the freshness of the tomato sauce.

We finished with espresso and got our bill, which ended up at $80.

We had a beautiful and leisurely meal, with very delightful service staff (one server plus support staff for the entire restaurant was impressive and they were all very attentive to EVERY table).

The only critique, lower the lights a bit for added ambiance.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SharkoAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“neighborhood trattoria”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

It would be nice if this were just down the block, and not in a strip mall in the next town,but thats life Its a simple place,no tablecloths,paper napkins,no atmosphere..just very good food at reasonable prices.Five of us had warm starters, and we ordered different pastas,all of which were excellent.we will return to try the meats. Drinkable red wine at C.12000 for a liter or C.2000 per glass,so one doesnt have to break the bank to have some wine with dinner/ desserts were enjoyed by all. Pleasant staff,very good fresh food,good prices.Half of clientele were having pizzas, and locals say they are superior to other places.Id say its one of the best values in the Central Valley for Italian food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ted033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had pasta, pizza and salad between 2 of us and it was all excellent. The restaurant has a nice feel and is reasonably priced.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank snowybennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo Spago also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Lo Spago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing