We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel to stay for one or two nights when you arrive in san Jose from abroad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
laren netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel to stay for one or two nights when you arrive in san Jose from abroad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

We liked the friendly people and the cosyness of this small hotel. Everything is well maintained and there is a small garden. The neighbourhood is quiet and the beds are good so you can sleep like a baby

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you had a good rest in our rooms and it has been his satisfaction in the service provided by our staff.

We look forward to serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
34
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cortez Costa Rica
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just outside San Jose in fashionable Santa Ana, perfrctly comfortable rooms,spotlessly clean with wonderful staff and dog friendly! Our favorite place to stay when we come into town. All levels of restaurants within a short drive.

Room Tip: All Good. Nothing to avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Art P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we are pleased that we are your perfect choice when it comes to San José and we are pleased that can come with your dog too, hope to see you and your wife very soon again in our hotel.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

We had to make a trip into San Jose and discovered this hotel. Very lovely -modern, clean, friendly staff and pretty grounds. Very convenient to highway yet set back in a quit residential neighborhood. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bellagirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you like our hotel and facilities and services offered, we look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

I really enjoyed my stay in Los Candiles. Everything was great - quietness of room, black out blinds, air conditioning, kitchenette, really friendly staff and eggs cooked to order for breakfast along with other traditional dishes. Thanks to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments, we are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us and that you enjoyed the room and facilities offered at the hotel.

Forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Santa Ana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

A great hotel which ticked all our boxes for cleanliness, comfort, budget and intimacy. All staff and and fellow guests we met were very friendly and we felt very well looked after and safe. Nothing was too much trouble for the reception staff. The junior suite we stayed on was incredibly spacious and comfortable with every mod con allowing us to cook and feed ourselves and a fantasic sized bathroom. It was a little further to the airport than expected ($25/$28 in a taxi) but with the room prices as they are I'd certainly recommend this as a great place to stay if just passing through San Jose. Santa Ana itself seemed very nice from our brief wanderings but make sure you have the address/directions/phone number as being a newly developing area tour companies and taxis can have trouble locating the hotel itself!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Dear Guest,

First thank you for taking the time to express your opinion about your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed your room and the service provided by our staff.

Thanks again for choosing us during your visit to Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peotone
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

First time back in Costa Rica in forty years. Loved the hotel's quiet room, nice breakfast area and quality staff. Bi-lingual staff made communication easier. Good security and friendly people make this a great place off the fast and furious streets of traffic. Close to good food stores and Rt. 27 make it easy to come and go throughout the country.

Room Tip: If driving ensure locked parking area with night supervision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MICHAEL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Front Office Manager at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guest,

We are pleased that you chose us after forty years of his last visit to Costa Rica and that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and services, we look forward to serving you in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Los Candiles offers comfortable, spacious, well-appointed rooms with all the amenities (free WiFi) also needed for the business guest at an excellent rate. The tropical setting is very peaceful and quiet with only the birds to wake you with their singing. The people are very kind, knowledgable and helpful from the front desk staff to the delightful ladies who cook made-to-order breakfasts on the outdoor garden patio. It is now the only place I stay when coming to work in Santa Ana. I would like one day to have them plan some outing for me to the beautiful countryside!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank swmullins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Dear Guest
We are pleased that you enjoy our rooms, the environment surrounding the hotel and of service is offered by our staff.
We would love to arrange a visit to some beautiful place in our country. Our front desk staff can give you all the necessary information.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.5 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Property: Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Address: From Mas Por Menos, 350m. East, 25m. South, 250m, East, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishings. The hotel has 16 rooms in 3 different styles: Standard Room, Junior Suite, and Family Suite, all equipped with air conditioning and private bathroom. In addition to being perfectly located in a quiet and safe area, the Hotel Villa Los Candiles is very close to the main business centers, hospitals and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing