We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best quality - best price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose Metro, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best quality - best price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place , great price. Its really close to some of the best restaurants in San José. I often stay there with my fiance and we feel like in our second home. I strongly recomended , you should go judge it yourself!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanpjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion about their stays with us, we are pleased that our hotel is like a second home for you and your fiancee and you can enjoy the variety of good restaurants nearby, hope to serve you again soon.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    28
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
34
9
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Accomodations are top drawer, quite and extremely professional, attentive and friendly staff. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast is Costa Rican style and is prepared fresh daily. Security is excellent and there is adequate parking.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 4Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion about your stay with us, we are glad that you enjoy the service and facilities and their stay with us, we look forward to serving you again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Quiet and serene, this boutique Inn is just what you need after a hectic trip around San Jose. Located in Santa Ana just a few miles from the airport, the inn boast lovely landscaping, spacious suites, and a very nice Breakfast in the cabana by the plunge pool. The other great amenity is the town is full of great eating establishments. The staff isvery helpfull as well.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the back units overlooking the pool. truly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hobowillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to give us your comments We appreciate knowing that your satisfaction was our facilities and the Junior Suite also offered breakfast next to the pool and the service of our staff.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to serve you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laren netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Costa Rican hotel with nice people, very friendly! Safe and quiet neighbourhood. Nice beds and everything clean and cosy. Breakfast is very good costa rican style. Small swimming pool for children. Everything is wel maintained.

Room Tip: some rooms are connected which is nice for families rooms in the back are more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank iranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate knowing that was your satisfaction our facilities and rooms also offered breakfast beside the pool.

Thanks for your opinion these are what make us make things better every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portimao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We needed a place near San José and were happy that it was Los Candiles!! Nice hotel and lovely people. Only 20 minutes from the airport and nice restaurants and a supermarket and ATM nearby. Delicious breakfast, with a very nice lady making fresh juices and preparing your eggs!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LenaPortimao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director General at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very lovely hotel and staff about our words, we are pleased to know that our hotel met your needs during your stay in San José.

We look forward to serving you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Check your map online..count the streets.
, so you can find this hotel. Not far from an excellent Mas y Menos .Nice staff. Very clean.
breakfast near the pool is excellent but I would advise getting rid of the sugery cereals and offering a non-sugered muesli, as well as a non-sugered yogurt.we met several people who commented on the overly sweet food. The coffee here was especially good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank aszu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your feedback and suggestions on the products served at breakfast, this helps us to provide higher quality products.
We're glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and the service provided by our staff.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night before flying home to be close to the airport. The hotel was an excellent value, very comfortable and clean. Nice bathroom with a good hot shower and the service was great. My complaint is that it was extremely hard to find. We searched for 2 hrs (during rush hr) before we found it. It is on a dark side street with no sign, just the name written on the door. Very stressful driving around the city with no street names. Also it was not close to the airport (about a 40 min drive). Next time, for the purpose of being close to the airport, I would not choose this
hotel.
However, if you're looking for a nice place to stay in Santa Ana and you can find it, you won't be disappointed.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeenTherr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thanks for your time to give us your opinion about your stay, we regret that it has been difficult to find our hotel, we are pleased that our facilities were to your liking. The international airport is 20 minutes away, but the route to get there is a bit complicated or the other option is to take Highway 27 to San Jose and then the Inter-American Highway to the Airport.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.5 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#5 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
1.0 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#2 of 15 in Escazu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Alegre / Posada Nena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Property: Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Address: From Mas Por Menos, 350m. East, 25m. South, 250m, East, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishings. The hotel has 16 rooms in 3 different styles: Standard Room, Junior Suite, and Family Suite, all equipped with air conditioning and private bathroom. In addition to being perfectly located in a quiet and safe area, the Hotel Villa Los Candiles is very close to the main business centers, hospitals and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing