We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, quiet neighbourhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Went there with my girlfriend during our trip to Costa Rica. We stayed 2 nights (upon arrival, prior to departure). Hotel was clean, well maintained, located close to Santa Ana's main road, the airport and the capital. Delicious breakfast served outside near the pool. Staff was helpful in giving us direction, and calling a cab when required.

Since street adresses virtually don't exist in Costa Rica, the hotel was a bit hard to find, but apart from that, the experience was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ThomasMTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your comments, glad to know I enjoy your two nights stay in aand hotel and the service provided by our staff has been your satisfaction, we hope you enjoyed your trip through Costa Rica.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Our stay at the hotel was ok. We left the hotel on a Sunday evening at 7pm, to get a bite to eat, at a restaurant in Santa Ana. Approximately 2 blocks from the hotel we were mugged and they robbed one of the girls with study abroad program. This was very scary, the two study abroad girls did not want to return to the hotel out of fear. Upon return, I tried to let the security gaurd know about the incident so they could be more on alert and keep eyes open for suspicous activity. He did not speak or understand English. The next day we did cancel the rest of our stay and I was still charged $103.00.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

We're sorry you experienced this act of vandalism in the vicinity of our hotel, this type of situation is not common in the area where we are located on the contrary it is one of the safest neighborhoods.

With respect to the amount charged for $103 dollars this amount due to charge cancellation policies established and carry out the cancellation penalty period without charging for that reason the amount of one night's stay charge will be made​​.

Again sorry you've had a bad experience at the side of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I stayed in this lovely hotel with my husband and we cannot complain.
Is a place from which you don't want to departure. The personal is quite nice and the rooms are amazing!

Is close to everything in Santa Ana which allows you to walk around and discover a beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the frist floor so you can enjoy the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your comments, glad to know that you enjoy your stay in the hotel and the service provided by our staff has been to his liking and has also enjoyed Santa Ana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Love Los Candiles! Have stayed here several times and enjoyed each visit. This quiet, well appointed hotel is a little off the beaten track, but that adds to its charm. The included tastey breakfast is a great way to start your day.

Room Tip: If you are going to be around the hotel during the day, request a room on the ground floor by the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest,

We're glad you enjoy starting your day in our hotel taking our typical Costa Rican breakfast and in each of his visits enjoy your stay, we look forward to serving you again and make another memorable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Great place , great price. Its really close to some of the best restaurants in San José. I often stay there with my fiance and we feel like in our second home. I strongly recomended , you should go judge it yourself!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanpjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion about their stays with us, we are pleased that our hotel is like a second home for you and your fiancee and you can enjoy the variety of good restaurants nearby, hope to serve you again soon.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Accomodations are top drawer, quite and extremely professional, attentive and friendly staff. The rooms are very clean, comfortable and well maintained. Breakfast is Costa Rican style and is prepared fresh daily. Security is excellent and there is adequate parking.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 4Allan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking a few minutes to give us your opinion about your stay with us, we are glad that you enjoy the service and facilities and their stay with us, we look forward to serving you again.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Quiet and serene, this boutique Inn is just what you need after a hectic trip around San Jose. Located in Santa Ana just a few miles from the airport, the inn boast lovely landscaping, spacious suites, and a very nice Breakfast in the cabana by the plunge pool. The other great amenity is the town is full of great eating establishments. The staff isvery helpfull as well.

Room Tip: See if you can get one of the back units overlooking the pool. truly private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobowillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndresAlvaradoS, Director de Recepción at Hotel Villa Los Candiles, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your taking the time to give us your comments We appreciate knowing that your satisfaction was our facilities and the Junior Suite also offered breakfast next to the pool and the service of our staff.

Thanks again for your feedback, we hope to serve you again in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.8 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
999 reviews
0.5 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
582 reviews
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
Hotel Alta Las Palomas
#4 of 14 in Escazu
435 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Los Candiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Los Candiles

Address: From Mas Por Menos, 350m. East, 25m. South, 250m, East, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: £45 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa Los Candiles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Los Candiles is known for its beautiful Victorian style. This style of construction was brought by the first coffee exporters that were influenced by the wave of Victorian style of that time. The warmth and elegance of the building is complemented by the best, most comfortable and modern furnishings. The hotel has 16 rooms in 3 different styles: Standard Room, Junior Suite, and Family Suite, all equipped with air conditioning and private bathroom. In addition to being perfectly located in a quiet and safe area, the Hotel Villa Los Candiles is very close to the main business centers, hospitals and shopping centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Los Candiles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Los Candiles Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing