We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here if you need to spend the night in San Jose!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Ana
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zamora Estate Hotel
Ranked #4 of 5 Santa Ana B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Arrived in San Jose on a late flight. Our travel agency recommended this place. It is lovely. everything in the reviews is true. We ended up spending 1 & 1/2 nights. Roman and Ana have a great place. We went into the city the next day to site see and wished we would have just hung out at Zamora Estates. Ana is a fabulous cook. She prepared a delicious breakfast both mornings and dinner as well. We saw many species of birds on the property. Next stop was La Fortuna. So far we haven't come across a better meal. We will stay there again if we return to Costa Rica.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wehadfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

I cannot say enough about our great stay at Zamora! Roman & Ana were such warm and welcoming hosts - offering us wine, allowing us to explore the grounds, spending time to chat with us about the rest of our trip. Roman even offered to plan our next trip to Costa Rica - yes, please! Ana is a FABULOUS cook and so nice! The breakfasts were super tasty & we even got to experience one of her dinners as well. YUM! The bungalows were very cozy, clean and we enjoyed also hanging out at the pool. We were even fortunate enough to be there on massage day & get a couple of massages scheduled. SO RELAXING! And the birds, flowers and wildlife just on their estate alone were beautiful. (I'll post pictures). DEFINITELY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teampickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The estate itself is gorgeous and the environment is so comfortable and intimate with only four rooms! The owners were so welcoming and hospitable--made us feel right at home! The food was amazing as well!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

The last stop on our honeymoon before flying out of San Jose was supposed to be nothing more than a night of lodging. But the Zamora Estate Hotel turned out to be so much more. An experience of warmth, hospitality and familial tranquility awaits you on the private estate of Ramon and Anna Zamora, the latter an inspired chef and the former an indomitable host. They truly opened their home to us. Indeed, we sat by a lake watching schools of heron sleep while sipping wine with Ramon well into the evening hours. Our final night in Costa Rica was as memorable and cherished an experience as we had in this beautiful country. The serene private cabins and the network of winding nature trails feel a world away from the bustling streets of nearby San Jose. Between a night here or one in the city, you would do yourself a tremendous service to visit the Zamoras.

Thanks Ramon and Anna,
September Honeymooners.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We had out Granda's 95 year aniversary lunch at Zamora Estate.
It was such a nice experience because the place it is like a paradise, nice terrace, pond, bird signing and wonderful gourmet lunch were part of this experience. Needless to say having all the family gathered in one unique place celebrating our Dear Granda. Roman, muchas gracias for helping us with this such a memorable day.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We arrived at Zamora Estates after taking a red-eye from Los Angeles. Even though it was only 10:00 a.m., Romano, the owner, accommodated us and took us to our room. The property is lovely and very clean. The rooms are little private houses, sitting on the lake. Inside, it is rustic and homey with VERY comfortable beds. The shower is large and there was plenty of hot water. There are two resident dogs, Scoobie Doo and Luna that were friendly and made us feel at home. The pool and the gardens are well maintained and beautiful. That evening, the owner, Anna made us the MOST AMAZING dinner...fresh fish, steak with a wonderful sauce, scalloped potatoes, organic vegetables and then panna cota for dessert. Everything was fresh, organic and very tastey. The landlords are pleasant, but not overbearing. The next morning, we had a traditional Costa Rican breakfast that was just as good as dinner the night before. And, as a bonus, we got to look out and watch the resident camon crawl up on the land pad and sun himself. Also, large iguanas came up on the grass to have the bananas that the owners through out. There were plenty of birds to watch as well. What a great way to start the day! Truth be told, we were disappointed to only have one night in this lovely little hotel. If you need a place near the airport or San Jose area, I cannot recommend this more!!! Enjoy every moment...pura vida!

Room Tip: Every room is a delight--pleasant, quiet, clean and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascott365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My husband and 2 daughters have just enjoyed a wonderful overnight visit to the Zamora Estate. It was recommended by Costa Rican Vacations for a stopover prior to flying home from San Jose. When you arrive it is like entering a different world after driving through the outskirts of San Jose - a peaceful beautiful oasis. Our cabin was well appointed with air conditioning and fan and a spacious bathroom. There was plenty of room for our luggage including a large wardrobe for hanging clothing. The children (11 and 13) cooled off with a swim in the large pool and we then enjoyed a wonderful dinner with one of the best fish meals I have ever eaten- (snook recommended by Roman) whilst being entertained by the family's very cute daughter. Breakfast was another culinary delight (four freshly prepared fruits, eggs benedict 'to die for',juice and coffee, strawberry pancakes for the children). A delayed transfer in the morning allowed us time for a personal very interesting tour of the grounds by Roman, his daughter (who had by now made friends with my own daughters) and dogs Luna and Scooby. We were the only guests and the whole experience was very personal- it was more like staying in a family home with friends than a hotel. I would recommend a longer visit to really appreciate your stay. It would be a good base for visiting San Jose and the surrounding area. Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,004 reviews
0.0 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
Hotel Posada Canal Grande
#6 of 8 in Santa Ana
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zamora Estate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zamora Estate Hotel

Address: 250 meters north of Bacchus, Santa Ana 347, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Ana
Price Range: £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zamora Estate Hotel and Cafe Lago Restaurant & Bar are a unique concept of a boutique hotel, restaurant, bar, event center and organic vineyard all in harmony with the environment located in the midst of a wildlife sanctuary in the middle of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zamora Estate Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing