We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a wonderful experience!”
Review of Studio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Studio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Beautiful, modern and charming hotel. Great local artwork on every floor, resembled a museum. I loved the pool on the roof with its changing lights and the gym, it was a great place to relax. the room was modern, clean and spacious. The staff was very helpful and friendly and always smiling. I truly enjoyed my stay and will definitely come back when I'll have the chance.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travellingdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioHotelCR, Director General at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you for the beautiful comments, we always smile because we enjoy helping our visitors ,we will definitely be waiting for your next stay here at the Studio Hotel , were happy you enjoyed your stay like we say here in Costa Rica ( pura vida ) best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 618 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I loved this hotel. It was modern and clean. The art work was impressive, from the walk from outside to inside the lobby and beyond. The room was very lovely, clean and eco friendly. Would stay here again. Our stay included breakfast which was a HOT meal not cold pastry and coffee. That was a good surprise. Loved it!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kingtqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioHotelCR, Director General at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Thank You for your comments ,we were fortunate to have you as our quest, the scrub land that has been there for a lot of years and we brought the beautiful Hotel as an improvement that we continue to do , hopefully we will see you back here at the Studio Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We were booked here by Costa Rica Expeditions for a night before we were to fly out of San Jose airport. I was expecting a mediocre hotel, BUT was surprised by the classy foyer, rooms, etc. The rooftop pool is an unexpected delight with the colored glow of lights at night. I must mention that it was too cold to swim though. Our dinner was not exceptional, but the staff was attentive. I would love to come back to this hotel!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor overlooking the roof. I did not think to ask about the view from the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pam5959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioHotelCR, Director General at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

We appriciate your comments , we would enjoy to be your hotel of choice on your next trip to the country,we will try to warm the pool up best regards..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

If your image of Costa Rica is rainforests teeming with snakes, this hotel will be a great entry point to the country for you. It's close enough by cab to both airport and cab/bus to San Jose; well-appointed, security-gated hotel on a small commercial strip bordering a residential area; surrounded by restaurants, gas station, pharmacy, shops, ATM's; breath-taking views of San Jose from my room.

I'd classify it as a 4+-star hotel at a 2-star price, with about four uniformed staff always around, at the ready. Suited admin staff and manager make frequent rounds greeting guests by name. Rooms are beautiful and modern. Walk-in shower large enough not to have a door. Full amenities including your day's water supply. Common areas house a dramatic collection of accomplished fine art. Computer stations for guests in front lobby. Rooftop pool. Buffet-breakfast included in its all-day restaurant and bar.

Must commend the staff and management for complete handling of my airline lost-luggage kerfuffle. This was critical because all had to be done in Spanish which I don't speak. Front desk staff took care of me and all communication with airline over two nights (Jeisson and Jose -- also available to share a few good laughs/put up with my whining) and the two ladies in the morning (forgot names, sorry) did the same until it finally arrived. Management even intervened, offering substitute tour options for the ones I had missed. Upon my return after a couple weeks in the rest of country, everyone offered me a "welcome back", remembering my name and itinerary. Felt like I'd arrived back home.

More about the staff. I love taking public transit when I travel because it's the best way to get a true glimpse of daily life. My first day there, a room attendant/supervisor from the hotel who met me at the bus-stop, made sure I had enough colones for that as well as a return trip in case I couldn't change money in town. Very important note, best place to change money other than just getting it from an ATM is at the banks -- not the airport. (But you do need to show your passport to change $ at banks.) And even thought lots of places take American $, anything super-local, will take only colones. Even for places that do take American (shops, cabs, etc.), you can get ripped off in exchange. Anyway, when I insisted on repaying her she refused because the money was "so small". Also, when I was leaving the country, Jose made sure I knew about the departure tax and required currency. And then...Francisco chased after me to my cab with a crack-of-dawn coffee for the road! I felt adopted by the hotel not only when I was in it.

Only disappointment was the pool. Turned out that because it's an eco-hotel (which is of course, great), the pool is solar heated. Well, so much for my fantasies of that pre-bedtime swim -- it was ice. Also because the hotel caters to a lot of airline and business travel, conventions frequently occupy the banquet hall adjacent the pool, causing the pool to be closed.

Finally, had dinner only once in the restaurant and wasn't impressed. I had a couple appys, one was an OK dip and the other, a beautifully presented prawn-on-plantain-chunk dish, was lukewarm and a bit bland. Breakfast was good, great coffee, (I always had the sweetest middle-aged, male (name ??) server) and it was really relaxing to sit for a while gazing at the routine activity of the tree-shaded hotel driveway. A nice touch was a woman in traditional costume making fresh tortillas to accompany the full hot/cold buffet with local fruit selection.

Overall, you can't do better around San Jose than a stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms come in different sizes for the same price. Be specific it space matters to you. Also you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank shnti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We were only able to stay one night but would highly recommend this hotel. Hotel is extremely clean with exceptional customer service. Delicious hot breakfast was included. Beautiful art filed hotel. Exceptional value!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkpaulso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioHotelCR, Director General at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2015

Thank you ! Thank you for the Exceptional comments ,we value our visitors and hope to see you when you can stay alittle longer thank you again.. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Ok to be fair it's close to the airport and very safe. But the pool was freezing, the restaurant was awful and the rooms, though nicely decorated, lacked basic functions - the coffee maker but no coffee, poor lighting, safe was nonfunctional. The art around the building was lovely!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Shendel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanVargas12, Gerente at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014
Google Translation

Muchas Gracias por su comentarios,

Lamentamos la impresión que le causo el hotel en su visita, tomaremos en cuenta sus comentarios ya que nos ayuda para crecer.

Esperamos tener el honor de recibirlos nuevamente y poder cambiar esa percepción.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed for one night.

Room was amazing. California king size bed, covers and pillows to loose yourselves in. Perfectly clean white linen. Huge windows that let the sun shine in.
Bathroom was large, comfortable and spotless. Only issue with the room is that it had no view at all.
They had small welcome gifts that made all more special.

Hotel is decorated like an art gallery and it shows painting of some famous and some upcoming artists. Take your time to walk around each floor and appreciate.

Roof top pool and deck are comfortable, and eye friendly. It makes you want to stay, relax and sip a few drinks.

Both dinner and breakfast were amazing. Overall great service.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view... at least to the front of the hotel so you don't get stuck starring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RacheliuxC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StudioHotelCR, Director General at Studio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2015

Thank you kindly for the great comments , we aim to please , and hopfully we pleased your stay here at the Studio Hotel ,we will be here waiting for your next stay in the country best reagrds..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
1.6 mi away
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Aloft San Jose Hotel
#2 of 8 in Santa Ana
602 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Luisiana
Hotel Luisiana
#4 of 8 in Santa Ana
1,014 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
Hotel Villa Los Candiles
#8 of 8 in Santa Ana
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
3.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden San Jose Escazu
7.6 mi away
Hotel Santo Tomas
Hotel Santo Tomas
#6 of 78 in San Jose
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Hotel

Address: | 750 mts South Forum 1 Business Center, Santa Ana 10201, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ana
#1 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: £65 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studio Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not all hotels are the same, the Studio 5 Star Boutique Hotel is designed to be part of your trip in Costa Rica. The spacious luxurious rooms, common areas, terrace, restaurant, meeting rooms... everything has been designed for you.On our walls, the art is opened to enter the magical world designed by the best Costa Rican artists.Surrounded by mountains: green, blue, brown, sprayed by rain or dimly lit by the sun of Santa Ana, a city that always seems to be in spring.Equipped with the latest technology, our seven meeting rooms are cozy and ready to recieve from five to a hundred executives.In our luxury rooms, the natural light helps to create a relaxed atmosphere in which ideas and conversation flows.Our highly qualified and friendly staff is always ready to make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Studio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing