We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clever Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi Kai - CLOSED

Sushi Kai
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, South American, Central American
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clever Menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I went there for the first time based on a food blogger's review. It was good and inventive. The tuna was very fresh which we loved. Being from Phoenix, we have eaten a lot not-fresh tuna. We had a few other rolls that were fun and different. If you like spicy, ask for a side of Siracha. Watch out, we ordered 2 Sakis without looking at the menu for the price. There were $15 each. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StacieKvanvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    7
    3
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, British Colombia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Was not impressed. Wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

I found the food just ok. Not the worst but not "good". The outside seating was a bit odd, it seemed almost like they were setting up for a party or something. Service was OK. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank highper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa rica
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tomoaki is the best sushi chef in costa rica”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

I have been going to that place five to six times . I waited for my comment, to see if the food stays the same. It is a dream. I sit at the sushi bar order drinks but no food. I wait for the chef tomoaki. He will serve you whatever comes in his mind. Never ever anythimg bad. Presentation amazing taste amazing. One thing i do not like is that at night it can get very busy and noisy. Beste to come early or for lunch. Just sit at the bar you will recognize him and he will remember you. Very good

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juergen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heredia, Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inventive Sushi and always new and excelent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I go every chance i got. It has lots of great flavors. Order the KAI roll or the Tommy roll you are going to love it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great night life.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

I went here on a Wednesday night with a friend to see a band. The band, "Los Ajenos" was an excellent cover band playing a wide variety of latin rock, pop and their own music. The environment was fun and friendly and the service was great. If you are in Santa Ana some evening looking for something to do I recommend seeing if they have any live music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi Kai also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing