We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Carpaccio to die for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bufalo Grill and Market

Bufalo Grill and Market
Ranked #42 of 106 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Cuisines: Central American
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Alajuela, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Carpaccio to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Good service, great idea. Glad to have access to buffalo mozarella, Carpaccio was excellent. burgers well made, cooked to perfection. Only downside...price! I know Costa Rica is extremely expensive these days, and it´s a novelty meat, but I believe they could revise the pricing structure. also, get a wine list and offer full bottles!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    18
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
235 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Water buffalo is good, but stay away from the sea food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Value for the colon is not one of the triangle that this restaurant tries to achieve.. They have a nice little restaurant and good wait staff... The beefalo is good and of good quality. We had tried it before, but be prepared to pay $25-$30 for a basic meal.... Not value..

$13 for a small plate of bufalo meat tartar.... Really? We tried the squid rings that were obviously old, had a very heavy breading and you received all 12 of them for $13.... over a dollar a ring and these were not giant squid... Hard to imagine a restaurant that is trying to do it right finding a way to justify the prices.. This and two glasses of wine for $40...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank islandjerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hallandale Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“New Decor - But Still Gourmet Service & Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have been back here now three times since they have re-decorated this already beautiful
restaurant with undoubtedly the best service and food in the entire Santa Ana area. Tonight
we chose it to celebrate the American "Mother's Day" holiday. We are now almost "true Costa
Rican's having lived here for five wonderful years in this beautiful Country but still choose to
do the "Mother's Day" thing on the May 11th date where they celebrate it in the U.S. Just
want to mention that while the food is still the very best, and the new decor is exquisite, there
is a wonderful waitress they employ here now, Giselle, who could not be nicer or more
attentive. Her English is more than sufficient and tonight she even remembered the exact
same appetizer that I told her was my favorite, the last time I dined here. Luis and his
family have truly put every effort into making this a very beautiful and special place to dine
and I certainly encourage anyone staying or working in this area, or people staying at the
Studio One Hotel next door, to take the opportunity to dine in this fine gourmet restaurant
because, for sure, they will not be disappointed and will be anxious to come again and again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jinglegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Original and Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We visited Bufalo Grill at the recommendation of a friend. It was really amazing. We had fried buffalo mozzarella which was some of the best I have ever had. My daughter had a buffalo burger which she claims is her favorite burger ever. Buffalo isn't the only thing on the menu. I had pork chops that I enjoyed.

The atmosphere isn't pretentious and still classy. It is also a market where you can purchase ground meat and cheese. The buffalo are local and grass fed.

If you are looking for something unique that isn't a chain and supports a local effort, don't miss this easy to find restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StacieKvanvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alajuela
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“GREAT RESTAURANT AND GREAT TASTE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just one week ago I had a business meeting close to San Ana in San Jose and we tried to find a quiet place for lunch and talk so we choose a small restaurant called Buffalo Grill.
I never supposed that in this place they cook and sell buffalo meat we were a little worried because it was the first time we tried that meat. Let me tell you it was the best election I ´ve ever did because the taste of the meat, the huge size of the dishes and the service worth every colon or dollar we pay. If you have never try it before this is the right place.
We order a sausage entrée delicious for the main dish we decided to try the buffalo ribs in a barbeque sauce simple delicious the meat was soft and juicy and come with two garnishes.
Definitely I will visit again very soon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Greivin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bufalo Grill and Market also viewed

Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
Santa Ana, San Jose Metro
 

Been to Bufalo Grill and Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing