We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great overnight stay on way to coast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We flew into San Jose from Minneapolis en-route to the Osa Peninsula and wanted to spend an overnight before our next leg of the trip. We chose this hotel for its reputation and proximity to both airports we used. Great, friendly service, fun atmosphere, super clean, nice bar and a snack/meal menu with lots of fresh food and seafood. Added bonus is the landscaped terrace and business atmosphere of the hotel. Very safe and clean area.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OddNewts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

OddNewts,

Hi There and thanks for your time and comments. We are glad that our sassy savvy space in san jose reached your expectations and that you enjoyed the ambience and staff. We hope to see you soon with us and expect to find even better food as we shall be opening our restaurant facilities as of August 2013.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

344 - 350 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

I stayed here the night before my departure after 2 weeks in CR. The staff was friendly. The food and the bar were good. The room was comfortable. Everything I expect from Aloft. Only about 15 minutes from the SJO airport it was an inexpensive cab ride.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Clark G,

Thanks for your comments and we are glad the experience expected was achieved. We hope to surprise you in your next visit with our restaurant facilities as of August 2013

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Rooms:
Clean spacious rooms, comfortable bed and shower.

Food:
Satisfactory breakfast: eggs, gallo pinto, sandwiches, cereal and fruits. Tea, coffee and juice.

Location:
Close to Santa Ana and the airport far away from the city center of San Jose. Taxi ordered at front desk to airport is $25,-, which is too expensive.

Price:
Correct value for your money

Other:
The disco like setting in the evening feels a little awkward. Fortunately the disco sounds do not cause noise in the rooms. The “Trendy” thing is a little bit overdone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariaRemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear MariaRemy,

Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad that aloft as one of starwoods selected service sassy savvy brands was able to attend your needs. our wxyz lounge invites you to live music from thursday to saturday night and as of July 2013 we will have a full restaurant as part of our services.

Regards,
Paul Downey
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Definitely a place for the hip, young business crowd, but I liked the pleasant public spaces and the oh so comfortable beds. Great showers. Minimalist room decor which I liked, glaring lights which I did not. Breakfast is at best adequate. $25 fixed price for taxi to airport is a rip off. The meter rate is $12-15.
Poorly staffed at the front desk. Always a long wait to get help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jAlfano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear jAlfano,

Thanks for taking your time to drop us your comments. We are glad our sassy savvy space now in cotsta rica met your expectations. The fixed rates for a taxi is set by the private taxi comapnies in costa rica, however there are other options from local companies which we cannot interfere and reserve, usually they are available at the airport exit. We are sorry for your long waits at the desk and we shall be working on hour shifts in order to provide less waiting time.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A new experience for me - I'm not an Aloft regular. Most important thing to note is this is a business hotel and I wouldn't use it as a vacationing tourist, mainly because of its location and lack of facilities (although it does have a small gym). It was an unusual set up; there is no dining room and breakfast is served in the lobby, next to reception on plastic plates and plastic cutlery. Breakfast was just about adequate but nothing more. I agree with other reviews - staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were minimalist but everything worked, including a good hair dryer! Water and coffee replenished every day, although surprisingly the quality of coffee wasn't great. Wifi was free and worked well, there are printing facilities in the lobby and although not luxury, it was clean and did the job as a business hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CWils60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Hi CWils60,

Thanks for your comments. As a selected service Starwood brand, we are glad to have reached our goals as an aloft hotel. We have been working on adapting the brand locally and as of the third quarter we will have a full restaurant on property serving all meals and as of April our breakfast will no longer be served with plastic plates and cuttlery. Our friendly staff awaits you in your next visit to San Jose.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here after an 18 hour+ travel in from Canada and arriving late in the evening. Staying close to the airport was important as I knew I'd be tired. Far enough away though that hotel had no noise from the airport. Hotel is pretty new and rooms are clean and comfortable. Service was very friendly and had free wifi in rooms if you're a member of the star woods club. It's not exactly close to downtown, but as long as that's not important for the first night in my case, then is very suitable.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Dear John K,

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hae met your expectations, our wifi is free all around the hotel as part of the aloft brand standards. Hope to see ou soon again.


Regards,
Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

In Feb2013 I stayed for 1 night at the Aloft hotel in San Jose. I'm a SPG platinum member that usually have over 30 stays per year. The hotel is new and very trendy typical aloft hotel. It's located close to airport ($27 taxi ride) and in the middle of a business complex. Is not close to The center of SanJose. The staff is very helpful and open to help but not aware of the SPG loyalty system. I was not offered free breakfast as part of my platinum perks even do I asked a couple of times. No problem with it because there's a McDonald right in front of the hotel and you can eat for a few $$.
On my way back to San Jose I didn't stayed at the Aloft since I found a better rate closer to the airport at Hampton Inn (free breakfast and shuttle to airport).

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemsinvestments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Dear Gemsinvestments,
I am glad you enjoyed the Aloft and that our staff was helpfull. I am sorry about the non recognition as our platinum preffered guest. We do offer full american breakfast and have reinforced this issue with our front desk talents to offer as an option in case the guest does not chose the SPG points as a reward for their stay with us. Hope to welcome you again as one of our most loyal guests in the near future.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
626 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing