We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aloft San Jose Hotel
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Aloft in Santa Ana Lindora for 16 nights. The street to get there is horrendous during the week! The ceiling in our room near the bathroom leaked in two different rooms so we had to change rooms 3 times! They compensated us by sending dessert to our room, not very compensating for being woken up at 5am Saturday because of the leaking ceiling. The breakfast was below standard and almost the same things served everyday. Some of the items such as the vegetables were from the night before and recooked. The room and housekeeping overall were good. The bar i believed to be somewhat overpriced for Costa Rica, $5-$6 for a beer. There is no pool there but a pretty good gym.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Stevew99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Stevew99,
Please accept my sincere and unreserved apology for all the inconveniences you had in the hotel during your stay.
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how you feel. We appreciate customers who let us know when things are not right.
We hope to have a new opportunity to have you with us again.

Best Regard

Victor Mojica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to Costa Rica to celebrate our 1 year anniversary. This is our first time to Costa Rica and it was his first time and sure to be the last time staying at Aloft or any SPG location. We arrived to a late check in and our guest service specialist was very welcoming and gave us a quick rundown of hotel amenities. The next day, Wednesday we woke up to the same disappointing breakfast we've had all week (I must say our breakfast attendant was the BEST, very friendly). We were frightened out of our sleep at 11pm (Friday night) from someone randomly opening our door. When we asked the security manager the next morning what happened and our concerns he had said that while security was securing the floor he noticed our door was open and closed it, but I am not mistaken I heard the key in the door open it and someone come in. So Saturday after breakfast we came up to find the cleaning lady in our room she finished cleaning and we were preparing for today's adventures, getting our clothes ready and my boyfriend noticed $120 and a gold Vince Camuto watch ($300) that I had given him for his birthday missing. We immediately reported them missing to the front desk and the security manager. We submitted a written statement and then he told the front desk to tell us he was working on it. I have never in my life stayed in what's supposed to be a nice hotel and fear for my personal safety and if my possessions will be where I left them if I leave my room. Speaking of the room, the window blind on the right side of the room appears to be broken and difficult to adjust, the bed sounds like it's going to snap when you touch it, the wallpaper/paint is peeling. I feel like the milestone I came to celebrate is forever ruined by the most terrifying and unpleasant experience and we still have to camp out in our room to guard our stuff for 3 more days because we don't know what's going on when we leave. Thanks aloft Costa Rica for ruining our trip!

- Malorie Mitchell

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malorie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor M, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Malorie M

Please accept our apology for that uncomfotable situation that took place during your last stay in the hotel.
Clearly, we´ve upset you and i want you to know that getting to the bottom of this is very important for us.
We are also glad that we corrected your concern immediately and that you and your husband enjoyed the rest of your stay with us.
Thanks for caring so much. We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind Regards,

Victor Mojica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was a great place to stay before catching an early flight out of San Jose airport. People are extremely nice and accommodating and rooms were very comfortable. Even a pretty fun spot for kids despite the fact that there isn't a pool. Is definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisylew523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are glad the aloft experience met your expetactions. Hope to see you soon with us when visiting Beautiful Costa Rica

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed here for five nights before heading to the beach. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The rooms are nice, and the staff is excellent, especially at the front desk. The restaurant is okay, but there are also many good food options within walking distance, as well as a large market.

The hotel is located on a 2-lane road adjacent to a business park, and so traffic can be heavy at times. Other than that, the area is clean and safe. There is a DJ that plays in the lobby bar on the weekends. The Saturday night that I was there was lively with a good crowd. If the noise is going to bother you, ask for a room on a high floor facing the street. I was on the third floor and it didn't seem that bad.

This hotel is a good option for the area. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor facing the street if you don't want to hear the music from the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyfdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your great review and for letting us know of your experience with us. We are glad to have been able to provide you with an enjoyable and memorable stay whilst in San Jose. Hope to see you soon in one of our properties worldwide.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Our missions team got a good deal on this hotel for the night prior to flying out of San Jose Airport. It is a new and modern hotel. Be sure to check out the fun floors in the elevators:) The service was polite and attentive. The beds were plush and comfie with multiple pillows. The rooms are spacious with plenty of room to put your luggage. There is a spacious desk area with ports and outlets for technology. Free WiFi. It had all the modern conveniences with hairdryer, mini frig (free bottled water), flat screen TV, Britt coffee and mini maker in room as well as a coffee bar in the lobby (also an array of teas). A continental breakfast is also included (eggs, bagels, muffins, rice & beans, hash browns, cereal, fruit). There is a restaurant on site as well. It is priced as most hotel restaurants. There are restaurants in walking distance. Be aware of the traffic in the area on a friday evening/rush hour. Be aware that there is a bar in the lobby area with TV's and on a friday nite it attracted a modest crowd. But overall it was quiet and tasteful the evening we stayed. There are nights they offer live bands. My teen son said it was missing a pool area. It was in close proximity to the Airport. Allow approx 20 minutes (with a local driver who knows the roads).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountaineerFaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

MountaineerFaith,

Thank you for such positive feedback regarding our property and we are happy that our facilities provided such a great experience for you and your family when visiting Costa Rica. We have extended our Food and Beverage experience and added more vareity to our menu, we hope to be your home away from home when visiting San Jose again.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I don't know much about Aloft as a hotel, but as a "night hangout place" is very nice. You don't need to stay at the hotel to enjoy the night life, with a big area including pool tables, TVs and seriously the best cocktails ever! I recommend to try out the watermelontini...wow is just amazing. The only downfall is the price, each cocktail is at least c/5,000 (a little over $10) So be prepared to spend some money here. The ambiance, music, service is just perfect for a nice night out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sarivm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

sarivm,

Thank you for your review and we are glad your enjoyed our Wxyz ambiance. Thats what aloft is all about, bringing a sassy savvy experience to all our guests be it in our spacious, clean and technological rooms or in our trendy and energetic wxyz lounge. Our cocktails our most around US$ 8.00 leveraging with our level of bar in the region, and we always have happy hours and special oofers every day of the week. I am glad you enjoyed our signature aloft cocktails. Hope to have you back in the hotel and in our Wxyz lounge maybe in one of our Live at Aloft presentations.

Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

last night in Costa Rica before heading home. on site free parking. great room with very comfortable beds. really good breakfast buffet with gallo pinto, eggs, fruit... definitely stay here again if I am ever in San Jose, Coast Rica. very short and easy drive to the airport.

Room Tip: gas station right up the street from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul D, General Manager at Aloft San Jose Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Peter A,

Great review and thank your for taking the time. Please come back and make the Aloft San Jose your home away from home.


Regards,

Paul Downey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Jose Forum
1.6 mi away
Studio Hotel
Studio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Santa Ana
626 reviews
2.7 mi away
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel & Convention Center
Wyndham San Jose Herradura Hotel...
#5 of 10 in San Antonio De Belen
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton San Jose Airport
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Jose Airport Alajuela
0.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Real San Jose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aloft San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloft San Jose Hotel

Address: Forum 2 Business Park | Lindora, Santa Ana 10901, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of San Jose > San Jose Metro > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: £64 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aloft San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New and innovative, inspired by a Loft, strategically located in the fastest developing business area west of San Jose, a few minutes from the Juan Santamaría International Airport, next to the Forum Business Park 2 and very close to the attractive shopping and entertainment area of Santa Ana and Escazú. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Aloft San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft San Jose Hotel Costa Rica/Province Of San Jose - Santa Ana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing